

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

MICHAEL F. RICE, Ph.D. STATE SUPERINTENDENT

GRETCHEN WHITMER GOVERNOR

MEMORANDUM

- **DATE:** June 15, 2021
- **TO:** Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents Public School Academy Directors
- **FROM:** Kyle L. Guerrant, Deputy Superintendent KG Finance and Operations
- **SUBJECT:** Notice and Request for Public Comment: American Rescue Plan (ARP) Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief Fund (ESSER III) Plan – MEMO #COVID-19-198

The Michigan Department of Education (MDE) is seeking public comment on Michigan's American Rescue Plan (ARP) Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief Fund (ESSER III) plan. ARP ESSER III provides over \$3.7 billion to Michigan public schools to support safe school operations and meet the academic, social, emotional, and mental health needs of students in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

MDE submitted the initial ARP ESSER III <u>plan</u> on June 7, 2021 to meet the U.S. Department of Education (USED) deadline, and is waiting for USED's review and feedback. Seeking public input from diverse stakeholders across the state is essential to develop a final ARP ESSER III plan that is responsive to the needs of students, families, and educators. USED must approve Michigan's ARP ESSER III plan prior to making the remaining one-third of Michigan's ARP ESSER III allocation available for use.

If you would like to provide feedback on MDE's ARP ESSER <u>plan</u>, you may access the survey at the following link: <u>https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/ZWJLCVY</u>.

Feedback must be submitted to MDE before the close of business on Monday, June 28, 2021. Questions regarding the feedback survey may be directed to Jennifer Houseman at <u>HousemanJ1@michigan.gov</u>.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance Confederation of Michigan Tribal Education Directors

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – PRESIDENT • PAMELA PUGH – VICE PRESIDENT TIFFANY D. TILLEY – SECRETARY • TOM MCMILLIN – TREASURER JUDITH PRITCHETT – NASBE DELEGATE • ELLEN COGEN LIPTON NIKKI SNYDER • JASON STRAYHORN