

## STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

RICK SNYDER GOVERNOR BRIAN J. WHISTON STATE SUPERINTENDENT

## **MEMORANDUM**

**DATE:** September 14, 2017

**TO:** Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents

Public School Academy Directors

Afrika Alle

FROM: Sheila A. Alles

Chief Deputy Superintendent

**SUBJECT:** Announcing the Section 104d Early Literacy Assessment Reimbursement

Grant

As a part of the State 2017-2018 school aid appropriations (PA 108 of 2017), the Michigan Department of Education (MDE) is releasing the Section 104d Early Literacy Assessment Reimbursement grant. Funds allocated under this grant provide \$4,000,000 for an equal per pupil formula reimbursement to districts and public school academies (PSAs) that purchase a computer-adaptive assessment or one or more diagnostic tools, screening tools, or benchmark assessments that are intended to increase reading proficiency by the start of grade four.

Eligible applicants are districts and PSAs that have incurred a cost for the purchase of such an assessment prior to October 1, 2017 and the assessment is intended to be administered to students during the 2017-2018 academic year.

The application for the Early Literacy Assessment Reimbursement grant will remain available for districts and PSAs to apply until October 20, 2017. Districts and PSAs can find the application, instructions, and resources at <a href="http://www.michigan.gov/mde/0,4615,7-140-28753">http://www.michigan.gov/mde/0,4615,7-140-28753</a> 74161-367697--,00.html. Allocated grant funds will be dependent upon the number of applicants and based on a formula for an equal amount per pupil basis for which the assessment was purchased based on 2016-2017 student count.

If you have any questions regarding the Early Literacy Assessment Reimbursement grant, please contact <a href="MDE-EarlyLiteracy@michigan.gov">MDE-EarlyLiteracy@michigan.gov</a>.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance

## STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – CO-PRESIDENT • RICHARD ZEILE – CO-PRESIDENT MICHELLE FECTEAU – SECRETARY • TOM MCMILLIN – TREASURER NIKKI SNYDER – NASBE DELEGATE • PAMELA PUGH LUPE RAMOS-MONTIGNY • EILEEN LAPPIN WEISER