Office of Recovery Oriented Systems of Care (OROSC) Frequently Asked Questions and Answers Regarding the Certified Peer Recovery Coach Credentialing January 17, 2018

- Do I have to provide my certificate and application by January 1, 2018 to be grand parented in? No, there is not a deadline for submitting your certificate and application.
- What are the Requirements to become a Certified Peer Recovery Coach and who can apply? Individuals must meet the Medicaid Policy requirements 17-35 which includes:
 - Be at least 18 years of age;
 - Have two continuous years in recovery from addiction(s) with experience in navigating treatment services and/or prevention;
 - Share their recovery story as a tool in helping others;
 - Experience receiving publicly-funded treatment and recovery services for addiction(s);
 - Be employed at least 10 hours per week by a licensed Substance Use Disorder Treatment Organization, a PIHP, a Community Mental Health Services Program, or another organization under contract to one or more of the forgoing organizations that provides substance abuse treatment and/or recovery support services; and
 - o Attend and successfully complete the MDHHS Peer Recovery Coach training and certification
- Do I need to have experience receiving publicly-funded treatment and recovery services for addiction(s) to be grand parented in?

Yes, this is Medicaid Policy requirement 17-35 and applies to both individuals previously certified and those that would like to become Certified Peer Recovery Coaches through Michigan Department of Health and Human Services

- What if my Michigan Certification Board for Addictions Professionals (MCBAP) is expired?
 If your MCBAP certification is expired prior to Jan 1, 2018, you will need to take the MDHHS Certified
 Peer Recovery Coach training to become a Michigan Certified Peer Recovery Coach.
- If I have been in long term recovery, attended AA meetings and/or other support groups and received private services do I qualify?

No, individuals must have received publicly-funded treatment and recovery services for addiction(s)

If I do not meet the state requirements can I still work as a peer recovery coach?

Yes, the certification you have from CCAR, MCBAP or Genesee is recognized by these certifying bodies. If Individuals are working and do not meet the Medicaid requirements for state certification, the agency can use H0015 for Substance Use Disorder Outpatient Care and/or T1012 Recovery Supports for encounter coding. The coding is used for funding sources under Medicaid OP Care, Intensive OP and Recovery Support Services and Healthy Michigan. These are listed in table 12.1.b. We encourage regions/agencies to continue to offer the CCAR training for staff and community members funded by the Substance Abuse Block Grant (SABG) and Public Act 2 (PA2). The intent is not to replace what was a community investment that educated a broader group of individuals. Information on coding requirements can be found at:

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdhhs/MHCodeChart_554443_7.pdf