
Updated September 14, 2020 

1 

 

Frequently Asked Questions for Child Care Relief Fund 
 
 
This FAQ applies to Round 5 (August) Child Care Relief Fund grants.  
 
The Child Care Relief Fund is a grant program (utilizing federal CARES Act funding) that helps 
child care providers in Michigan cover costs during the COVID-19 state of emergency. The goal 
of the program is to help child care providers stay in business and make child care more 
affordable for Michigan families. 
 
There are two parts to the grant:  
• Restart grants were funded with an initial investment of $100 million and were available in 

Rounds 1 (April), 2 (May), and 3 (June). The remaining funds are being used to provide 
incentives for open centers ($1,000) and open home-based care ($500) in rounds 4 (July) 
and 5 (August).  

• Tuition credit reimbursements were funded with an additional $125 million. These funds 
continue to be available to reduce the cost of care for families in June, July, and August of 
2020.  

 
The Michigan Department of Education (MDE) is leading administration of this grant and is 
working in close collaboration with partners across state government to make it accessible to 
child care providers statewide. These Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) have been developed 
to help answer your questions about available funds. 
 
1. WHAT TYPE OF FUNDING IS BEING OFFERED? 

The Child Care Relief Fund awards non-competitive grants to child care providers. All child 
care providers who apply and meet eligibility requirements will be approved for grant 
funds. Grants do not have to be repaid. 

 
2. WHO IS ELIGIBLE FOR GRANT FUNDS? 

Child care providers that are open and serving families, including: 
• Licensed child care  centers. 
• Family homes and group homes. 
• Tribal child care. 
• Provisionally licensed (disaster relief child care centers) created under 

EO 2020-117. 
• Head Start and GSRP programs that also provide tuition-based child care 

(wrap-around child care for the program day is not considered tuition-based 
child care). 

 
Note:  

• License exempt child care providers are no longer eligible. 
• Families are not eligible to receive grant funds directly. 

 
3. MY CHILD CARE SITE OPENED AS A RESULT OF EXECUTIVE ORDER 2020-117 

(ORIGINALLY E.O. 2020-16). DOES MY SITE QUALIFY FOR FUNDING? 
Yes. All sites that opened to serve children and families as a result of the executive 
order qualify, including provisionally licensed disaster relief child care centers that 
have temporary provisional licenses and those that are operating in school buildings. 

https://www.michigan.gov/whitmer/0,9309,7-387-90499_90705-531626--,00.html
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4. I AM A HEAD START AND/OR GSRP PROVIDER. AM I ELIGIBLE? 

Maybe. Both Head Start and GSRP programs received GSRP and Head Start funding 
during the COVID-19 crisis to address program costs and staff costs to finish the FY20 
program year. If you only provide a Head Start and/or GSRP program, you are not 
eligible for this grant. If you are not sure whether you qualify, please contact the Child 
Development and Care Office at the Michigan Department of Education at 866-990-3227, 
and we can discuss your situation. 
 

5. WHAT IS THE APPLICATION PROCESS? 
• Eligible child care programs must complete and submit an online application. Visit 

www.Michigan.gov/childcare to complete the application. 
• Eligible licensed providers, tribal programs, and disaster relief child care centers 

must register in SIGMA to receive payment. Visit www.Michigan.gov/SIGMAVSS 
for information about registering to receive payment. 

• Please use care in completing all required elements on the application to avoid 
processing delays. 

• Providers successfully completing an application will receive a confirmation email of 
receipt. 

 
6. CAN AN AGENCY SUBMIT ONE APPLICATION FOR ALL SITES IF THEY HAVE MORE 

THAN ONE SITE? 
No. Each site (physical location with a child care license number or provisional 
designation) is considered a different program. Each license number requires an 
application. 

 
7. HOW MUCH FUNDING AM I ELIGIBLE TO RECEIVE? 

Total monthly grant awards will be based on providers being open and 
had children in care/serving families and agreement to provide the child 
care tuition credit to families.   

 
Grant award amounts follow the criteria below. You can use the Grant Calculator to 
estimate your award. The Grant Calculator is available at www.michigan.gov/childcare. 

 
Criteria How Grant Amount is Calculated How the 

Funds Can Be 
Used 

Provider type 
 
CFDA 93.575 

Open child care center base amount: 
$1,000 per application  
Open family/group home base 
amount: $500 per application 

Flexible funds 
for providers. 

