

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

RICK SNYDER GOVERNOR BRIAN J. WHISTON STATE SUPERINTENDENT

MEMORANDUM

DATE: January 12, 2017

TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents

Public School Academy Directors

FROM: Venessa A. Keesler, Ph.D., Deputy Superintendent

Division of Educator, Student, and School Supports

SUBJECT: Education Superhighway Internet Connectivity Data Inquiries

The Michigan Department of Education (MDE) is aware that Education Superhighway (ESH), a nonprofit organization seeking to upgrade Internet to schools nationally, is requesting district clarification of Internet connectivity data. These data sets are available publically from the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) E-Rate applications. ESH is emailing district leadership directly regarding connection type, number of circuits, down speed bandwidth per connection, whether or not a district purchases Internet as part of a consortium, and if the district provides the transport circuit from the Internet Service Provider (ISP) to the district. Many districts in Michigan are part of E-Rate consortium applications and ESH wants to know about each individual district connection within a consortium, beyond the information required for the E-Rate application process. ESH uses this information to update their <u>State of the States</u> report.

Responding to requests from ESH is optional. District effort should be focused on teaching and learning rather than providing additional details regarding E-Rated services to an entity other than the FCC or the Universal Service Administrative Company (USAC), which administers E-Rate. Districts seeking E-Rate discounts must comply with USAC Program Integrity Assurance (PIA) and other FCC and USAC related inquiries. The ESH data clarification requests are voluntary and in no way affiliated with any MDE initiative. For more information, please contact Ann-Marie Mapes at mapesa@michigan.gov or 517-335-2775.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – CO-PRESIDENT • RICHARD ZEILE – CO-PRESIDENT MICHELLE FECTEAU – SECRETARY • TOM MCMILLIN – TREASURER NIKKI SNYDER – NASBE DELEGATE • PAMELA PUGH LUPE RAMOS-MONTIGNY • EILEEN LAPPIN WEISER