

## District Provided Professional Development and Mentoring/Induction Audit Checklist

To ensure districts have the tools to properly demonstrate compliance with legal requirements for professional development, the Michigan Department of Education (MDE) has developed this checklist.

Professional development and mentoring for teachers are important components of Michigan's education system. These practices, when implemented well, improve instruction and retention. State law (MCL 380.1527) requires districts to provide at least 5 days (30 hours) of professional development to all teachers each year. MCL 380.1526 requires teachers within their first 3 years of teaching to receive an additional 15 days (90 hours) of professional development, over 3 years, and the assignation of a mentor.

Districts must maintain documentation to demonstrate compliance with legislation.

Legislative Requirement	Minimum Annual Documentation
The board of each school district, intermediate school district, or public school academy shall provide at least 5 days of professional development to all teachers each school year. (MCL 380.1527(1))	<ul> <li>A calendar of district-provided professional development (DPPD) demonstrating at least 5 days of professional development offered to every teacher</li> <li>Agendas, hourly logs, or summaries describing the content of each professional development activity provided</li> <li>Attendance logs</li> </ul>
Teachers in the first 3 years of employment in classroom teaching must also receive 15 days (90 hours) of intensive professional development induction into teaching, based on a professional development plan that is consistent with section 38.83a. The professional development induction shall include the topics of classroom management and instructional delivery, the experiencing of effective practices in university-linked professional development schools, and regional seminars conducted by master teachers and other mentors. (MCL 380.1526) Professional development days provided under MCL 380.1527 for all teachers shall not be counted toward the professional development under MCL 380.1526 for new teachers. (MCL 380.1527(3))	<ul> <li>Professional development plan for each teacher in the first three years of employment</li> <li>Evidence of professional development hours received by teacher (Ex: individual logs, sign-in/sign-out sheets, other attendance methods, etc.); these should delineate both professional learning offered to all teachers and professional development specific to new teachers</li> <li>Agendas, hourly logs, or summaries describing the professional development received that align to the required topics and the date/time of the professional learning</li> </ul>

For the first 3 years of employment in classroom teaching, a teacher shall be assigned 1 or more master teachers, college professors or retired master teachers who shall act as a mentor to the teacher. (MCL 380.1526)	<ul> <li>Documentation of all new teachers and assigned mentors</li> <li>Evidence that mentors meet the district criteria established for a "master teacher" or are a college professor</li> <li>Logs or tracking sheets documenting time spent between Mentor/Mentee</li> </ul>
A <u>MDE approved First Aid and Cardiopulmonary</u> <u>Resuscitation (CPR) training</u> must be provided to teachers in their first year of employment in classroom teaching who do not currently hold First Aid and CPR certification. (MCL 380.1526)	Documentation that all new teachers in their first year have completed First Aid/CPR training and are certificated.
A mentor shall be assigned for individuals on a full- year substitute permit and individuals receiving an extension to the daily substitute permit. (Teacher Certification Code: R 390.1142 and 1143)	<ul> <li>Documentation of all individuals on an applicable permit and assigned mentors</li> <li>Evidence that mentors meet the district criteria established for a "master teacher" or are a college professor</li> <li>Logs or tracking sheets documenting time spent between Mentor/Mentee</li> </ul>

## **Additional Resources**

- Mentoring and Induction FAQ
- Permit Overview

For further information, please contact <u>SCECH@Michigan.gov</u>.