

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

GRETCHEN WHITMER
GOVERNOR

MICHAEL F. RICE, Ph.D. STATE SUPERINTENDENT

MEMORANDUM

DATE: September 28, 2020

TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents

Public School Academy Directors

FROM: Dr. Scott M. Koenigsknecht, Deputy Superintendent

P-20 System and Student Transitions

SUBJECT: Special Education Pupil Reporting for Fall 2020 Count Period -

MEMO #COVID-19-116

The Michigan Department of Education (MDE) Office of Special Education (OSE) has received questions from local and intermediate school districts (ISD) regarding how to report special education pupils for the fall 2020 count period.

Return to Learn laws (Public Acts 147, 148, and 149) waived day and hour requirements and provided districts options for demonstrating how they provide 180 days and 1,098 hours of content. Aligned with these recent public acts, and due to the COVID-19 pandemic, to ensure consistency of data collection and reporting, districts will report the time currently listed in each student's individualized education program (IEP) in the Michigan School Data System (MSDS) and on the DS-4061 Worksheet B: Basic Classroom Programs Student Count for All Other Special Education Classroom Teachers for the fall 2020 count.

OSE will monitor IEP implementation in the spring, which will include implementation of the contingency learning plans written in accordance with the student's IEP, where applicable.

A 2020-21 Special Education Pupil Reporting Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) document is being developed and will be updated throughout the 2020-21 school year. The FAQ will be located on the MDE OSE funding/Pupil Accounting webpage.

For further questions about special education pupil reporting or the FAQ document, please contact the Office of Special Education information line at 1-888-320-8384 or mde-ose@michigan.gov.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance Confederation of Michigan Tribal Education Directors STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – PRESIDENT • PAMELA PUGH – VICE PRESIDENT MICHELLE FECTEAU – SECRETARY • TOM MCMILLIN – TREASURER TIFFANY D. TILLEY – NASBE DELEGATE • JUDITH PRITCHETT LUPE RAMOS-MONTIGNY • NIKKI SNYDER