Rate 
reduction 
credit  
 
CFDA 
21.019 
 

Providers report the total amount of 
tuition billed in August. Once 
providers receive grant funds, they 
give a credit to families on their 
next tuition bill for 30% of the 
tuition they paid in August.  

Funds must 
be used for 
tuition credit 
for families. 

 
  

http://www.michigan.gov/childcare
http://www.michigan.gov/SIGMAVSS


Updated September 14, 2020 

3 

8. WHAT IF I DON’T HAVE A SIGMA VENDOR CODE AND I NEED ONE TO APPLY? 
If you need a SIGMA vendor code, you can register at www.Michigan.gov/SIGMAVSS. You can 
also find instructions at www.michigan.gov/childcare. If you need assistance, please call 888-
734-9749 or email the SIGMA Help Desk at SIGMA-Vendor@Michigan.gov.  

 
9. WHAT IF I FORGET MY SIGMA VENDOR CODE OR I NEED A SIGMA MAIL CODE TO 

RECEIVE A GRANT PAYMENT? 
If you have forgotten your SIGMA vendor code or SIGMA Address ID, you can look it up by 
following the instructions at: How to Find Your SIGMA Vendor Number. If you need 
assistance, please contact the SIGMA Help Desk for assistance. You can reach the Help 
Desk via e-mail at SIGMA-Vendor@Michigan.gov or 888-734-9749. 
Note: License Exempt providers do not need to apply for a SIGMA vendor code. 
 

10. HOW WILL I RECEIVE MY GRANT FUNDS? 
After providers apply, they will receive a confirmation email indicating their application 
has been received. The Michigan Department of Education will then verify eligibility and 
may contact the provider for clarification of application items. Providers can check the 
status of their SIGMA payment via SIGMA or check www.michigan.gov/childcare for a 
weekly posting of payments made. Providers will receive two payments from the state: 
one based on their provider type and one for the rate reduction credit.   

 
MDE will be taking reasonable steps to process applications within 15 days of receiving a 
complete application.  

 
11. FOR WHAT CAN I USE THE FUNDS? ARE THERE ANY RESTRICTIONS? 
 
  

Criteria How Grant Amount is Calculated How the 
Funds Can Be 

Used 
Provider type Open child care center base amount: 

$1,000 per application  
Open family/group home base 
amount: $500 per application 

Flexible funds 
for providers. 

Rate 
reduction 
credit  
 

Providers report the total amount of 
tuition billed in August. Once 
providers receive grant funds, they 
give a credit to families on their 
next tuition bill for 30% of the 
tuition they paid in August.  

Funds must 
be used for 
tuition credit 
for families. 

 
 Note:  Grants no longer include funding for staffing, GSQ ratings, or number of 

children.   
 

Nearly all funds currently available through the Child Care Relief Fund must be 
used to provide tuition credits to families. Once providers receive grant money 
from the state, you must provide a credit to families on the next tuition bill for 
30% of the tuition families paid in August. 
 
Providers should explain to families that these funds are intended to provide 

http://www.michigan.gov/SIGMAVSS
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/SOM_VSS_User_Guide_for_New_Vendors_693718_7.pdf
mailto:SIGMA-Vendor@Michigan.gov
https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.michigan.gov%2Fdocuments%2Fbudget%2FHow_to_Find_Your_SIGMA_Vendor_Number_688958_7.pdf&data=02%7C01%7CBrewer-WalravenL%40michigan.gov%7Cf021ab0b6f1a46ec6de708d7edfcaa11%7Cd5fb7087377742ad966a892ef47225d1%7C0%7C0%7C637239541741511635&sdata=cxqWRLdWMipBdBtUxRHq9HcS8PcCC3ZLDLQUVE1wVLU%3D&reserved=0
mailto:SIGMA-Vendor@Michigan.gov
http://www.michigan.gov/childcare
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economic support to families due to COVID-19-related business closures. 
 
Additional funds are also available based on provider type. Providers can use 
these funds to support a range of expenses related to ongoing operations or re-
opening a facility. These expenses include but are not limited to payroll, 
mortgages and rent, utilities, insurance, and supplies and equipment (e.g., 
cleaning/sanitation supplies, PPE, thermometers, items to create social distancing 
in play spaces, and new toys and materials that allow for rotation of items in play 
spaces). Funds are not intended to purchase playground equipment or to make 
renovations in your program/home. 
 

