EXECUTIVE ORDERS, DIRECTIVES,
& MDHHS EPIDEMIC ORDERS
QUICK SHEET FOR EMS

Michigan.gov/Coronavirus

Which Orders and Directives Apply to MCAs, EMS Agencies, Education Programs, and
Personnel?

e 10/9/2020 MDHHS Emergency Order - Gathering Prohibition and Face Covering Order

o Requires face coverings when in a shared space with others - e.g. same room or
vehicle.
Social distancing - those who are at work must stay six feet apart whenever feasible.
Indoors gatherings have a limited attendance of 20 persons per 1,000 square feet- e.g.
trainings or scheduled gatherings.

o Outdoor gatherings have a limited attendance of 100 persons, e.g. emergency
exercises.

o Require daily entry self-screening by employees.
Workers who are required to quarantine or isolate cannot be near others at work.
Violations may be punished by a civil fine of up to $1000 for each violation or day that a
violation continues, and/or as a misdemeanor.

e Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Administration Workplace Guidelines for Employers
o Licensed EMS Agencies and MCAs that require individuals to report to work must:
= Have a COVID-19 preparedness and response plan that is available to
employees, unions (if applicable), and customers/patients. EMS Agencies must
provide a copy upon request to the Division of EMS & Trauma. For a checklist to
guide development of a COVID-19 Response Plan, click here: Checklist.
= Have one or more worksite supervisors that implement, monitor, and report on
the COVID-19 plan.
= Provide COVID-19 training to employees that covers the following:
= Infection control practices
= Proper use of personal protective equipment
= Steps to take to notify the workplace of any symptoms of COVID-19 or a
suspected confirmed diagnosis
= How to report unsafe working or education program conditions
= Place posters in the languages common in the employee population as outlined
in the order. Example posters may be found here.
= Notify, disinfect, and quarantine as necessary when a confirmed COVID-19 case
is identified.
e Executive Directive 2020-08 - COVID-19 and enforcement by state departments and agencies
o The Department must ensure that enforcement of COVID-19 related laws receive
priority.
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http://www.michigan.gov/Coronavirus
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/leo/Workplace_Guidelines_Factsheet-Employers_REV_692368_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/leo/Workplace_Guidelines-Reopening_Checklist_692021_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/leo/0,5863,7-336-100207_101270---,00.html
https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Flnks.gd%2Fl%2FeyJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiJ9..KeiDLJhLuiD_bl3ylDrkSZyteAcLpW8ZfvpWAgrV7t8%2Fs%2F691751123%2Fbr%2F81948822120-l&data=02%7C01%7Cbergquiste%40michigan.gov%7C0ec9634e5cd24a8d5b6008d8397efdf3%7Cd5fb7087377742ad966a892ef47225d1%7C0%7C0%7C637322564885926843&sdata=vAAu2zdul9TQjHyqJEqwSsJSazbPK%2BcjN8va0MdNJmc%3D&reserved=0

o Non-compliance with COVID-19 executive orders or epidemic orders are
presumptive evidence of a public health hazard.

Frequently Asked Questions

EMS Providers
Are providers required to wear a mask while at the station?

Providers are required to wear a mask when in a shared space with others. Providers are not
required to wear a mask in a closed room by themselves, such as when showering or sleeping.

Are providers required to wear masks while in the ambulance or rescue vehicle but not treating
patients?

Providers are always required to wear a mask while in all licensed vehicles with others, except as
provided in MDHHS Emergency Order - Gathering Prohibition and Mask Order.

Are providers required to wear a mask while driving while your partner is attending to a patient in
the back?

Providers are always required to wear a mask when a patient is involved, regardless of role,
according to EMS protocol 14-5.

Are providers required to wear a mask while on scene outside?
Providers are required to wear a mask on any emergency call.
Are providers required to wear a mask out in public?

While in the capacity of an EMS provider (in uniform or getting out of a licensed vehicle), providers
are required to wear a mask in shared indoor spaces and outside if in a shared space others.

EMS Education Programs

Are all staff and students required to wear a face covering the entire time they are at school?

All staff and students are required to wear a face covering at all times, except as provided in
MDHHS Emergency Order - Gathering Prohibition and Mask Order.

Is the school responsible for supplying students with personal protection equipment for clinical
rotations?

The school is required to supply PPE to students.

How often does training equipment need to be disinfected?
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https://www.michigan.gov/documents/coronavirus/MDHHS_epidemic_order_-_Gatherings_masks_bars_sports_-_FINAL_signed_704740_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdhhs/14.05_nCoV_Personal_Protection_and_Decon_Update_4.23.20_688747_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/coronavirus/MDHHS_epidemic_order_-_Gatherings_masks_bars_sports_-_FINAL_signed_704740_7.pdf

After each use by a student or staff. Follow CDC guidelines for disinfecting procedures.

Can we send a student home if they refuse to wear a face covering?
Yes. Follow your institute’s policy for violation of student conduct.
Could our school lose its approval if we choose not to follow the Executive Orders or Directives?

Yes. Please see the information posted on page 1 of this document.

Enforcement

When are these orders applicable?
e Atall times.

What should someone do if they know a licensed EMS agency, Education Program, MCA, or

Personnel is not complying?

e |f alicensed EMS agency, Education Program, MCA, or Personnel is violating an order unrelated
to a patient, please relate the specifics of the incident to MDHHS-BETP-EMS-
Complaints@Michigan.gov or completely fill out and submit an allegation/complaint form.

What could happen if | choose to not comply?

e EMS Providers & Agencies: the Department will suspend the license on an emergency basis,
under Section 92 of the Administrative Procedures Act of 1969, 1969 PA 306, as amended, MCL
24.292(2). An emergency order suspending license becomes effective on the date the order is
received. The MCA may also take action to remove privileges to practice.

e Education Programs or Courses: the Department may take action to suspend the approval of
the course or program.

e MCAs: the Department may take action to suspend the authority of the MCA.

e Violations may also be punished by a civil fine of up to $1000, and/or may be charged with a
misdemeanor.
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