
 
 
 
 
 

February 20, 2014 
 

 
MEMORANDUM 
 
TO:   Intermediate and Local School District Superintendents  

Public School Academy Directors and Authorizers  
 
FROM:  Carol Wolenberg, Deputy Superintendent 

Michigan Department of Education 
 

Thomas Howell, Director  
Center for Educational Performance and Information 
Michigan Department of Technology, Management & Budget 

 
SUBJECT:  Section 25e of the State School Aid Act, (MCL 388.1625e, Public Act 

60 of 2013) Pupil Membership Transfer Reporting  
 
District Reporting Deadline for Initial Pupil Transfer Membership Requests 
Section 25e of the State School Aid Act (MCL 388.1625e, Public Act 60 of 2013) 
states: “If a pupil counted in membership for the pupil membership count day 
transfers from a district or intermediate district to enroll in another district or 
intermediate district after the pupil membership count day and before the 
supplemental count day and, due to the pupil’s enrollment and attendance status as 
of the pupil membership count day, the pupil was not counted in membership in the 
educating district or intermediate district, the educating district or intermediate 
district may report the enrollment and attendance information to the center through 
the pupil transfer process within 30 days after the transfer or within 30 days after 
the sixth Wednesday after the pupil membership count day, whichever is later.” 
 
It is imperative that districts follow the pupil transfer process provided under 
Section 25e to avoid loss of membership. It is the responsibility of the district to be 
attentive to changes in enrollment, which includes reporting enrollments that occur 
between the pupil membership count day and supplemental count day in a timely 
manner (if the district will be claiming membership under Section 25e).   
 
Pupil transfers that are reported after the prescribed timeframe may be reported by 
the district using a modified first date of attendance that complies with the 
timeframe prescribed by the legislation.  In doing so, the membership for the pupil 
will be prorated according to the modified first date of attendance reported.  
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Proration of Membership for Partial Pupil Attendance under Section 25e 
The membership reported for pupil transfers under Section 25e is based on the 
enrollment and attendance data for the pupil.  The district will follow the language 
in Section 6(8) of the State School Aid Act (MCL 388.1606) when calculating the 
Full Time Equivalency (FTE) for pupils under 25e.  The amount of FTE reported is 
then prorated through a Michigan Student Data System process that calculates the 
number of days attended of the 105-day period between count dates, using the first 
date of attendance reported for the pupil. The resulting product is added to the fall 
membership totals for the district. 
 
In accordance with Section 6(8) of the State School Aid Act, a pupil who does not 
attend all of his or her scheduled classes on the first date of attendance is allowed 
30 calendar days from the first date of attendance to attend the classes in which 
the pupil was absent if the absence was excused. A pupil who does not attend all of 
his or her scheduled classes on the first date of attendance is allowed 10 
consecutive school days from the first date of attendance to attend the classes in 
which the pupil was absent if the absence was unexcused. A pupil that fails to 
attend the previously unattended classes within the timeframe for an excused or 
unexcused absence, as it would apply, shall have his or her membership prorated 
to reflect his or her actual attendance. 
 
Questions regarding the Section 25e legislation should be directed to Brian Ciloski 
at CiloskiB@michigan.gov or 517-373-3352. 
 
District Resubmission Deadline of Intermediate School District (ISD) 
Auditor Denied Transfer Requests 
Section 25e transfer requests that have been denied by the ISD auditor may be 
resubmitted with corrected information (as directed by the ISD auditor) until 
Wednesday, March 12, 2014. This applies only to transfer requests that include an 
‘As of Date,’ Enrollment Date,’ and ‘First Day in Attendance’ that are prior to 
February 12, 2014.  In addition, the initial request must have been submitted on or 
before February 11, 2014. 
 
Questions regarding the resubmission window may be directed to CEPI at 
CEPI@michigan.gov, or by calling 517-335-0505, option 3.  When emailing a 
question, please provide your name, district code and district name (if applicable), 
the CEPI application name, your telephone number (including area code and 
extension), your email address, and your specific questions. 
 
cc:  Michigan Education Alliance 
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