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Professional Teaching Certificate Renewal 
The Professional Teaching Certificate is a five-year teaching certificate with unlimited renewals.  

Each renewal adds five years to the certificate’s validity.  A renewal can be requested any time 

after January 1 of the expiration year. 

Requirements: (One of the following) 

• Education-Related Professional Learning totaling 150 hours. 

• A valid out-of-state certificate, appropriate for K-12 education may be used one time.  

IMPORTANT NOTE: Educators who hold the School Counselor (NT) endorsement on a 

teaching certificate, regardless of current assignment, must meet the requirements of law 

(MCL 380.1233(6)) to renew that teaching certificate. Specific information pertaining to 

renewing a school counselor credential can be accessed via the School Counselor Credential 

Renewals document. Endorsements are not renewed; rather, certificates are renewed, and a 

renewal of that certificate will maintain the existing endorsements. An endorsement can only 

be removed from a Michigan teaching certificate if the nullification process is utilized. 

Education-Related Professional Learning Options:  

One of the following Education-Related Professional Learning options must be earned since 

the issue date of the most recent Professional Teaching Certificate or renewal. These hours 

must be entered into Michigan Online Educator Certification System (MOECS) prior to 

applying for the renewal for the system to recognize your eligibility: 

• 6 semester credit hours appropriate to the content and grade level of the certificate 

and endorsement from a regionally accredited college or university; or 

• 6 semester hours in a planned course of study* from a regionally accredited college 

or university; or 

• 150 Michigan State Continuing Education Clock Hours (SCECHs) appropriate to the 

content and grade level of the certificate and endorsement; or 

• 150 hours of Michigan District Provided Professional Development (DPPD) 

appropriate to the content and grade level of the certificate and endorsement. 

• Any combination of the above. 

Education-Related Professional Learning Hour Conversion: 

• College credit: 1 semester credit = 25 professional learning hours 

• SCECH Hours: 1 SCECH hour = 1 professional learning hour 

• DPPD Hours: 1 DPPD hour = 1 professional learning hour  

*Credits in a planned course of study may include credits taken as part of an education-

related master’s or higher degree or credits in a program that leads to an endorsement. 

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Education_Related_Professional_Learning_604294_7.PDF
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(nxrxz00zj21lzwlenzxc3rxu))/mileg.aspx?page=GetObject&objectname=mcl-380-1233
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/School_Counselor_Renewal_558697_7.PDF
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/School_Counselor_Renewal_558697_7.PDF
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Nullification_Process_640281_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Education_Related_Professional_Learning_604294_7.PDF
https://mdoe.state.mi.us/MOECS/Login.aspx
http://www.chea.org/
http://www.chea.org/4dcgi/chea/search/index.html?MenuKey=main
http://www.chea.org/4dcgi/chea/search/index.html?MenuKey=main
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/What_are_SCECHs_576116_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Logging_your_DPPD_into_MOECS_Eblast_Attachment_2014-8-5_465612_7.pdf

