

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

GRETCHEN WHITMER
GOVERNOR

MICHAEL F. RICE, Ph.D. STATE SUPERINTENDENT

MEMORANDUM

DATE: December 12, 2019

TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents

Public School Academy Directors

FROM: Venessa A. Keesler, Ph.D., Deputy Superintendent

Division of Educator, Student, and School Supports

Kyle L. Guerrant, Deputy Superintendent

Finance and Operations

SUBJECT: Process for Approval of Qualifying Professional Development as

Instructional Hours

The Michigan state legislature enacted Section 101(10) of the State School Aid Act, MCL 388.1701(10), effective October 1, 2019. This section was amended to allow up to 38 hours of qualifying professional development to count as pupil instructional hours. This legislative change was detailed in a previous communication sent November 14, 2019.

Qualifying professional development may count as days and/or hours of pupil instruction. However, qualifying professional development may only count toward the instructional **day** requirement if it exceeds 5 hours of instruction in a single day, excluding breaks and lunch. A district may not combine qualifying professional development time that was provided over multiple days to count as a **day** of pupil instruction.

In addition, the qualifying professional development must meet many other requirements. One of those provisions (Section 101(10)(e)(iii)) is that the qualifying professional development must be "...approved by the department as continuing education clock hours" (SCECH).

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Districts currently have the following options to receive State Continuing Education Clock Hours (SCECHs) program approval for their qualifying professional development:

- Districts can register as a SCECH Sponsor by completing the <u>SCECH Sponsor Application</u> and submitting SCECH program applications for their qualifying professional development.
- Districts may work with an approved <u>SCECH Sponsor</u> to submit a program application.
- Districts may use approved programs from the <u>SCECH Catalog</u>.

A series of pre-recorded webinars will be made available on Michigan Department of Education's (MDE's) <u>SCECH and DPPD webpage</u> this month. These webinars will give an overview of the application options and assist districts through the process of completing the SCECH sponsor application, submitting a SCECH program application, and uploading attendance.

Retroactivity can be awarded for programs that took place from July 1, 2019 through December 12, 2019, if all legal requirements were met. This retroactivity will provide districts with the ability to use qualifying professional development as instructional hours, if compliant with statute.

To apply for retroactivity, the district must submit the <u>Qualifying Professional</u> <u>Development as Instructional Hours Retroactivity Application</u>, along with all required supporting documents to <u>SCECH@michigan.gov</u>.

For the purposes of this communication, "qualifying professional development" is any professional development that meets the requirements in the law (MCL 388.1701(10)) to count as pupil instructional hours, and may or may not be the district-provided professional development required by MCL 380.1526 and MCL 380.1527. Once MDE receives all required documentation, it will be reviewed to ensure all legal requirements have been met. The district will be notified of either approval or a request for additional information. All documentation submitted to the MDE, as well as the notice of approval, must be kept by the district for audit purposes.

If you need support registering your qualifying professional development as SCECHs or have questions about the retroactivity process, contact 517-241-5000 or MDE-EducatorHelp@michigan.gov.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance