
Information Booklet
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
Read this booklet before you sign the Assistance Application.

Healthcare Coverage

Food Assistance Program (FAP)

Child Development + Care (CDC)

State Emergency Relief (SER)

Cash Assistance
Family Independence Program (FIP)

Refugee Cash Assistance (RCA)

State Disability Assistance (SDA)

Provides benefits to buy or grow food.

Helps pay for childcare.

Provides help or assistance for emergency 
situations.

For pregnant women or families with children.

For people admitted to the U.S. as refugees 
or someone treated as a refugee.

For adults with disabilities, live-in caretakers, 
or people in a special living arrangement.

Standard processing: within 45-90 days.

Expedited processing: within 7 days.

Standard processing: within 30 days.

Standard processing: within 10 days.

Standard processing: within 45 days.

Standard processing: within 30 days.

Standard processing: within 60 days.

Standard processing: within 30 days.



The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 
(MDHHS) does not discriminate against any individual or 
group because of race, religion, age, national origin, color, 
height, weight, marital status, genetic information, sex, 
sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, political 
beliefs or disability. 

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 
(MDHHS) no discrimina contra ningún individuo o grupo 
a causa de su raza, religión, edad, origen nacional, color 
de piel, estatura, peso, estado matrimonial, información 
genética, sexo, orientación sexual, identidad de sexo o 
expresión, creencias políticas o incapacidad.

 Michigan Department of Health لن تمييز ادارة الخدمات الصحية و الانسانية لولاية ميشيغان 
and Human Services (MDHHS)1 ضد أي فرد أو مجموعة بسبب العرق، أو الديانة، أو العمر، أو 

الأصل الوطني، أو اللون، أو الطول، أو الوزن، أو الحالة الزوجية، أو المعلومات الجينية، أو الجنس، أو 
التوجه الجنسي ،أوالهوية الجنسية أو التعبير، أو المعتقدات السياسية، أو الإعاقة.



3MDHHS-1171-INFO (Rev. 10-20)

Table of Contents

Program Details

Healthcare

Food

Cash

Child Care

SER

Your Responsibilities

Your Rights

Resources

Privacy Details

Penalties

4

12

18

24

28

30

34

38

41

43



MDHHS-1171-INFO (Rev. 10-20)4

Healthcare Coverage

Overview
Healthcare coverage provides help to pay for the costs of: 

•	 Affordable private health insurance plans that offer 
comprehensive coverage.

•	 A new tax credit that can immediately help pay premiums for 
health coverage.

•	 Free or low-cost insurance from Medicaid, Healthy Michigan Plan, 
or MIChild (Children’s Health Insurance Program).

Even if you have insurance, there might be a program with better 
coverage or lower costs. 
 
Did you consume water from the Flint Water System and live, work or 
receive childcare or education at an address that was served by the 
Flint Water System from April 2014 through present day? If yes, you 
may wish to apply for health care coverage at  
www.michigan.gov/mibridges or request a DCH-1426, Application for 
Health Coverage & Help Paying Costs.
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Healthcare Coverage (Continued)

Who is eligible?
In Michigan, there are many healthcare programs available to 
children, adults, and families. 

•	 Use the application to apply for anyone in your family.

•	 Apply even if you or your child has health coverage. You could be 
eligible for lower-cost or free coverage.

•	 Families that include immigrants can apply. You can apply for 
your child even if you aren’t eligible for coverage. Applying won’t 
affect your eligible immigration status or chances of becoming a 
permanent resident or citizen.

To be eligible for coverage, parents requesting healthcare coverage 
for themselves must provide proof that the children have credible 
coverage, even if not applying for the children. Credible coverage is 
health insurance coverage under any of the following: a group health 
plan; individual health insurance; student health insurance; Medicare; 
Medicaid; CHAMPUS and TRICARE; the Federal Employees Health 
Benefits Program; Indian Health Service, the Peace Corps; public 
health plan (any plan established or maintained by a state, the United 
States government or a foreign country); Children’s Health Insurance 
Program (CHIP); or, a state health insurance high risk pool.
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Who do I need to include on the application?
Complete the application for every person in your family and 
household, even if the person has health coverage already. The 
information in this application helps us make sure everyone gets the 
best coverage they can.  
 
If an adult is applying for coverage, include all of these people (even if 
they aren’t applying for health care coverage themselves):

•	 Any spouse.

•	 Any son or daughter under age 21 they live with, including 
stepchildren.

