

GRETCHEN WHITMER GOVERNOR STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

SHEILA A. ALLES INTERIM STATE SUPERINTENDENT

## **MEMORANDUM**

**DATE:** April 11, 2019

**TO:** Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents Public School Academy Directors

- **FROM:** Venessa A. Keesler, Ph.D., Deputy Superintendent *Venum* Division of Educator, Student, and School Support
- **SUBJECT:** Michigan's Minecraft: Education Edition Student Landmark Challenge Winner

The Michigan Department of Education (MDE) is honored to announce the first winner of the Michigan Minecraft: Education Edition Landmark Challenge. They are Will, Noah, and Romeo from Ms. Lilly's sixth grade class at Springbrook Middle School, Adrian Public Schools. These students and their classmates will receive a Michigan M:EE SWAG Bag filled with classroom goodies and will have the opportunity to Skype with the Microsoft Minecraft: Education Edition Programmers later this month. These students beat out 150 other entries submitted through a review process by their peers. Entries ranged from the Mackinaw Bridge to the Tawas Point Lighthouse. A list of student landmark entries and a presentation of the top twelve landmarks can be found at www.techplan.org/rdi/minecraft.

This activity supports the MDE Top 10 in 10 strategic plan by enhancing access to effective technology tools that support deeper and personalized learning. Eric Strommer, an educator from Flint Community Schools shared, "I knew there were students who were really excited about Minecraft but this high level of engagement and cooperation, honestly, is kind of surprising me."

For more information regarding the Michigan M:EE pilot, the M:EE application, or the next challenge please see <u>http://www.techplan.org/rdi/minecraft</u>. If you have any questions please contact Amanda Stoel at <u>stoela@michigan.gov</u> or 517-241-3629.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance

## STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – PRESIDENT • PAMELA PUGH – VICE PRESIDENT MICHELLE FECTEAU – SECRETARY • TOM MCMILLIN – TREASURER TIFFANY D. TILLEY – NASBE DELEGATE • JUDITH PRITCHETT LUPE RAMOS-MONTIGNY • NIKKI SNYDER