12. HOW MUCH FUNDING AM I ELIGIBLE TO RECEIVE TO HELP REDUCE TUITION 
COSTS FOR FAMILIES? 

  The governor and state legislature have invested an additional $125 million to reduce the 
cost of child care for families. Here’s how it works:  

• Families pay tuition. 
• Providers apply for the Child Care Relief Fund. They report the total amount of 

tuition billed in August (August 1- August 31). 
• Providers receive grant funding for 30% of the total August tuition they collected 

from families.  
• Once providers receive the grant funding, they provide a credit to families on the 

next tuition bill for 30% of the tuition that families paid in August (for Round 5 
grants). 

 
Providers should document the stipend amount returned to each family by providing a 
receipt of the credit for audit purposes.  If the provider does not already have a tracking 
mechanism to record the amount returned, see 
 

www.michigan.gov/childcare for a tool. 

13. WHAT AM I REQUIRED TO DO TO RECEIVE RATE REDUCTION FUNDING?  
To receive this funding, providers must assure:  

• When I receive grant money, I will use the funding to credit families for 30% of the 
tuition charged in the month of August (for Round 5 grants). If the Department of 
Education determines that a provider did not apply the required tuition credit, the 
MDE shall recoup the funds. 

• I assure that the weekly rate charged to families is not higher than the rate charged 
prior to the state of emergency in March 2020.  

 
14. WHAT IF MY TUITION RATES ARE HIGHER NOW THAN THEY WERE IN MARCH 

2020? 
To qualify for rate reduction funding, providers must assure that the weekly tuition 
charged to families is not higher than the rate charged prior to the state of emergency in 
March 2020. Providers should maintain documentation of their current rates and rates in 
March 2020. To ensure compliance with federal requirements, the grant application asks 
you to confirm that your rates have not increased and require you to report any increases.  

 
If you have already raised your tuition rates since March 2020, you can choose to adjust 
the tuition back to the rate in place for March 2020 and refund the additional tuition 
charged in order to qualify for funding.  Providers must document and maintain the date 
they adjusted tuition. The weekly tuition rate reported in this application should reflect the 
reduced rate. For example, if a provider charged $180 per week in March 2020 and 
increased tuition to $200 in August, the provider should refund $20 and report $180 as 

http://www.michigan.gov/childcare
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the tuition amount in the application. If you have questions about this change, please 
contact the CDC Help Desk at 866-990-3227. 
 
 

15. WHEN DO I HAVE TO PROVIDE THE CHILD CARE RATE REDUCTION TO THE 
FAMILY? 
Once providers receive grant funds from the state, they must provide a credit to families 
on their next tuition bill for 30% of the tuition that families paid in August.  
 
For example:  

 
 

 

Visit www.michigan.gov/childcare for suggestions about how to share information about 
the rate reduction to your families.  

16. I OFFER FAMILIES A TUITION DISCOUNT IF THEY HAVE MORE THAN ONE CHILD 
IN MY CARE.  HOW DO I REPORT THIS TUITION? 
You should report the actual amount of tuition charged for each child.  For example, if 
tuition is $200/week for the first child and the family has a second child for which you 
discount the tuition to $175/week, you would report $200 and $175 for each week in 
August for that family. 
 

17. I SERVE CHILDREN RECEIVING THE CHILD CARE SUBSIDY. HOW SHOULD I 
REPORT THE TOTAL TUITION CHARGED? 
You should report the actual amount of tuition charged to families for each child, excluding 
any portion paid by another federal funding program (such as CDC subsidy).  
 
In Round 3 (June), providers may have included tuition charge to subsidy in their grant 
application. In this round, you will be asked to confirm whether you reported tuition paid 
by the child care subsidy. If you did, these funds will be withheld from this round’s grant 
payment due to new federal requirements.  

 
18. IF I CHARGE FAMILIES A FEE TO “HOLD” A SPOT, CAN I CLAIM THIS AS 

TUITION? 
No. To receive the rate reduction funding, children must be in care. 

 
19. A FAMILY WAS IN MY CARE BUT HAS LEFT. WHAT SHOULD I DO? 

We know enrollment changes. If a family disenrolls before you provide its stipend, you 
must attempt to issue the credit. If a family owes you a balance, you may apply the credit 

http://www.michigan.gov/childcare
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to that balance. If not, you should reimburse the family directly. If you attempt to 
reimburse a family two or more times, and are not able to do so, document your attempts. 
The department may request this documentation for up to five years after final payment is 
made. You are not required to return funding to the state. 
 

