# Criteria for Section 51a(6)

Revised July 2021



Michigan Department of Education Office of Special Education

## **Table of Contents**

What is Section 51a(6) of the State School Aid Act?	3
Fiscal Impact of the Revised Rules	4
Criteria for Receiving Funds Under Section 51a(6) of the State School Aid Act	5
Procedures	7
Steps to File a Claim	7

### **Criteria for Section 51a(6)**

This document provides the criteria and procedures for reviewing claims under Section 51a(6) of the State Aid Act regarding net increased costs of implementing the July 1, 1987, Rules for Special Education

#### What is Section 51a(6) of the State School Aid Act?

Section 51a(6) of the State School Aid Act contains the following subsection:

From the amount allocated in subsection (1), there is allocated an amount not to exceed \$2,200,000.00 for 2020-2021 and there is allocated an amount not to exceed \$2,200,000.00 for 2021-2022 to reimburse 100% of the net increase in necessary costs incurred by a district or intermediate district in implementing the revisions in the administrative rules for special education that became effective on July 1, 1987. As used in this subsection, "net increase in necessary costs" means the necessary additional costs incurred solely because of new or revised requirements in the administrative rules minus cost savings permitted in implementing the revised rules. The department shall determine net increase in necessary costs in a manner specified by the department.

The revised special education rules provide more flexibility to districts in serving students with disabilities than the prior rules. Specifically, two (2) new rules were added to allow school districts to implement resource rooms for students with disabilities who need 50 percent or less of their day in special education and need two (2) or less of the instructional content areas of language arts, mathematics, science, and social services, taught solely by the resource room teacher. These rules will allow school districts to assign up to 18 different students to a resource room teacher at the elementary level and 20 students at the secondary level. The age span for students in special education programs housed in regular education buildings, other than students with severe cognitive impairment and severe multiple impairment, has also been expanded to provide more latitude in assigning students. These rules, in conjunction with other program options such as the departmentalized programs at the secondary level, should provide sufficient flexibility within each intermediate school district (ISD) to offset any additional costs required by the reduction in caseload in other special education areas.

In addition, school districts which have personnel with split assignments have an option for determining the maximum number of students a teacher can serve. Please refer to Special Education Services official interpretation I-129, revised July 28, 1988, in your administrative manual regarding this issue.

SPECIAL NOTE: As 1986-87 is the base line year for determining Section 51a(6)

costs, school districts should maintain pertinent data for that year. This is particularly relevant regarding teacher schedules

and caseloads.

### **Fiscal Impact of the Revised Rules**

There are 124 rules that govern special education programs and services in Michigan. There were revisions to 62 of these rules which took effect July 1, 1987. The primary fiscal impact is related to changes in the following program rules:

Rule	Title	Comment
R 340.1738	Programs for Students with Severe Cognitive Impairment	Cost: The 1980 rule allows for a maximum of 1 teacher, 4 instructional Impairment aides, and 24 students. The revised rule allows two options. The district may have a ratio of 1 teacher, 2 aides, and 12 students or a ratio of 1 teacher, 3 aides, and 15 students.
R 340.1740	Programs for Students with Mild Cognitive Impairment	Cost: The 1980 rule allows a maximum teacher caseload of 18 students at the elementary and secondary level. The revised rule would reduce the caseload to 15 and at the elementary level require an aide whenever there are 12 or more students in the classroom at one time.
R 340.1744	Programs for Students with Physical Impairment or Other Health Impairment	Cost: Prior to July 1, 1987, a district could have 15 different students in a program for students with physical impairment or other health impairment during each period. Under the revised rule, a teacher of students with physical impairment or other health impairment is allowed to serve a maximum of 15 different students with no more than 10 students in the room at any one time.
R 340.1745	Services for Students with Speech and Language Impairment	Cost: The revision decreases the caseload from 75 to 60.

Rule	Title	Comment
R 340.1749a	Elementary Level Resource Program	Savings: An optional program is added to the rules. It allows up to 18 students per elementary resource room and 20 students per secondary resource room. This has potential for significant savings. Based on 1984-85 data, over 52,000 students with mild cognitive impairment, emotional impairment, and specific learning disabilities could be served in these programs.
R 340.1749b	Secondary Level Resource Program	Savings: An optional program is added to the rules. It allows up to 18 students per elementary resource room and 20 students per secondary resource room. This has potential for significant savings. Based on 1984-85 data, over 52,000 students with mild cognitive impairment, emotional impairment, and specific learning disabilities could be served in these programs.
R 340.1751	Supervisor of Special Education	Savings: This rule allows ISDs to receive reimbursement for a half-time supervisor of special education. The 1980 rules limited reimbursement to full time special education administrators

# Criteria for Receiving Funds Under Section 51a(6) of the State School Aid Act

In order to qualify for funding under this section of the State School Aid Act, a district must provide evidence to the Michigan Department of Education (MDE) of the following:

1. All alternatives for providing the required programs and services on a no netincreased cost basis have been reviewed and none are available.

Section 1711 of the School Code states that the intermediate school district (ISD) is responsible for planning with its constituent districts for the delivery of special education programs and services. Therefore, districts anticipating costs associated with implementing the revised rules are expected to identify no net-increased cost or low net-increased cost alternatives wherever possible. These include cooperative efforts with local districts or other ISDs,

special education plan modifications to alleviate administrative constraints, or efforts in seeking deviations or waivers where appropriate.