•	 Any other person on the same federal income tax return (including 
any children over age 21 that are claimed on a parent’s tax return). 
You don’t need to file taxes to get health coverage.

If a youth or child under age 21 is applying for coverage, include all 
of these people (even if they aren’t applying for health coverage 
themselves):

•	 Any parent (or stepparent) they live with.

•	 Any sibling they live with.

•	 Any son or daughter they live with, including stepchildren.

•	 Any other person on the same federal income tax return. You don’t 
need to file taxes to get health coverage.

To get help with your application, visit our website:  
www.michigan.gov/mibridges or call the application help line at  
855-276-4627. You can also call the Beneficiary Help Line at  
800-642-3195 or TTY 866-501-5656. 
 
To purchase insurance through the Marketplace visit:  
www.healthcare.gov.

Healthcare Coverage (Continued)
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How are benefits calculated?
The amount of assistance or type of program you qualify for is based 
on the number of people in your family and their incomes. If you don’t 
include someone, even if they already have health coverage, your 
eligibility could be affected. 

 

What happens next?
If you don’t have all the information we ask for, sign and submit your 
application anyway. We’ll follow up with you within 1-2 weeks. You’ll 
get instructions on the next steps to complete your health coverage.  
If you don’t hear from us, call our application help line at  
855-276-4627 or 800-642-3195. Filling out an application doesn’t 
mean you have to buy health coverage. 
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Additional program policies 
 
Renewal of coverage in future years

To make it easier to determine your eligibility for help paying 
for health coverage in future years, you can agree to allow the 
Marketplace and the state of Michigan to use income data, including 
information from tax returns. The Marketplace and the state of 
Michigan will send you a notice and let you make any changes. You 
can opt out at any time. 
 
If anyone on this application is eligible for Medicaid, Healthy 
Michigan Plan, or MIChild

You are giving MDHHS the rights to pursue and get any money from 
other health insurance, legal settlements, or other third parties. 
You are also giving MDHHS the rights to get medical support from 
a spouse or parent. If you believe getting medical support from 
a spouse or parent will harm you or your child, tell your MDHHS 
specialist. You may have a good cause reason to not help with your 
case.

To claim good cause, tell your MDHHS specialist now. 
 
Medicaid estate recovery (MA - Long Term Care (LTC))

You understand that upon your death MDHHS has the legal right 
to seek recovery from your estate for services paid by Medicaid 
(including Healthy Michigan Plan). This means that some or all of your 
estate may be recovered. MDHHS will not seek to recover against the 
estate while there is a legal surviving spouse or a legal surviving child 
who is under the age of 21, or blind, or disabled. An estate consists of 
real and personal property. If you have received an asset disregard 
due to a long-term care partnership policy, the amount disregarded 
will be subtracted from the amount sought under Estate Recovery. In 
these situations, Estate Recovery applies to all assets whether they 
are subject to probate administration or not. Estate Recovery only 
applies to certain Medicaid and Healthy Michigan Plan recipients 
who received services after the effective date of the estate recovery 
statute. MDHHS may agree not to pursue recovery if an undue 
hardship exists.

Healthcare Coverage (Continued)
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An application must be submitted to determine if the applicant 
qualifies for an undue hardship waiver. Undue hardship waivers are 
temporary. For further information regarding Estate Recovery or to 
request an undue hardship application, call 800-642-3195.  
 
Coordination of health care programs and providers (MA)

The State’s medical assistance program relies on a large number 
of managed care health programs, mental health and substance 
abuse programs, and private providers to deliver quality care to 
individuals like you. To make sure you receive a high level of care and 
that your benefits are coordinated, providers in the program may 
share information about your care (or your child or ward) with other 
providers in the program when such information and consultation are 
clinically needed. 
 
Information about you, your child, or ward (MA)

Necessary information may be shared between health plans and 
programs in which you participate. Health plans, programs, and 
providers that deliver healthcare to you may share necessary 
information in order to manage and coordinate health care and 
benefits. This information may include, when applicable, information 
relative to HIV, AIDS, AIDS-related complex (ARC) or other 
communicable diseases, information about behavioral or mental 
health services, and referral or treatment for alcohol and drug abuse 
as permitted by 42 CFR Part 2. 
 
