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Standard Teaching Certificate Renewal  
The Standard Teaching Certificate is a five-year teaching certificate with unlimited 

renewals. Each renewal adds five years to the certificate’s validity. A renewal can be 
requested any time after January 1 of the expiration year.  

Requirements - One of the following: 

• 150 hours of Education-Related Professional Learning.  
• An education-related masters or higher degree earned at any time from a regionally 

accredited college or university (may be used one time to renew the Standard Teaching 
Certificate).  

• A valid out-of-state teaching certificate (may be used one time to renew the Standard 
Teaching Certificate).  

IMPORTANT NOTE:  Educators who hold the School Counselor (NT) endorsement on a 

teaching certificate, regardless of current assignment, must meet the requirements of law 

(MCL 380.1233(6)) to renew that teaching certificate. Information pertaining to renewing a 

school counselor credential can be accessed via the School Counselor Credential Renewals 

document. Endorsements are not renewed; rather, certificates are renewed, and a renewal of 

that certificate will maintain the existing endorsements. An endorsement can only be removed 

from a Michigan teaching certificate if the nullification process is utilized. 

Education-Related Professional Learning Options 

One of the following Education-Related Professional Learning options must be earned since 
the issue date of the most recent Standard Teaching Certificate or renewal. These hours 

must be entered into Michigan Online Educator Certification System (MOECS) prior to 
applying for the renewal for the system to recognize your eligibility:  

• 6 semester credit hours appropriate to the content and grade level of the certificate 

and endorsement from a regionally accredited college or university; or  

• 6 semester hours in a planned course of study* from a regionally accredited college or 

university; or  

• 150 Michigan State Continuing Education Clock Hours (SCECHs) appropriate to the 

content and grade level of the certificate and endorsement; or  

• 150 hours of Michigan District Provided Professional Development (DPPD) appropriate 

to the content and grade level of the certificate and endorsement.  

•  Any combination of the above.  

Education-Related Professional Learning Hour Conversion:  

•  College credit: 1 semester credit = 25 professional learning hours  
•  SCECH Hours: 1 SCECH hour = 1 professional learning hour  

•  DPPD Hours: 1 DPPD hour = 1 professional learning hour  

*Credits in a planned course of study may include credits taken as part of an education-

related master’s or higher degree or credits in a program that leads to an endorsement. 

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Education_Related_Professional_Learning_604294_7.PDF
http://www.chea.org/4dcgi/chea/search/index.html?MenuKey=main
http://www.chea.org/4dcgi/chea/search/index.html?MenuKey=main
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(nxrxz00zj21lzwlenzxc3rxu))/mileg.aspx?page=GetObject&objectname=mcl-380-1233
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/School_Counselor_Renewal_558697_7.PDF
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Nullification_Process_640281_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Education_Related_Professional_Learning_604294_7.PDF
https://mdoe.state.mi.us/MOECS/Login.aspx
http://www.chea.org/
http://www.chea.org/4dcgi/chea/search/index.html?MenuKey=main
http://www.chea.org/4dcgi/chea/search/index.html?MenuKey=main
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/What_are_SCECHs_576116_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Logging_your_DPPD_into_MOECS_Eblast_Attachment_2014-8-5_465612_7.pdf

