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FARMWORKER
LEGAL SERVICES (“FLS")

FAQS
Who is eligible for our legal services?
Low income farmworkers or immediate family members.

Do you charge for legal services?
No! Our office is a non-profit law office.

How can I ask for legal help?

Call the FLS office toll-free at 1-800-968-4046. You can also visit our office or you can
speak to one of our representatives when he or she visits your community. We
conduct outreach at migrant camps, community meetings, and other farmworker-
focused events across the state of Michigan. All staff speak Spanish.

I live far from your office. Can you still help me?

Yes. We represent farmworkers throughout the state of Michigan. Just call our office
and we may be able to start a case for you.

When can I call your office?

Our office is open Monday through Friday from 9:00am to 5:00 pm. If you call us
outside of these hours, please leave a message and contact information on our
voicemail. We will return your call as soon as we can.



Who does FLS serve?

49,000 migrant and seasonal farmworkers in Michigan,
employed in field agriculture, nursery/greenhouse, and food
processing.

94,000 farmworkers with accompanying non-farmworker
household members.

42,000+ farmworker children and youths aged 0-19.
28,000 farmworker children under 13.
12,000 farmworker children under 5.




Legal Concerns of
Migrant & Seasonal Farmworkers

Wage Theft (Sub-Minimum Wages or Unpaid Wages)
Labor Camp Conditions

Health & Environmental Justice (Field Sanitation, Pesticides)
Discrimination & Harassment

H2A Job Protections

Access to Driver Licenses & Vital Documents

Right to Unemployment Benefits

Health Care, Medicaid or Medicare

Immigration Concerns



Employment- Payment

Farmworkers may be paid at “piece rate” or at an hourly wage.

Because Michigan’s minimum wage of $8.50/hour is higher than
the federal minimum wage ($7.25 per hour), Michigan's
minimum wage controls

Piece rate

If paid by the piece (bucket, truckload, number of trees
planted, etc.) — you still MUST earn at least as much as you
would earn if you had been paid by your hourly wage rate.

Workers must know how many hours they worked in order to
compare their piece rate to the minimum hourly wage.

YOUR EMPLOYER MIUST PAY YOU THE HIGHER OF THE MINIMUM WAGE
OR YOUR PIECE RATE EARNINGS. (CAN'T PICK AND CHOOSE FROM
WEEK TO WEEK.)



Employment- Payment

Examples:
In August 2016 Juan's pie

ce rate for picking

blueberries was forty cents ($.40) a pound.

One week he picked 750
blueberries. Juan was pai

oounds of
d for all his buckets

of blueberries and earnec

$300.00 for the

week (750 x $.40 = $300.00).

Elena worked for the sam

e crew leader In

different fields. Elena picked 1000 pounds of

blueberries that week. Ele
(1000 x $0.40 = $400).

na was paid $400



WHAT DO YOU THINK?

Juan worked 45 hours.
He should have received 45 x $8.15 = $382.50.

He was underpaid by $82.50.

What should Elena receive? (remember: she received $400)

Elena also worked 45 hours.
She should also have received $382.50.

Since she was paid $400, she was not paid less than the minimum wage that
week.

How many blueberries would you need to pick per hour at 40 cents per
pound to earn the minimum wage in 2016? In 2015 when the minimum

wage was $8.15?

2016: $8.50/5.40 = 21.25 pounds per hour in 2016.
2015: $8.15/5.40 = 20.375. Over 20 pounds per hour in 2015



EMPLOYMENT - PAY RECORDS
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Employment- Records

ALL WORKERS SHOULD MAINTAIN THEIR OWN RECORDS OF:
Name of employer and address of work location (if no address, use landmarks)
Hours worked
Wages earned and wages paid— how much and when
Any incidents occurring at work — personal injuries, sick days
Meetings or conversations with employer or supervisor(s)

Days taken off of work
ALL WORKERS SHOULD KEEP:
Copies of their job applications
Copies of their working arrangement/contract
Paystubs
Rental or housing agreements

T

D Apply the “Just in Case” /”Por Si Acaso” Rule: Just in case a
problem arises, keep everything the employer gives you and
ask for copies of whatever you are asked to sign.



Employment - Records
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What are your rights when your job
ends?