Your right to appeal

If you think the Health Insurance Marketplace or Medicaid, Healthy 
Michigan Plan or MIChild has made a mistake, you can appeal its 
decision. To appeal means to tell someone at the Health Insurance 
Marketplace, Medicaid, Healthy Michigan Plan, or MIChild that you 
think the action is wrong, and ask for a fair review of the action. 
Contact the Marketplace at 800-318-2596 or see “Resources” for 
details on how to request a hearing.
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Healthy Michigan Plan Definitions and Information

Medically Frail – I am medically frail due to one or more of the 
following:

•	 	I have a physical, mental, or emotional condition that limits a daily activity, like 
bathing

•	 I have a physical, intellectual, or developmental disability that makes it hard 
to do daily living activities

•	 I have a physical, mental, or emotional condition that needs to be checked 
often

•	 I have a disability based on Social Security criteria (SSDI)

•	 I have a chronic substance use disorder (SUD)

•	 I have a serious and complex medical condition, or special medical needs

•	 I am in a nursing home, hospice, or get home help services

•	 I am homeless

•	 I am a survivor of domestic violence

Healthcare Coverage (Continued)
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Food Assistance Program (FAP)

Overview
FAP provides benefits to buy or grow food for your household.

Who is eligible?
You may qualify for the food assistance program if you have low 
income and $15,000 or less in assets.

Expedited Food Assistance: Your household may qualify for 7 day 
processing of your FAP application if:

•	 Your monthly income (before taxes) is less than $150, and you have 
$100 or less in cash/accounts right now; or

•	 Your household’s combined monthly income (before taxes) and 
cash/accounts are less than your household’s combined monthly 
rent/mortgage and utilities; or

•	 You are a migrant or seasonal farmworker whose income has 
stopped, and you have $100 or less in cash/accounts right now.

If you qualify for 7 day processing, you must participate in an 
interview, provide proof of your identity, and complete the entire 
application.  
 
To continue receiving food assistance benefits, you will be asked to 
provide proof of other information (like income, residency, etc.) within 
30 days. If you provide the proof when you apply, you may be given a 
longer food assistance benefit period. 
 
Most FAP interviews are held by telephone. However, you may request 
an in-person interview. If you are also applying for cash assistance, 
you may be scheduled for an in-person interview.
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How are benefits calculated?
Eligibility and benefit amounts are calculated based on the number of 
people in your FAP household and your household income (subtracting 
some deductions and allowable expenses).

Deductions from countable income include:

•	 20 percent of earned income; and

•	 A standard deduction based on the number of people in your FAP 
group.

Allowable expenses include:

•	 Medical expenses over $35 a month that are not paid by a third 
party (only for people age 60 and older, a veteran with a disability, 
or a person with a disability).

•	 Some housing and utility costs.

•	 Homeless households which are not receiving free shelter 
throughout the month and who do not opt to claim an excess 
shelter deduction may be eligible for a homeless shelter deduction.

•	 Some child care costs and costs for care of persons with 
disabilities.

•	 Court-ordered child support paid to a non-household member.

Failure to report or verify any listed expenses will be seen as a 
statement by you that you do not want to receive a deduction for the 
unreported or unverified expenses. Verifications must be received 
within 10 days. 
 
Tell us on your application if you have received the Home Heating 
Credit (HHC) or a Michigan Energy Assistance Program (MEAP) 
Payment in an amount greater than $20 in the last year. If you do not 
tell us about the credit, we will assume you do not want to receive a 
deduction for heat expenses. 

Food Assistance Program (Continued)
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What are my program responsibilities?
1. Cooperate with Child Support to provide information

MDHHS will enroll you in the child support program if a child in your 
home receives food assistance and one or both of the child’s parents 
does not live in your home. Child support services will help you, if 
needed, to establish a legal father and/or get a support order for your 
child. The Office of Child Support will send you a letter. Follow the 
directions in the letter. You must help child support workers with your 
child support case by 1) giving them information they ask for, and 2) 
going to appointments about your child support case. 
 
If you do not help, you may lose some of your food assistance. If you 
believe helping with your case will harm you or your child, tell your 
MDHHS specialist. Your MDHHS specialist will determine if you have a 
good cause reason to not help with your case. Some examples of good 
cause reasons are rape, incest, history of abuse, or threats of abuse. 
There are other good cause reasons.

To claim good cause, tell your MDHHS specialist now.

2. Follow work rules

All group members who don’t meet an exception to the work rules 
(see below) will be registered for work and may be required to perform 
specific work activities including cooperation with employment and 
training activities. Specific work requirements will vary depending on 
whether you receive cash assistance (FIP or RCA) or have time-limited 
FAP benefits (if you receive both cash and food benefits, you must 
follow FIP work rules).

