MICHIGAN

=i Education
Progressing to the Professional CTE Certificate

Effective July 1, 2018

The Professional CTE Certificate* is valid for up to 5 years and may be applied for
any time requirements are met.

Requirements:

1. Effectiveness ratings in accordance with MCL 380.1531j:

a. Consecutive: effective or highly effective ratings on your annual
year-end performance evaluations for the 3 consecutive school years
immediately preceding your application for a Professional Teaching
Certificate; or

b. Nonconsecutive: effective or highly effective ratings on your annual
year-end performance evaluation for at least 3 nonconsecutive school
years prior to applying for the Professional Teaching Certificate,
including:

i. An Effective Educator Recommendation form completed by the
chief school administrator of the school where you are currently
employed.

2. 3 years of successful teaching since the issue date of the initial Standard
CTE Certificate, within the content areas and grade level of the Standard
CTE Certificate; and

3. 3 semester credit hours of reading diagnostics and remediation, which
includes a field experience. This credit can be applied toward the
professional learning requirement listed below assuming the credit was
earned after the issue date of the most recent certificate or renewal; and

4. One of the following:

a. 150 hours of Education-related professional learning.

b. An education-related master’s or higher degree earned at any time
(even if previously utilized to renew the Standard CTE Certificate)
from a regionally accredited college or university.
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http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(csm2rjt0fcx5fu5et315clre))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-380-1531j
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Effective_Educator_Recommendation_Form_616713_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Successful_Teaching_Experience_605465_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/InterimOccupationalCert_530859_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/InterimOccupationalCert_530859_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Reading_Course_Requirements_526655_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Education_Related_Professional_Learning_604294_7.PDF
http://www.chea.org/

Education-Related Professional Learning Options:

One of the following education-related professional learning options must be
earned since the issue date of the most recent Standard Teaching Certificate or
renewal, and they must be entered into Michigan Online Educator Certification
System (MOECS) prior to applying for the renewal for the system to recognize
your eligibility:

e 6 semester credit hours appropriate to the content and grade level of the
certificate and endorsement from a regionally accredited college or
university; or

e 6 semester hours in a planned course of study** from a regionally
accredited college or university.

e 150 Michigan State Continuing Education Clock Hours (SCECHs) appropriate
to the content and grade level of the certificate; or

e 150 hours of Michigan District Provided Professional Development (DPPD)
appropriate to the content and grade level of the certificate; or

e Any combination of the above.

Education-Related Professional Learning Hour Conversion:

e College credit: 1 semester credit = 25 professional learning hours
e SCECH Hours: 1 SCECH hour = 1 professional learning hour
e DPPD Hours: 1 DPPD hour = 1 professional learning hour

*The Professional CTE Certificate replaces the Occupational Education Certificate
pursuant to Administrative Rule 390.1101.

**Credits in a planned course of study may include credits taken as part of an
education-related master’s or higher degree or credits in a program that leads to
an endorsement.
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http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Education_Related_Professional_Learning_604294_7.PDF
https://mdoe.state.mi.us/MOECS/Login.aspx
https://mdoe.state.mi.us/MOECS/Login.aspx
http://www.chea.org/
http://www.chea.org/
http://www.chea.org/4dcgi/chea/search/index.html?MenuKey=main
http://www.chea.org/4dcgi/chea/search/index.html?MenuKey=main
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/What_are_SCECHs_576116_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Logging_your_DPPD_into_MOECS_Eblast_Attachment_2014-8-5_465612_7.pdf

