

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

RICK SNYDER GOVERNOR BRIAN J. WHISTON STATE SUPERINTENDENT

MEMORANDUM

DATE: May 5, 2016

TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents

Public School Academy Directors

FROM: Norma Jean Sass

Chief Deputy Superintendent

SUBJECT: Alternative Education and Innovative Programs (Hours and Days)

Waivers 2016-17 Application Process and 2015-16 Required Report

The State School Aid Act, Section 101(9) [MCL 388.1701], permits the State Superintendent to waive the minimum number of hours and days of pupil instruction for alternative education programs or other innovative programs approved by the Michigan Department of Education (MDE). This waiver can only be granted for alternative education or innovative programs and is not intended for individual students.

The State Superintendent will consider applications for waivers of hours for programs that will operate for less than the required **1,098 hours** and/or less than the required **180 days** during the 2016-17 school year. Before submitting the waiver to operate less than the required **1,098 hours** of instruction or less than the required **180 days** of instruction, consider very carefully the amount of instruction time needed to deliver the Michigan Merit Curriculum. The waiver application also allows a district to apply for a 50 percent attendance waiver, as indicated in Section 101(3)(h).

2016-17 Application Information

The process in 2016-17 requires the applicant to submit an application in MEGS+. To apply for the waiver described above, the following steps will be necessary:

Navigate to http://www.michigan.gov/alted and view/complete the following documents:

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

JOHN C. AUSTIN – PRESIDENT • CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – VICE PRESIDENT MICHELLE FECTEAU – SECRETARY • PAMELA PUGH – TREASURER LUPE RAMOS-MONTIGNY – NASBE DELEGATE • KATHLEEN N. STRAUS EILEEN LAPPIN WEISER • RICHARD ZEILE

- 2016-17 Application Instructions document. You must read this document to understand the process for submitting the application in MEGS+.
- 2016-17 Alternative Education/Innovative Programs Waiver Application and Program Assurances.
- The documents must be uploaded to the *Curriculum and Instruction* Application in MEGS+ by October 3, 2016.

Please be advised that by completing this application and participating in the Waiver of Minimum Number of Hours and Days of Pupil Instruction for Alternative Education or other innovative programs, you agree to comply with the reporting requirements established by the MDE.

2015-16 Reporting Requirements

Any entity that received an Alternative Education/Innovative Programs (Hours and Days) Waiver in 2015-16 must complete the end of the year report. The report is in the format of a google form and can be found at this Coogle form.

The report is due by July 22, 2016. The report only applies to entities that received the waiver in 2015-16.

A webinar regarding this report will take place on Thursday, May 19th at 2:00 PM on Adobe Connect. The link for the webinar is: http://remc.adobeconnect.com/hd2017/.

Participants will be able to watch and listen to the presentation through the Adobe Connect format, and can ask questions using the chat box.

If you have any questions regarding the information being requested, please contact Brian Barber or Eric Lipinski at (517) 241-4285, or email at barberb2@michigan.gov or lipinskie@michigan.gov.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance