

## STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

GRETCHEN WHITMER
GOVERNOR

MICHAEL F. RICE, Ph.D. STATE SUPERINTENDENT

## **MEMORANDUM**

**DATE:** January 30, 2020

**TO:** Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents

**Public School Academy Directors** 

**FROM:** Kyle L. Guerrant, Deputy Superintendent

Finance and Operations

**SUBJECT:** Additional Forgiven Time and Professional Development

Section 101 of the State School Aid Act (MCL 388.1701) requires that school districts offer at least 1,098 hours of instruction as well as provide a minimum of 180 days of instruction each school year. If a district needs to cancel an instructional day, Section 101(4) of the State School Aid Act allows districts to count up to six days (and the equivalent hours) of "forgiven time" toward the day and hour requirements, if instruction is not provided because of conditions not within the control of school authorities, such as severe storms, fires, epidemics, utility power unavailability, water or sewer failure, or health conditions. The common term for this type of cancellation among Michigan school districts is "snow day."

Up to an additional three days of forgiven time (and the equivalent hours) may be granted with the approval of the State Superintendent once the six days of forgiven time originally granted to the district have been exhausted due to cancellations not within the control of school authorities. These additional forgiven days are granted through a waiver that is commonly referred to as a "snow-day waiver."

Beginning with the 2019-20 school year, if all provisions of Section 101(10) of the State School Aid Act are met, districts may count up to 38 hours of qualifying professional development toward the hours of pupil instruction. Districts may also count this qualifying professional development toward the day requirement if the professional development exceeds five hours in a single day.

## STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Page 2 January 30, 2020

Instructional time is important to student learning. Districts utilizing options such as professional development to reduce instructional time requirements are less likely to receive approval from the department for additional forgiven time. Applications for additional forgiven time will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis.

Additional forgiven time may be requested using the online form at <a href="https://fs10.formsite.com/SASF/form9/index.html">https://fs10.formsite.com/SASF/form9/index.html</a>. The form will open February 1, 2020. The request for additional forgiven time should be submitted after a cancellation has occurred and after deliberations attempting to reschedule instructional days. Requests for additional forgiven time must be submitted by May 31, 2020.

Please direct questions to Jessica Beagle at <a href="mailto:beaglej1@michigan.gov">beaglej1@michigan.gov</a> or 517-241-6435.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance