

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

GRETCHEN WHITMER
GOVERNOR

MICHAEL F. RICE, Ph.D. STATE SUPERINTENDENT

MEMORANDUM

DATE: July 21, 2021

TO: Section 51a(6) Applicants

FROM: Scott B. Kemmer-Slater, Financial Manager,

Program Finance, Office of Special Education

SUBJECT: Application for Funds under Section 51a(6) of the State School Aid Act

BEKS

for the 2021-22 School Year

The Michigan Department of Education (MDE) is responsible for administering Sections 152 and 162 of the State School Aid Act for 2021-22. Continuing with FY 2021-22, the application for claims under Section 51a(6) is due to the MDE by October 15, 2021. Failure to file the application by this date may result in forfeiture of these funds.

The State Board of Education approved amendments to the special education rules which took effect on July 1, 1987. While the Revised Administrative Rules for Special Education provided more flexibility to school districts in serving students with disabilities, some rules provided more stringent standards. In a few instances, these rules created costs in addition to what the districts would have incurred under the old rules. The Legislature has appropriated funds to reimburse districts for net-increased costs that occurred because of these revisions. These funds have been appropriated in Section 51a(6) of the State School Aid Act.

The criteria and procedures for reviewing claims under Section 51a(6) of the State School Aid Act regarding net-increased costs of implementing the July 1, 1987, Revised Administrative Rules for Special Education and the application (Form SE-4747) for those districts that believe they have a claim based on these criteria is available. The criteria and application are both located on the Section 51a(6) page under the State Aid Information section of the Office of Special Education's Funding webpage.

If you have any questions, please contact JL Purves at PurvesJ@michigan.gov or call the Office of Special Education, Program Finance at 517-241-7081.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – PRESIDENT • PAMELA PUGH – VICE PRESIDENT TIFFANY D. TILLEY – SECRETARY • TOM MCMILLIN – TREASURER JUDITH PRITCHETT – NASBE DELEGATE • ELLEN COGEN LIPTON NIKKI SNYDER • JASON STRAYHORN