If you are already working, you are not allowed to:

•	 Quit a job of 30 hours or more per week without good cause.

•	 Voluntarily reduce work hours below 30 hours per week without 
good cause.

If you are not working, or you work less than 30 hours per week, 
you are not allowed to:

•	 Refuse a suitable job offer.

•	 Refuse to participate in required employment-related activities 
that must be done to receive FAP.

Food Assistance Program (Continued)
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What happens if I break work rules?
If you receive FAP and you break the work rules without good cause, 
your benefits will stop or be reduced for at least 1 month (first time) 
and 6 months (for any time after that). Reasons for a good cause 
include:

•	 An unplanned event or factor that does not allow you to meet the work 
rules (for example, domestic violence, religion, health or safety risk, or 
homelessness).

•	 Illness or injury.

•	 Lack of child care.

•	 Lack of transportation.

•	 Long commute (more than 2 hours per day or more than 3 hours per day 
with child care).

•	 You quit a job to take a comparable job.

•	 Your job required you to commit illegal activities.

•	 You are physically or mentally unable to do the job.

•	 Your employer discriminated against you based on age, race, religion, 
national origin, color, height, weight, marital status, sex, sexual 
orientation, gender identity or expression, political beliefs or disability.

•	 You are working 40 hours per week for at least the state minimum wage.

•	 Reasonable accommodation was not provided.

•	 You are deferred.

•	 You moved due to another household member’s job or education/
training.

•	 You have a job that requires you to retire or join, resign from, or refrain 
from joining a labor union or organization.

•	 Have a job that is on strike or at a lockout state.

•	 Have unreasonable work conditions.

•	 Have been offered a job that is outside of your work experience during 
the first 30 days as a mandatory FAP work participant.

•	 Employer is not able to keep the promise of work.

If you think you have a good cause reason, contact your MDHHS 
specialist right away. 
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What are the exceptions to the work rules?
Some people who receive food assistance may be excused from 
work rules - if you think you should be excused, talk to your MDHHS 
specialist.  
 
You may be excused from FAP work rules if you are:

•	 Under the age of 16.

•	 Age 60 or older.

•	 Personally caring for a child under the age of 6.

•	 Working 30 hours per week or earning at least the federal 
minimum wage times 30 hours per week.

•	 Attending high school, adult education or a GED program.

•	 Physically or mentally unfit for work.

•	 Personally caring for an incapacitated person.

•	 Applying for FAP at a Social Security office.

•	 In substance abuse treatment or rehabilitation.

•	 Applying for or receiving unemployment benefits.

•	 Appealing the denial of unemployment benefits.

Reasons for being excused may change.

Food Assistance Program (Continued)
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Time-limited food assistance rules
Special time limits and work requirements might apply to you if  
you are:

•	 A person without a disability;

•	 At least 18 years old but under the age of 50; and

•	 Living in a household with no children under the age of 18 (related 
or unrelated).

Time limits are not always in effect, so check with your MDHHS specialist.
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Overview
The main goal of cash assistance programs is to help families become 
self-supporting and independent.

•	 Family Independence Program (FIP) is temporary cash assistance  
for pregnant women or families with minor children.

•	 Refugee Cash Assistance (RCA) is temporary cash assistance for 
persons recently admitted into the United States as refugees or 
someone treated as a refugee.

•	 State Disability Assistance (SDA) provides cash assistance for 
adults with disabilities, live-in caretakers, people in a special living 
arrangement, or people age 65 and older.

Who is eligible?
You may qualify for cash assistance programs if you have low income, 
$15,000 or less in cash assets, and $200,000 or less in property 
assets. 
 
FIP: You may be eligible for FIP if you are either a pregnant woman or a 
parent, legal guardian, or relative acting as a parent for a child under 
the age of 18 (or a high school student age 18). You cannot receive 
FIP for more than the federal 60 month time limit or the state’s 48 
month lifetime limit unless you qualify for an exception or exemption 
month (ask your MDHHS specialist for details). This includes any cash 
assistance you may have received in another state.  
 
RCA: You may be eligible for RCA if you are a refugee (or someone 
treated as a refugee) as determined by the United States Citizenship 
and Immigration Services (USCIS) within eight months of date of entry 
to the United Sates, and not eligible for FIP. 

