

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

BRIAN J. WHISTON STATE SUPERINTENDENT

RICK SNYDER GOVERNOR

MEMORANDUM

DATE: November 23, 2016

TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents Public School Academy Directors

FROM: Kyle Guerrant Computer Superintendent, Finance and Operations

Venessa A. Keesler, Ph.D. Market Deputy Superintendent, Educator, Student and School Supports

SUBJECT: Innovation Council "Office Hours"

The Michigan Department of Education is inviting district personnel and board members to join us for an opportunity to learn more about leveraging innovation in your district.

Starting December 15, 2016, the Innovation Council welcomes you to join us in a series of monthly, online "Office Hours" consultations. This opportunity will allow you to meet and interact with members of the Innovation Council in real-time, to learn about innovative educational initiatives, as well as hear from districts that have implemented unique educational programs of their own, or to share your own thoughts and experiences.

The first official "Office Hours" event will be held <u>December 15, 2016 at 3:00 p.m.</u> Dr. David Richards, Superintendent of Fraser Public Schools, has agreed to present on the innovative program implemented in his district, lending insight to attendees about how they might approach innovation in their own district.

To join the virtual "Office Hours" meeting, click on the appropriate date and time below, and then wait for the session to begin. We look forward to seeing you there!

December 15, 2016 at 3:00 p.m. January 19, 2017 at 3:00 p.m. February 16, 2017 at 3:00 p.m. March 16, 2017 at 3:00 p.m. April 20, 2017 at 3:00 p.m. May 18, 2017 at 3:00 p.m.

New to the Innovation Council? Follow this link to learn more.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance; Michigan Pupil Accounting and Attendance Association

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

JOHN C. AUSTIN – PRESIDENT • CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – VICE PRESIDENT MICHELLE FECTEAU – SECRETARY • PAMELA PUGH – TREASURER LUPE RAMOS-MONTIGNY – NASBE DELEGATE • KATHLEEN N. STRAUS EILEEN LAPPIN WEISER • RICHARD ZEILE