

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

BRIAN J. WHISTON STATE SUPERINTENDENT

RICK SNYDER GOVERNOR

## **MEMORANDUM**

DATE: December 15, 2016

- TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents Public School Academy Directors
- **FROM:** Venessa A. Keesler, Ph.D., Deputy Superintendent Unim Division of Educator, Student, and School Supports
- SUBJECT: Reminder of 2016-17 School Year MTRAx Data Collection

The Michigan Department of Education (MDE), through the Technology Readiness Infrastructure Grant (TRIG), would like to remind districts that the 2016-17 MTRAx data collection window is open and will be closing on **December 16, 2016**.

While participation in the data collection is voluntary, MTRAx can be of great use in technology planning, as a component of the school and district improvement plans in ASSIST. Districts may use these data to support requests for grant funding, technology bonds, and millages, prepare for the M-STEP and local assessments, and determine whether the district has the infrastructure in place to support 21<sup>st</sup> century teaching and learning. Additionally, the 2016-17 MTRAx data will provide a cumulative record for TRIG's final legislative report.

The MTRAx aggregated data also provides the MDE with information for the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) and future initiatives. The MTRAx data are an efficacy indicator for the Top 10 within 10, allowing the MDE to identify schools that are technologically equipped to support instruction and assessment. To that end, the MDE encourages districts to, in addition to testing devices, include in MTRAx data other classroom and instructional devices not used for testing, which have not been traditionally reported in prior year MTRAx data collection.

We thank you for your participation in this year's MTRAx data collection. Please submit your district's data at <u>www.mtrax.org</u> by **December 16, 2016**. For questions or support, contact <u>mtraxsupport@22itrig.org</u>.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance

## STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

JOHN C. AUSTIN – PRESIDENT • CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – VICE PRESIDENT MICHELLE FECTEAU – SECRETARY • PAMELA PUGH – TREASURER LUPE RAMOS-MONTIGNY – NASBE DELEGATE • KATHLEEN N. STRAUS EILEEN LAPPIN WEISER • RICHARD ZEILE