Examples:

You live in a migrant camp & are laid off or quit
working for camp owner. Grower tells you that your
family must leave the camp immediately (or within
days) . ..

Or the boss says that you won't receive your last
paycheck until after you move out of the camp . ..

Sometimes the owner may threaten to have the
police remove you or turn off your utilities, or
changes the locks. ..



What are your rights when your job
ends?

You cannot be forced to leave migrant camp UNLESS owner
has a court order signed by a judge to evict you and your
family. Employer cannot evict you otherwise!

Employer cannot withhold a paycheck to force you to leave -
if work as hand-harvester, must be paid within 1 day (if
fired/laid off) or 3 days (if quit) after your last day of work.

"At-will” employment means you can be fired or laid off
without any reason, BUT you cannot be fired because you
complained about your work, housing, or wage conditions.




Housing — basic rights

2 Nondiscrimination-

o Itis illegal to discriminate on the basis of:

-1 Race, religion, national origin, color, sex, height, weight,
marital or family status, and age

o Proper Eviction Procedure

2 Common violations:
21 Evictions through threats
- Employers who withhold paychecks until workers move out



Housing — basic rights

Health and Safety Standards

Common Health & Safety Violations:
Lack of screens
Drainage problems
Structural problems
Lack of bed frames
Exposed electrical wires
Overflowing pit toilets
Overflowing garbage
Rodents, insects
Ventilation Problems
Overcrowding

Housing with fewer than 5 migrant farmworkers is required to be
inspected (MIOSHA & DOL rules)

Any housing with 5 or more migratory/agricultural workers should

have a license pOSted. (OSHA “State Plan” (1974075) pledges that the State of Michigan will
“conduct field inspections at all migrant labor camps on a statewide basis...annually before the
agricultural labor season starts to insure that all camps meet minimum standards.”)



Reporting workplace discrimination

and harassment
S




Where to seek help

Federal Law: The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity
Commission (“EEOC")

If a worker suffers discrimination at the workplace based on his or her
national origin, color, race, religion, gender, age, or disability, he or she
may have a claim of discrimination under federal laws.

Federal laws also protects workers from retaliation — negative action
taken by the employer because the employee filed a charge or because
they complained about the discrimination.

The EEOC enforces the provisions of the Title VII. Michigan’s
EEOC office is located in Detroit.

A worker may file his or her complaint directly with an EEOC
investigator, but must do so within 300 days of the discriminatory
or retaliatory incident.

1-800-669-4000
WWW.ee0C.govV



Where to seek help (continued)

State law: The Michigan Department of Civil Rights

In addition to the federal protections of religion, color, national origin,
gender, age, and disability, Michigan’s Elliott-Larsen Civil Rights Act also
protects employees from discrimination based on height, weight, or
marital status (e.g., pregnancy).

A worker may file his or her complaint directly with an EEOC investigator,
but must do so within 180 days of the discriminatory or retaliatory
incident.

1-800-482-3604
http://www.michigan.gov/mdcr (can file a complaint online)

The worker may also choose to seek legal counsel before filing a complaint.
Farmworker Legal Services: 1-800-968-4046
Migrant Legal Aid: 1-800-418-3390

+ (= | NOTE the three “R"s - WORKERS SHOULD REJECT (THE BEHAVIOR), RECORD (WHAT
HAPPENED), & REPORT (SEEK HELP)!


http://www.michigan.gov/mdcr

Workplace Sexual Assault & Harassment
(WSAH) - a form of gender discrimination

Nearly 200 complaints by female farmworkers have been made to the U.S.
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) over the past 15 years.
But Human Rights Watch notes that because many women are too afraid to
speak out, actual numbers of assaults in the fields are hard to

ascertain. WHY?

Aggressor may be the one in charge of continuing the victim's
employment

Lack of requlation & standards among supervisors
Isolation

Ignorance of legal rights



What is Sexual Harassment (under the law)?

Basic definition of WSAH: any physical or verbal conduct of a sexual
nature that indicates or implies that the acceptance or denial of the
conduct will impact the employee’s (victim’s) job.

Definition of workplace: any location where the employer permits
the employee to work.