20. WHAT IF THE FAMILY WANTS TO DONATE THE RATE REDUCTION FUNDING BACK 
TO THE PROGRAM/PROVIDER? 
The rate reduction funding must be credited to the family as required and supported by 
documentation to ensure program requirements are met. If the family is interested in 
making a donation to the program/provider, it is able to do so as a separate transaction. 
 

21. IF I RECEIVE GRANT FUNDING, AM I STILL ELIGIBLE FOR UNEMPLOYMENT  
INSURANCE? 
For the restart grants, weekly unemployment insurance eligibility may be affected if the 
grant funds were used to pay wages for you or your staff. Any of the grant dollars that 
are going toward wages (and not tuition credits or processing fees, for example) will 
need to be reported as income when you or a staff member certify for unemployment 
insurance benefits. 

 
• If the wages you pay an individual (including yourself or a staff member) from 

grant funds are more than 1.5 times their weekly benefit amount, they will not be 
eligible for unemployment insurance benefits that week. This includes state and 
federal benefits. Individuals should still complete their unemployment certification 
but should select NOT to claim benefits for this week. By doing so, their benefit 
weeks will not be reduced. 

 
• If the wages you pay an individual (including yourself or a staff member) with grant 

funds are less than 1.5 times their weekly benefit amount, their state benefits may 
be reduced for that week, but they will still be fully eligible for any available federal 
benefits. 

 
For the tuition rate reduction funds, since these funds are passed entirely on to the 
families, the funds would have no effect on unemployment eligibility. 

 
22. ARE CHILD CARE PROVIDERS ELIGIBLE TO RECEIVE CHILD CARE RELIEF FUND 

GRANTS IN ADDITION TO OTHER FEDERAL OR STATE PROGRAM FUNDS (E.G., THE 
PAYMENT PROTECTION PROGRAM FROM THE SMALL BUSINESS 
ADMINISTRATION)? 
We know that there are other grant and loan opportunities available to some child care 
providers. You may apply for the Child Care Relief Fund grant, in addition to other 
opportunities.  
 
However, child care providers who receive Child Care Relief Fund grants may not use grant 
funds for costs that are reimbursed or compensated by other federal or state programs, 
including the Small Business Administration’s Paycheck Protection Program (PPP), the Public 
Health and Social Services Emergency fund, or unemployment compensation. For example, 
if you received PPP and you used it to cover staffing costs, you may not also use the Child 
Care Relief Fund grant to cover the same staffing costs. 
 
On your application, you will need to certify that you understand this requirement and will 
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not use the funds for the same expenses. You must keep records indicating the use of each 
of these funds for five years for audit purposes. 
 

23. DO CHILD CARE RELIEF FUND GRANTS NEED TO BE REPORTED AS INCOME? 
Child Care Relief Fund grants will be counted as income and 1099s will be issued for 
payments over $600.  We do not believe the rate reduction grant will increase providers’ 
overall tax liability because the grant is replacing income that the provider would have 
received from parents if the grant were not available.  

 
24. HOW SHOULD I COUNT THE NUMBER OF CHILDREN IN CARE? 

If you were open and had children in care in August, you will be asked to report the 
number of children ages 0-2 and children ages 3 and older who attended your program at 
any point between August 1 and August 31.   
 
Children should only be included if they are counted as part of your child-to-staff ratio 
according to child care licensing AND you received tuition to care for them. Please do not 
count your own children unless you pay tuition for their care.  
 

25. WHAT IF I MAKE A MISTAKE WHEN SUBMITTING MY APPLICATION OR I NEEDTO 
MAKE AN ADJUSTMENT TO MY APPLICATION? 
We encourage all providers to read the FAQ fully before submitting the grant. Please also 
review your application to confirm all information is correct before clicking the submit 
button. Multiple application submissions will delay your payment processing. Please only 
submit one application. If you believe you have made an error, call the CDC Office 866-990-
3227 to discuss your application and determine next steps.  
 

26. AM I REQUIRED TO SUBMIT SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION OR RECORDS FOR 
THE GRANT? 
No. You are not required to submit supporting documentation with the online application.  
 