Cash Assistance
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SDA: You may be eligible for SDA if you are not eligible for FIP and you 
are 65 or older, or permanently or temporarily disabled, or taking care 
of a person with a disability who lives with you. Individuals may be 
considered disabled if they are:

•	 Age 65 or older.

•	 Unable to work for 90 days or more because of a medical condition.

•	 Receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) or Social Security 
disability benefits.

•	 Receiving medical assistance based on disability or blindness.

•	 Receiving special education services.

•	 Receiving help from Michigan Rehabilitation Services.

•	 Diagnosed as having AIDS.

•	 Living in an adult foster care home, a home for the aged, a county 
infirmary, a substance abuse treatment center, or a post substance 
abuse treatment center.

How are benefits calculated?
The FIP or RCA grant amount is based on:

•	 Number of people in your household group.

•	 Court-ordered child support expenses paid by your household.

•	 Total income.

You may have the option to exclude a new spouse from your FIP 
Certified Group for up to 18 months after the month of the marriage 
when all of the following criteria are met: 

•	 You are active FIP

•	 Your new spouse is not already a FIP group member

•	 Program group’s total assets are equal to or less than twice the 
FIP asset limits

•	 Program group’s net income is less than double the FIP monthly 
payment standard for the group size.

Cash Assistance Program (Continued)
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Cash Assistance (Continued)

What are my program responsibilities?

1. Cooperate with Child Support to provide information (FIP only)

MDHHS will enroll you in the child support program if a child in your 
home receives FIP and one or both of the child’s parents does not 
live in your home. Child support services will help you, if needed, to 
establish a legal father and/or get a support order for your child. The 
Office of Child Support will send you a letter. Follow the directions 
in the letter. You must help child support workers with your child 
support case by: 1) giving them information they ask for, and 2) going 
to appointments about your child support case. 
 
If you do not help, you may lose your FIP. If you believe helping with 
your case will harm you or your child, tell your MDHHS specialist. Your 
MDHHS specialist will determine if you have a good cause reason to 
not help with your case. Some examples of good cause reasons are 
rape, incest, history of abuse, or threats of abuse. There are other 
good cause reasons.

To claim good cause, tell your MDHHS specialist now. 
 
Each month you receive a FIP benefit, you may also receive some of 
the child support collected by MDHHS. The support collected is used 
to repay MDHHS for the cash it gives you. 
 
If the support MDHHS collects is more than your FIP grant for at least 
2 months, MDHHS may close your FIP case so you are able to receive 
the child support payments directly. 
 
2. Immunize your children (FIP only)

Children under age 6 must be immunized as recommended by 
MDHHS. Your cash benefits may be reduced by $25 per month until 
your children are up-to-date on their immunizations. A child is exempt 
from the immunization requirement if they are under 2 months of 
age, immunizations are medically inappropriate for the child, or 
immunizations are against the family’s religious beliefs. 
 
3. Send your children to school (FIP only)

Children ages 6–18 must attend school full-time.
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4. Agree to Repay Agreements (FIP and SDA)

If you receive SDA, you agree to repay MDHHS if you receive lump 
sum payments (such as an inheritance, insurance settlement, etc.) or 
benefits that are paid retroactively (such as unemployment benefits 
or workers’ compensation). 
 
If you receive SDA or state-funded FIP and receive a lump sum SSI 
payment, the Social Security Administration (SSA) may automatically 
take the money you received while your SSI application was pending 
out of your first check and reimburse MDHHS. If MDHHS is not 
reimbursed in the first check you receive, you agree to repay MDHHS 
right away. 
 
If you disagree with the amount MDHHS keeps, see “Resources” for 
details on how to request a hearing. 
 
5. Follow work rules (FIP and RCA only)

FIP work rules:

•	 Complete a Family Automated Screening Tool (FAST).

•	 Develop and comply with a Family Self-Sufficiency Plan (FSSP): The 
FSSP will list the work activities that you must do up to 40 hours 
per week to receive FIP. You design this plan with your MDHHS 
specialist and the work participation program.

•	 Do not quit, refuse work, or reduce work hours.

•	 Do not get fired from a job due to misconduct or missing work.

RCA work rules: 

•	 Develop and comply with a Refugee Family Self-Sufficiency Plan 
(RFSSP).

•	 Do not quit, refuse work, or reduce work hours.

•	 Do not get fired from a job due to misconduct or missing work.
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What happens if I break work rules?
If you receive FIP or RCA and break the work rules without good cause 
(see good cause reasons below), MDHHS will:

•	 Deny your application (you may reapply).