Costs associated with the new rules, which can be relieved administratively or through reasonable cooperative efforts with another district, will not qualify for funding under Section 51a(6) of the State School Aid Act.

- 2. The district incurred net-increased costs to come into compliance with the revised rules. Only costs clearly and directly attributable to the new rules will qualify. These include the cost of additional personnel needed to implement the new rules. The following will not qualify:
  - a. Costs that are solely the result of more students being determined eligible for special education including new special education students that transferred into the district.
  - b. Expenses associated with optional or voluntary program changes (e.g., resource room).
  - c. Charges necessary to bring the district into full compliance with 1980 rules.
  - d. Expenses the district would incur regardless of the revised rules.
- 3. The implementation of the revised rules will create an increase in expenditures. Costs that were incurred by the district in prior years, even though they were for enrichment, do not qualify as net-increased costs.

**Example A**: A district voluntarily employs 5 teacher aides in programs for students with mild cognitive impairment during the 1986-87 school year. Three of these aides are now required under the revised rules.

The district may not claim reimbursement under Section 51 of the State School Aid Act for the 3 required aides since the district has not incurred any new costs. However, these aides will qualify under Section 52 of the act as required special education personnel.

**Example B**: A district has a program for students with mild cognitive impairment with 15 students assigned to the teacher. The average number of students in the classroom during any period is 8. During 2 periods the district chooses to schedule 12 students. The district may not make a claim for the cost of an aide during these 2 periods unless it can be shown the appropriate assignment of the students could not otherwise be provided. Districts are expected to use reasonable administrative alternatives, such as adjusting schedules to comply with rules.

**Example C**: A district has several teachers for students with speech and language impairment. Caseloads have been assigned so that 2 of the

teachers of students with speech and language impairment have had more than 60 students. The third has 30 students. The district may not make a claim for additional costs under these rules since it has the option of assigning students to teachers of students with speech and language impairment to comply with the new student-teacher ratio.

4. There is a "net increase in necessary costs" as a direct result of implementing the new rules. The "net increase in necessary costs" means the necessary additional costs incurred solely because of the new administrative rules minus cost savings permitted in implementing the revised rules. Districts must review their program options and reconstruct programs in the most cost-effective manner to make a claim under this section.

**Example**: A district can reduce the need for one special education teacher by implementing the revised resource room rule. The district must employ an additional teacher of students with speech and language impairment because of the new rules. In this example, there is not a net increase in necessary costs since salaries saved in the one area offset the costs of employing the teacher of students with speech and language impairment.

#### **Procedures**

These procedures are for making claims for reimbursement under Section 51a(6) of the State School Aid Act for districts impacted by the revised rules. Districts which anticipate, or which have incurred net-increased costs because of implementation of the new rules are urged to identify the claim for MDE approval as soon as possible. This will allow the MDE to rule on the claim and will provide the district with information needed for program planning and budgeting as soon as possible. To the extent possible, claims will be reviewed in the order in which they are received.

#### **Steps to File a Claim**

- 1. The district will review the rule revision and identify any changes that have cost implication.
- 2. The district will review the implementation of program options available to reduce costs. These will include but are not limited to:
  - a. Implementing resource rooms, departmental secondary programs, or making other cost saving changes authorized under the revised rules.
  - b. Planning cooperative programming with other districts or the ISD.
  - c. Reassigning nonresident students to other districts.
- 3. If after preliminary review the district determines there may be net-increased costs, the district will then identify savings created by the rules.

- 4. When costs exceed savings, the district should complete form SE-4747, "Request for Reimbursement for the Net Increase in Necessary Costs for Implementing the July 1, 1987, Special Education Rules."
- 5. Review the potential claim to determine if there are other options for complying with the revised rules without increasing costs. Local districts should do this with the ISD. These options include:
  - a. Identification of other districts which could provide the required program or service.
  - b. Availability of services from the ISD.
  - c. Administrative alternatives such as increasing the age span for students with severe cognitive impairment and severe multiple impairment programs in the ISD Special Education Plan or seeking appropriate waivers or deviation.
- 6. If after consultation with the ISD the local district still anticipates a claim, the ISD will complete form SE-4747 and forward it to the MDE.
- 7. The MDE will review the claim:
  - a. If the costs can be alleviated by an appropriate deviation or waiver, the MDE will help the district process these according to existing criteria.
  - b. Claims that do not meet the criteria will be returned to the district for further analysis. Districts may resubmit with additional information showing the claim meets the criteria.
  - c. A program-fiscal review will be scheduled for districts that meet the criteria. The ISD will be invited to participate. The review will include an in-depth study of prior year operations to establish a cost and program base for determining the amount of the claim. It will include an in-depth review of fiscal records, program assignments, and options.
- 8. There will be a written finding of costs that may be charged to Section 51a(6) of the State School Aid Act and a description of conditions for determining and reporting these costs.
- 9. The MDE will determine a preliminary estimate of costs for the school year. As soon as all claims have been reviewed, the district will receive a preliminary distribution of funds under Section 51a(6). A final adjustment will be made after the cost of the fiscal year. The MDE will provide a form and procedure for reporting final costs.
- 10.Districts that are denied or which disagree with the amount of the Section 51a(6) allocation may appeal the funding to the Director of the Office of Special Education.