The law prohibits retaliation by the aggressor oremployer — a change
in working conditions as a result of rejecting or complaining against
the harassment.

Examples:

Employee feels he/she has to accept the conduct in order to get a
job, receive a raise, or keep hours or their position.

The conduct’s effect is to block an employee’s work or create a
hostile, offensive, or threatening work environment.



What can we do about WSAH?

Outreach: listen well, judge not, provide assistance and/or referrals. Remind workers to keep
records!!

General Remedies: civil, administrative, criminal — call FLS for more information

Immigration remedies: For victims of WSAH who have undocumented status: you can seek a U Visa,
which is available to victims of certain crimes who are currently assisting or have previously assisted
law enforcement in the investigation or prosecution of a crime, or who are likely to be helpful in the
investigation or prosecution of criminal activity.

NO actual arrest or conviction of the perpetrator is required
Perpetrator’s immigration status is irrelevant

Family members of victim may apply through derivative status

PLEASE NOTE: Generally, DEADLINES APPLY to any remedy. Don’t wait to seek help!
E.g. if a case involves discrimination or retaliation, you must file within specific deadlines:

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission: Must file within 300 days of the
discrimination or retaliatory treatment

Michigan Department of Civil Rights: Must file 180 days of the discrimination or retaliatory
treatment

7 ( & | NOTE the three “R"s - WORKERS SHOULD REJECT (THE BEHAVIOR), RECORD (WHAT
HAPPENED), & REPORT (SEEK HELP)!



The H-2A Program — what is it?

Don’t think of these jobs as “H2A jobs”. They are just “jobs” — they could
be filled by U.S. workers, but could ultimately be filled by foreign workers.

In 2015, fewer than 2,400 Michigan farmworker positions were filled by
H2A workers. As of June 8, 2016, over 2,800 potential H2A positions were
posted.

In 1986, Congress created the agricultural guest worker “H-2A" Program as
part of the Immigration Reform and Control Act (IRCA).

The H-2A program is a federal program under the purview of the U.S.
Department of Labor (“USDOL") that allows employers to bring temporary
guest workers ("H-2A workers”) into the United States for agricultural work
that lasts 10 months or less.

However, to import an agricultural guest worker under the H-2A program,
both the employer and the foreign national must meet certain
requirements . ..



The H-2A Program — how does it affect
migrant & seasonal farmworkers?

Before being able to import H-2A guest workers, employers must certify
to the U.S. Department of Labor (USDOL) in its application that the
guest worker positions sought to be created will not adversely
affect domestic workers. To do this, an employer must show:

NEED - the employer must demonstrate there aren't sufficient
domestic farmworkers who are able, available, willing, & qualified to
perform the labor involved.

WAGES - the employer must also show that employing a guestworker
will not adversely affect the wages and working conditions of workers in
the U.S. similarly employed.

This is achieved by providing the highest of certain government-set wage rates to
BOTH the H-2A worker AND the U.S. worker.



The H-2A Program — how does it affect
migrant and seasonal farmworkers?

BENEFITS — employer must provide certain benefits to ALL PROSPECTIVE
WORKERS, whether foreign or domestic.

WORK GUARANTEE - employer must assure the USDOL that they will follow
the “50 Percent Rule.”

EXAMPLE: The employer says that the job for which he seeks H-2A workers will last
from May 1 to August 1.

For a qualified U.S. worker to be hired within the 50 percent
contract period, he/she must apply on or before July 1 — the
"halfway point” in the contract period.

IN SUM: The H-2A Program is a “Plan B” for employers when they
cannot find U.S. workers who are qualified, available, and willing to do
the same job that an H2-A worker would do. U.S. workers must always be
the first choice for employers’ labor needs.



Benefits & rights of all those working in
an H-2A contract

Federal law & U.S. Department of Labor regulations provide the same benefits
and rights to foreign and U.S. workers who work under an H-2A contract:

a specified wage — $12.02 in Michigan in 2016

free housing in good condition in compliance with federal regulations

worker’s compensation for medical costs and payment for lost time from
work & for permanent injury

Guaranteed employment for seventy-five percent of the hours specified in
the work contract

travel reimbursement as soon as the worker finishes 50% of contract
period (and travel reimbursement home if worker stays on job until end of
contract); and

be protected by health and safety regulations

Workers who have an H-2A contract have their rights and responsibilities /isted

! TP i/'n the job order/contract they must receive at the time of hire. It must be
provided to them in their own /language and explained to them by their
employer before starting work.