However, you are required to maintain records that support your grant application and use 
of funds for five years in the event that the records are requested for an audit or other 
purposes. 
 
For the Child Care Rate Reduction Stipend, you are encouraged to use the tool created and 
posted at http://www.michigan.gov/childcare for documentation of costs and 
reimbursement amounts provided to families in your care. 
 

27. WHAT IS THE DEADLINE FOR SUBMITTING AN APPLICATION? 
• The Round 5 (August) grant application will be available on September 14 

through October 9.   
• Application changes will not be accepted after the application window closes.  

 
28. WHAT FUNDS WERE USED TO CREATE THE TUITION CREDITS AVAILABLE IN THE 

CHILD CARE RELIEF FUND?   
As part of the nation’s COVID-19 response, Michigan was awarded funding from the U.S. 
Department of Treasury. The state is required to notify anyone that receives child care 
grants (1) the source of the funds and (2) the possibility that recipients may be monitored 
to ensure funds were used properly.  
 

 Funds were awarded to the State of Michigan as Federal Financial Assistance from the U.S. 

http://www.michigan.gov/childcare
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Department of Treasury. The funds were awarded under the Social Security Act, as 
amended by section 5001 of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act 
(“CARES Act”) https://home.treasury.gov/policy-issues/cares/state-and-local-
governments as the Coronavirus Relief Fund, which was signed on March 27, 2020. 
Michigan was awarded $3.08 billion dollars under the Coronavirus Relief Fund. 

 
Child Care Relief Fund Stipends (30% tuition credit to parents in June, July and 
August) 
 CFDA #: 21.019 
 FAIN #: SLT0040 
 
Coronavirus Relief Funds are considered federal financial assistance and have been 
assigned a Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) or Assistance Listing Number of 
21.019. Fund payments are considered to be federal financial assistance subject to the 
Single Audit Act (31 U.S.C. Sections 7501 – 7507) and the related provisions of the 
Uniform Guidance, 2 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Section 200.303 regarding 
internal controls, Section 200.330 – 200.332 regarding subrecipient monitoring and 
management, and subpart F regarding audit requirements. Under the Single Audit Act, 
subrecipients will need to report expenditures under this program using the CFDA number 
21.019. A non-federal entity that expends $750,000 or more during the non-federal 
entity’s fiscal year in federal awards must have a single or program-specific audit 
conducted for that year in accordance with the provisions of this part. 
 
Any funds received under the authorizing legislation for this program expended by the 
eligible applicant in a manner that does not adhere to the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and 
Economic Security Act, Public Law 116-136 or Uniform Guidance 2 CFR 200, as applicable, 
shall be returned to the state. 
 
Uniform Guidance for CRF Use of Funds: 
The CARES Act requires that the payments from the Coronavirus Relief Fund only be used 
to cover expenditures that: 
1. are necessary expenditures incurred due to the public health emergency with respect to 

coronavirus disease (COVID-19); 
2. were not accounted for in the budget most recently approved as of March 27, 2020 (the 

date of enactment of the CARES Act) for the state or government;  
3. were incurred during the period that begins on March 1, 2020 and ends on December 

30, 2020. 
 

 

This grant award is not for research and development (R&D). Indirect costs are not 
allowed under this program. 

29. FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT: 
The Michigan Department of Education will be processing applications as quickly as 
possible. If you have questions about your application, please contact the Child 
Development and Care Office at the Michigan Department of Education at 866-990- 
3227 or your Regional Resource Center 877-614-7328. 

 

https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fhome.treasury.gov%2Fpolicy-issues%2Fcares%2Fstate-and-local-governments&data=02%7C01%7CBrewer-WalravenL%40michigan.gov%7C54fe52e258ad4cee501308d83a10076f%7Cd5fb7087377742ad966a892ef47225d1%7C0%7C0%7C637323187800117937&sdata=X49liSyYHUJOmnM9j8zQUJ6pOGHEHDT%2Fh5FsoItzCR4%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fhome.treasury.gov%2Fpolicy-issues%2Fcares%2Fstate-and-local-governments&data=02%7C01%7CBrewer-WalravenL%40michigan.gov%7C54fe52e258ad4cee501308d83a10076f%7Cd5fb7087377742ad966a892ef47225d1%7C0%7C0%7C637323187800117937&sdata=X49liSyYHUJOmnM9j8zQUJ6pOGHEHDT%2Fh5FsoItzCR4%3D&reserved=0
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