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MEMORANDUM 
 
 
DATE:  November 14, 2019   
 
TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents 
  Public School Academy Directors  

FROM: :       Venessa A. Keesler, Ph.D., Deputy Superintendent    
                   Division of Educator, Student, and School Supports    

 Kyle L. Guerrant, Deputy Superintendent 
 Finance and Operations 
 
SUBJECT: New Legislation Allowing District-Provided Professional Development 

(DPPD) Reported as Instructional Time 
 
Effective October 1, 2019, Section 101(10) of the State School Aid Act,  
MCL 388.1701(10), adopted by the state legislature, was amended to include new 
provisions.  According to the new law, a district may count up to 38 hours of 
qualifying professional development time for teachers as hours of pupil instruction, if 
all of the following requirements are satisfied: 

• A district-wide professional development advisory committee appointed by 
the district school board recommends at least 8 hours of the professional 
development. The advisory committee must be composed of teachers 
employed by the district who represent a variety of grades and subject 
matter specializations, including special education; nonteaching staff; 
parents; and administrators. The majority membership of the committee 
shall be composed of teaching staff. 

• The professional development hours are used to offset instructional time for 
pupils whose teachers participated in the professional development. 

• The professional development is aligned to the school or district 
improvement plan for the school or district in which the professional 
development is being provided. 

• The professional development is linked to one or more criteria in the 
evaluation tool developed or adopted by the district or intermediate district 
under Section 1249 of the Revised School Code, MCL 380.1249.  
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• The Michigan Department of Education has approved the professional 
development and confirmed that it may be counted for state continuing 
education clock hours (SCECH).  

• Not more than a combined total of 10 hours of the professional 
development takes place before the first scheduled day of school for the 
school year and after the last scheduled day of school for that school year.  

• No more than 10 hours of qualifying professional development takes place 
in a single month.  

• At least 75% of teachers scheduled to participate in the professional 
development are in attendance.  

• Qualifying professional development must exceed five hours in one day. 

• If the professional development is provided online, the district must have 
approved the instruction.  

Districts that are not already approved SCECH Sponsors that wish to register 
upcoming DPPD as SCECHs, must first submit a SCECH Sponsor Application.  As part 
of the application process, the district will select a SCECH coordinator who will upload 
attendance information for DPPD events.   
 
For support registering your DPPD as SCECHs please contact 517-241-5000 or  
MDE-EducatorHelp@michigan.gov. 
 
cc: Michigan Education Alliance  
 

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/SCECH_Sponsor_Application_666673_7.pdf
mailto:MDE-EducatorHelp@michigan.gov
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