
Michigan Department of Education 

Child and Adult Care Food Program 
 

Unlicensed Child Care Providers 
 

The Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) provides a cash reimbursement to 
eligible unlicensed providers for serving nutritious meals and snacks to children while in 

child care in the provider’s home.  Child care homes participate under the sponsorship 
of a family child care home sponsor. 
 

Provider Eligibility 

An unlicensed child care provider must be: 
 Enrolled by the Michigan Department of Human Services (DHS) as a provider caring 

for children in the provider’s home 

 Authorized by DHS to care for subsidy-eligible children related to the provider 
 

Meals served in the provider’s home are eligible for CACFP reimbursement.  Meals 

served in the child’s home are not eligible for reimbursement. 
 

Eligible Children 
Children must be: 

 Related to the provider 
 Not living in the provider’s home  
 Enrolled for CDC assistance 

 Under age 12 (15 if migrant) or any age with a disability requiring child care, as 
long as the majority of children in care are under age 18 

In some cases a provider’s own children are eligible if the provider’s household is 

income-eligible 
 

Reimbursement 

Reimbursement rates are based on the provider’s classification as either a Tier I or  
Tier II home.  A Tier I home is a child care home located in a low income area or whose 
household is low income.  A Tier II home is a child care home not eligible as a Tier I 

home.  Tier II providers may be eligible for Tier I rates for meals and snacks served to 
children from low income families.  
 

The CACFP family child care home sponsor determines the classification of the 

provider’s home. The reimbursement rates for July 1, 2016 – June 30, 2017, are: 
 

Tier Breakfast Lunch/Supper Snack 
I $1.31 $2.46 $0.73 

II $0.48 $1.49 $0.20 
 

A child care home may claim reimbursement for up to two meals and one snack or two 
snacks and one meal, per child per day. 
 

Meal Service 
Meals and snacks must meet CACFP meal pattern requirements.  
 

Record Keeping  

Participating homes are required to keep records such as: 
 Menus 
 Meal counts  

 Daily attendance 
 Child enrollment forms 
 CACFP application and provider/sponsor agreement 

 
  



How to Apply 
Contact a sponsoring organization that services your county: 

 
Association for Child Development 
517-332-7200 

800-234-3287 
Association for Child Development website (http://www.acdkids.org) 
Counties:  All 

 
Camp Fire West Michigan 4C (formerly Kent Regional 4C) 
616-451-8281 

800-448-6995  
Camp Fire West Michigan 4C website (http://www.4cchildcare.org) 
Counties:  Allegan, Barry, Calhoun, Clinton, Eaton, Gratiot, Ingham, Ionia, 

Isabella, Jackson, Kalamazoo, Kent, Lake, Mason, Mecosta, Montcalm, 
Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Osceola, Ottawa, Shiawassee, VanBuren and 
Wexford 

 
Mid-Michigan Child Care Centers Inc. 
989-695-2683 

800-742-3663 
Mid-Michigan Child Care Centers, Inc. website (http://www.midmichigancc.com) 

Counties:  All 
 

For more information: 

 Visit the CACFP website (www.michigan.gov/cacfp)  
 Contact the Michigan Department of Education at 517-373-7391 
 

Non-Discrimination Statement 
In accordance with Federal civil rights law and U.S. Department of Agriculture In 
accordance with Federal civil rights law and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) civil 

rights regulations and policies, the USDA, its Agencies, offices, and employees, and 
institutions participating in or administering USDA programs are prohibited from 
discriminating based on race, color, national origin, sex, disability, age, or reprisal or 

retaliation for prior civil rights activity in any program or activity conducted or funded 
by USDA. Persons with disabilities who require alternative means of communication for 
program information (e.g. Braille, large print, audiotape, American Sign Language, 

etc.), should contact the Agency (State or local) where they applied for benefits.  
Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing or have speech disabilities may contact USDA 
through the Federal Relay Service at (800) 877-8339.  Additionally, program 

information may be made available in languages other than English. 
  
To file a program complaint of discrimination, complete the USDA Program 

Discrimination Complaint Form, (AD-3027) 
(http://www.ascr.usda.gov/complaint_filing_cust.html) online, and at any USDA office, 
or write a letter addressed to USDA and provide in the letter all of the information 

requested in the form. To request a copy of the complaint form, call (866) 632-9992.  
Submit your completed form or letter to USDA by: (1) mail: U.S. Department of 
Agriculture, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, 1400 Independence 

Avenue, SW, Washington, D.C. 20250-9410; (2) fax: (202) 690-7442; or (3) email: 
program.intake@usda.gov.  This institution is an equal opportunity provider. 
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