

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

RICK SNYDER GOVERNOR MICHAEL P. FLANAGAN STATE SUPERINTENDENT

February 19, 2015

MEMORANDUM

TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents and

Public School Academy Directors

FROM: Kyle L. Guerrant, Deputy Superintendent

SUBJECT: Michigan Public Act 478 of 2014 – Cyberbullying (MCL 380.1310b)

Michigan's Public Act 478 amends the Revised School Code to require a school district, intermediate school district (ISD), or public school academy (PSA), to modify its antibullying policy to include cyberbullying as a form of bullying. This law is now known as "The Matt Epling Safe School Law."

Updated policies must comply with the Act's amendments and be adopted by the school district, ISD, or PSA within <u>six months</u> after the Act's effective date of March 31, 2015. Not later than 30 days after adopting the updated policy, the school district, ISD, or PSA shall submit a copy of its policy to the Michigan Department of Education (MDE) through the Michigan Electronic Grants System Plus (MEGS+). If a school district, ISD, or PSA's current policy includes all of the required components of Public Act 478 and no modifications are required, the school district, ISD, or PSA shall submit a copy of its policy to MDE not later than **May 31, 2015**.

This law also requires the additions of:

- an assurance of confidentiality for an individual who reports an act of bullying and procedures to safeguard that confidentiality.
- a school district, ISD, or PSA to report incidents of bullying to MDE on an annual basis through the School Infrastructure Database (SID) end-of-year submission, beginning in the 2015-16 school year.

Public Act 478, which includes the full list of the modified policy's required components, can be found at: http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-380-1310b.

Questions may be directed to Aimee Alaniz in the Coordinated School Health and Safety Programs unit at (517) 373-8862 or AlanizA1@michigan.gov.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

JOHN C. AUSTIN – PRESIDENT • CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – VICE PRESIDENT MICHELLE FECTEAU – SECRETARY • PAMELA PUGH SMITH – TREASURER LUPE RAMOS-MONTIGNY – NASBE DELEGATE • KATHLEEN N. STRAUS EILEEN LAPPIN WEISER • RICHARD ZEILE