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MEMORANDUM 
 
 
DATE:  January 9, 2020    
 
TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents 
  Public School Academy Directors  

FROM:  Venessa A. Keesler, Ph.D., Deputy Superintendent  
 Division of Educator, Student, and School Supports 
   
SUBJECT: District-Level Plans for Assessment Windows, Read by Grade 3 

Implementation, and Communicating Retention to Parents   
 
In 2016, the Michigan state legislature passed Michigan’s Read by Grade 3 Law (MCL 
3801280f) and districts have been implementing components of the law since then.  
As prescribed in the law, this year’s Michigan Student Test of Educational Progress (M-
STEP) must be used to flag students who are eligible for retention.  As we approach 
the spring assessment windows, there are actions that districts need to take to 
prepare for this requirement and to communicate with families. The law describes 
specific timelines and dates that districts and families must know and follow. To meet 
the deadlines, communication between districts and families is important. This memo 
provides important timeline reminders and communication resources for districts. 
 

• MDE strongly urges districts to begin third grade ELA M-STEP testing at the 
beginning of the testing window.  

• A student’s preliminary scores will be used to determine possible retention. 
Districts will be able to see the preliminary scores in the Student Assessment 
Secure Site within 24-48 hours after the student has completed testing. 
Checking the test scores regularly will maximize time for district communication 
to families about next steps to support the child. : MDE has created a user 
guide to accessing these scores in the Dynamic Score Reporting Site. It can be 
found here: Dynamic Score Reporting Site User Guide. 

• MDE also strongly urges districts to send their own communication home to 
parents/guardians in advance of the official communication from the state. We 
have provided a sample communication here: Read by Grade 3 Parent and 
District Resources. 

• In conjunction with this memo, districts should carefully review the memo sent 
today entitled, “Assessment Window Changes for Spring 2020.” 

 

https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.michigan.gov%2Fdocuments%2Fmde%2FHow_to_Navigate_Dynamic_Score_Reports_532306_7.pdf&data=02%7C01%7CTriplettT%40michigan.gov%7Ca1877fa210b54a7ff1b908d79384e883%7Cd5fb7087377742ad966a892ef47225d1%7C0%7C0%7C637140071357534035&sdata=Qc3K27BRdUx6XcyrMoW0ueEjhmtvX9toKH05OvImFSU%3D&reserved=0
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/0,4615,7-140-28753_74161-498394--,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/mde/0,4615,7-140-28753_74161-498394--,00.html
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Michigan’s Center for Educational Performance and Information (CEPI) will be sending 
official certified letters to individual students who score below 1253 on the ELA  
M-STEP assessments and who are therefore eligible for retention, as required by state 
law. Student addresses logged in the Michigan Student Data System (MSDS) will be 
used to send the letters so districts must ensure, to the extent possible, that the 
addresses are accurate and current prior to testing.  
 
Families receiving a letter will have 30 days from date of the letter to contact the 
district superintendent and request their child not be retained. The final decision for 
retention is made by the local district superintendent.  Districts are to notify families 
of their retention decisions at least 30 days before the start of the 2020 school year. 
Please note: in some districts, the 30-day appeal window will extend beyond the close 
of the school year. MDE strongly encourages districts to have a plan to communicate 
early to parents in advance of the official communication from the state (as described 
here) and to ensure there are plans in place to answer questions and address appeals 
from parents that may come after the close of school.  
 
If not already completed, districts must finalize and communicate their guidance 
regarding the process for requesting an appeal; the options available to parents; 
information on how to request good cause exemptions; and any other district-level 
processes needed to work with parents/guardians of students flagged for retention.  
We encourage you to use the Read by Grade 3 District Checklist found here:  
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Read_by_Grade_3_District_Checklist_675
553_7.pdf to help you prepare. 
 
For additional questions and support, please contact the Michigan Department of 
Education at MDE-EarlyLiteracy@michigan.gov.   If you would like to receive Read by 
Grade Three communications, please sign up at 
https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/MIMDE/subscriber/new.   
 
cc:  Michigan Education Alliance
 

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Read_by_Grade_3_District_Checklist_675553_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Read_by_Grade_3_District_Checklist_675553_7.pdf
mailto:MDE-EarlyLiteracy@michigan.gov
https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/MIMDE/subscriber/new
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