07/09/2014

JJ4 470 DETENTION
ALTERNATIVES, DETENTION & JAIL

Effective August 1, 2013

Updates Overview

0 JJ4 470 has been updated to accompany the new DHS-2012,
Detention/Jail Placement Exception Request

L

Updates include guidance in the following areas:

o Available alternatives to detention and when to consider an alternative
placement

o

Separation of juvenile and adults when a juvenile is placed in an adult detention
or jail as required by federal law

o

Maintaining placement of a youth in jail or detention that exceeds policy
timeframes with the permission of the local office director

Policy

11 Detention and jail are the most restrictive placements available
and do not provide rehabilitative treatment for juvenile
offenders

o1 Juvenile justice specialists (JJS) must ensure:

o Alternatives to in d ion or jail are id |

o Restrictions on pl; in d ion or jail are foll i when it is necessary to

place a youth in detention or jail




Juvenile Detention Alternatives

An evaluation should be made to determine if replacement is
necessary for the youth's treatment and/or their family and
public safety when:

Out-of-home placement a youth is referred or committed to DHS

The youth has violated a valid court order
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Juvenile Detention Alternatives

The treatment and placement continuum must be considered
beginning with the least restrictive placement for the assigned
risk level

The treatment and placement continuum includes, but is not
limited to:

Judicial warning to juvenile or parent(s) and dismissal of petition

Fines, restitution, community service and/or curfew restrictions

New assessment and/or treatment services to address current offense behaviors
Order for parent(s) to refrain from conduct that might be harmful to the youth
and/or to participate in treatment

In home detention with treatment services

Juvenile Detention Alternatives

In home electronic monitoring with treatment services
Foster or relative home placement with treatment services
Non-secure residential placement with treatment services

Secure resi or hospitalization with treatment services

Secure juvenile detention facility

Adult jail, detention or lockup




Regional Detention Support Services

Regional Detention Support Services (RDSS) provides
alternatives to juvenile detention or adult jail

RDSS services are accessed through Child Welfare Funding
and Juvenile Programs by calling 517-335-6144
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Regional Detention Support Services

Eligibility for RDSS is determined by the county of jurisdiction
and includes:
61 rural counties in Michigan that do not have a secure detention facility

Native American Tribal jurisdictions

County reimbursement rates:
Population of 75,000 or less: the costs of RDSS are 100% reimbursable

Population over 75,000: reimbursement rate is 50%

Home Detention

Youths receiving this service must have a preliminary hearing or
a post-disposition review hearing with a court order
authorizing home detention

The length of home detention for pre-adjudication can be a
maximum of 90 days and for post-adjudication a maximum of
30 days




Transportation

When a secure juvenile detention facility is not available in the
county of jurisdiction, RDSS provides funds for transporters and
attendants to transport a youth:

To pl in one of the approved, secure juvenile detention facilities in
Michigan
To and/or from court to one of the approved, secure juvenile detention facilities

From one of the approved, secure juvenile detention facilities to a final
placement
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Electronic Monitoring (Tether)

May be used 30 days to a maximum of 90 days

This period of time may be extended with a court order and approval by RDSS

Deinstitutionalization of Status Offenders

Status offenses are youth offenses which are against the law
for individuals under the age of 21 and include:

Truancy, curfew violations, incorrigibility, running away, and underage alcohol

Juveniles who have been charged with or who have committed
a status offense must not be placed in a secure juvenile
detention facility, unless the youth:

Committed a violation of a valid court order

Is being held in accordance with the Interstate Compact on Juveniles




Court-Ordered Juvenile Detention

Juvenile detention facilities are not designed for rehabilitation
and therefore should be used only when necessary and for a
limited time

Assigned case workers may recommend juvenile detention for
temporary placement of a youth only when no other placement
can be made within the placement continuum that will keep the
youth and/or the public safe

Detention beyond 30 days:

If a youth is to remain in detention for more than 30 calendar days, approval
must be obtained from the local office director or designee
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Court-Ordered Juvenile Detention

The court may order a youth placed in juvenile detention if the
court finds probable cause to believe the juvenile committed
the offense, and one or more of the following are true:

The offense alleged is so setious that release would endanger the public safety,
or

The juvenile is charged with an offense that would be a felony if committed by
an adult and will likely commit another offense pending trial, if released, and
Another petition is pending against the juvenile

The juvenile is on probation or has a prior adjudication, but was not under jurisdiction

when apprehended

Court-Ordered Juvenile Detention

There is a substantial likelihood that if the juvenile is released to the parent,
guardian or legal custodian, with or without conditions, the juvenile will fail to
appear at the next hearing

The home conditions of the juvenile make detention necessary

The juvenile has failed to remain in a detention facility or nonsecure facility or
placement in violation of a valid court order




Jail, Adult Detention or Lockup

Delinquent youth under age 17 years taken into custody or
detained must not be confined in any:

Police station

Lockup

Jail

Prison

Delinquent youth under 17 years of age taken into custody
must not be transported with or be permitted to associate with
adult inmates
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Jail, Adult Detention or Lockup

A court may order that a delinquent youth age 15 years or
older be placed in jail or another detention facility for adults,
separated from adults by both sight and sound

The court must determine that the youth is a menace to other
delinquent youth or may not otherwise be safely detained

Violations

Case managers who have information that a juvenile is placed
in secure detention for a status offense or in a jail, adult
detention, or lockup in violation of the previous requirements
must report the suspected violation to Child Welfare and
Juvenile Programs via email at juvenile-justice-
policy@michigan.gov and include as much of the following
information as possible:

Name of juvenile

Date of birth

Name of secure detention facility, jail, adult detention, or lockup facility

Length of stay

Status or criminal offense type

Date of status or criminal offense




Length of Time

Beyond 5 working days:
Jail may not be used for any delinquent youth beyond 5 working days without
the approval of the local office director or designee

The request for approval must be completed using the DHS-2012, Detention/Jail
Placement Exception Request

Beyond 30 days:
Detention of a youth in jail or other detention facilities for adults must be limited
to 30 days unless longer detention is needed for the service of process
A court may place a youth in a county jail if the case is to be tried in the same
manner as an adult and the court has determined that there is probable cause
to believe the delinquent youth committed the offense
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Additional Information

For more details about the information in this presentation,
please reference JJ4 470, Detention Alternatives, Detention
and Jail