Realities of the H-2A program

Wage theft

Displacement by H-2A
workers

Discrimination — race,
gender, age, etc.

Unsafe & unsanitary
working conditions

Unhealthy housing
conditions

Retaliation

Wage Theft

Unsafe & unsanitary working
conditions

Unhealthy housing conditions
Visa Fraud

Fraud in Foreign Labor
Contracting

Human trafficking

Fear of not being re-hired
encourages silence

Often uncompensated for work-
related injuries due to state-to-
state worker's compensation
rules

Retaliation



Sharing H2A Information

71 FLS Compilation of Michigan posted positions (English &
Spanish): www.farmworkerlaw.org/h2a

-1 US Dept of Labor public job registry: https://icert.doleta.gov/



http://www.farmworkerlaw.org/h2a
https://icert.doleta.gov/

Driving in Michigan

Michigan Law: To obtain a driver’s license or state
ID card, the applicant must be a U.S. citizen or be
“legally present”

Brief History

Pre-2008: no immigration status requirement in the law
or in policy

2008: MI Atty General opinion: LPR’s

2009: Sec of State: limited licenses to citizens and LPR’s
(excluded all others here legally)

2009: legislature changed law: “legally present”



State Laws on Driver’s Licenses for Immigrants | July 2015

&laska

State law offers access to state driver's licenses,
regardless of immigration status.

KEY
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IMMIGRATION

el Law CEMTER




Driving in Michigan

Now: those who cannot prove citizenship or legal
immigration status cannot get licenses or state ID
cards

Secretary of State has no discretion; the state
legislature would have to change state law in order
for licenses to be issued to immigrants without legal
status



Driving in Michigan

Results for immigrants w /o legal status
They don’t drive
They drive without a license
They don’t buy car insurance

They aren’t tested on rules of the road

Increased risk of arrest by police, detention by

ICE

Lack of official identification



Driving in Michigan

Drivers who have a license issued by their home country can drive legally in
Michigan.

Over 100 countries (including USA) have signed two treaties. See
https: //www.michigan.gov/documents /reciprocity chart 20508 7.pdf

Due to Public Act 138 of 2016, citizens of other countries (not part of
the treaties) can drive in Michigan with their foreign licenses IF they have
legal presence.

All drivers with foreign licenses should carry translations.

Beware of “International Drivers Licenses” — They Don’t Actually Exist!

MI State Police: hitp://www.farmworkerlaw.org/msp-idp

Federal Trade Commission: http://www.farmworkerlaw.org /ftc-idp



https://www.michigan.gov/documents/reciprocity_chart_20508_7.pdf
http://www.farmworkerlaw.org/msp-idp
http://www.farmworkerlaw.org/ftc-idp

Unemployment Benefits

You may be eligible for benefits if:
You are authorized to work in the U.S.
Have earned enough income in the last 18 months
Are able and available to work

You did not voluntarily quit your last job without good
cause attributable to your employer

Apply online at
https: / /miwam.unemployment.state.mi.us/ or by

phone at 1-866-500-0017



https://miwam.unemployment.state.mi.us/

Unemployment Benefits

Two possible deadlines

10 days to respond to an inquiry questionnaire from
the Unemployment Insurance Agency

30 days to protest with a determination that you
disagree with.

Call FLS immediately if you receive a letter from

Unemployment that you do not understand or that
you disagree with.



Unemployment Benefits

Common problems
Worker says he was laid off; employer says he quit.

Agency accused the worker of committing fraud during the
application process — quadruple penalties!

Employer accuses the worker of committing “misconduct”.
Poor work performance should not be a reason to be found
ineligible for unemployment.

Agency denies the worker’s application because the
employer received a “seasonal” designation from the
Agency

Count on the Agency believing the employer at first.



FOR FURTHER INFORMATION

Legal Services

FARMWORKER LEGAL SERVICES

WWW.FARMWORKERLAW.ORG
Danny Inquilla, Attorney

inquilla@lsscm.org