•	 Stop FIP for your whole family for 3 months for the first time, 6 
months for the second time and permanently for the third time.

•	 Count all penalty months toward your state 48 month lifetime limit 
(FIP only).

•	 Stop RCA for you for at least 3 months (but the rest of your household 
might be eligible).

•	 If you receive both FIP and FAP, we may stop or reduce your FAP 
benefits for at least 1 month if you are not excused from FAP work 
rules and count your FIP grant amount as income.

Good cause reasons
Reasons for a good cause include:

•	 An unplanned event or factor that does not allow you to meet the work 
rules (for example, domestic violence, religion, health or safety risk, or 
homelessness).

•	 Illness or injury.

•	 You requested child care that was not provided.

•	 You requested transportation services that were not provided.

•	 Long commute (more than 2 hours per day or more than 3 hours per day 
with child care).

•	 You quit a job to take a comparable job.

•	 Your job required you to commit illegal activities.

•	 You are physically or mentally unable to do the job.

•	 Your employer discriminated against you based on age, race, religion, 
national origin, color, height, weight, marital status, sex, sexual 
orientation, gender identity or expression, political beliefs, or disability.

•	 You are working 40 hours per week for at least the state minimum wage.

•	 Reasonable accommodation was not provided.

If you think you have a good cause reason, contact your MDHHS specialist 
right away. Reasons for good cause may change.

Cash Assistance (Continued)
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What are the exceptions to the work rules?
Some people who receive cash assistance may be excused from work 
rules. If you receive FIP and are excused from the work rules, you may 
have to do other activities. If you think you should be excused from 
work rules, talk to your MDHHS specialist.  
 
You may be excused from FIP or RCA work rules if you are:

•	 Age 65 or older.

•	 A parent of a baby less than 2 months old. You may be assigned to 
family strengthening activities once the baby is 6 weeks old.

•	 Working 40 hours per week.

•	 Caring for a child or spouse with a disability (depending on the 
person’s needs and the child’s school attendance).

•	 A person with a disability or medical limitations.

•	 Experiencing a domestic violence situation (determined by MDHHS).
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Child Development + Care (CDC)

Overview
CDC helps pay for the cost of child care for those who need it due to:

•	 Work.

•	 High school completion classes (including General Educational 
Development (GED), adult basic education, and English as a 
second language).

•	 Approved education or training.

•	 Approved treatment activities for a health or social condition.

The CDC Handbook (which contains all of the program guidelines for 
parents and providers) can be found at: www.michigan.gov/childcare.

Who is eligible?
•	 A family with low income.

•	 A licensed foster parent requesting care for foster children.

•	 A member of a MDHHS protective services case participating in a 
treatment plan.

•	 A FIP or Supplemental Security Income (SSI) recipient.

•	 A FIP applicant doing a required work participation program 
activity.

If you are eligible at the date of your application, you will be able 
to keep your CDC benefits for the next 12 months. There are some 
exceptions. 
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Child Development + Care (Continued)

How are benefits calculated?
The income eligibility scale and reimbursement rates can be found at: 
www.michigan.gov/childcare. 
 
The actual CDC payment amount may not cover all child care 
expenses. You are responsible for any child care costs not covered by 
the CDC program.  
 
You are responsible for any child care expenses before your case is 
approved and the child care provider is added to your case. 
 
The department may request information from you at any time to 
verify your provider’s billing. If overpayment is made to the child care 
provider for any reason, the provider must repay the extra payments.  
The department may reduce future payments to the provider by up to 
20 percent.
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How do I select a child care provider?
The child care you choose must be provided in Michigan by a:

•	 Licensed child care center.

•	 Licensed group child care home.

•	 Licensed family child care home.

•	 Michigan Department of Education (MDE) enrolled license exempt 
child care provider who has completed the Great Start to Quality 
Orientation and provides care in the child’s home or is related by 
blood, marriage, or adoption as a grandparent/great-grandparent, 
aunt/ great-aunt, uncle/great-uncle or sibling (only if the provider 
and the child do not live together) and provides care in his/her own 
home.

If you need help finding an eligible child care provider, contact your 
Great Start to Quality Resource Center at 877-614-7328 or visit  
www.greatstarttoquality.org. 
 
If you use a friend or family member as a provider, the payments will 
be issued to you, and you will be responsible for paying the provider. 
To apply to be an license exempt provider, they must complete 
the application at www.michigan.gov/childcare and follow the 
instructions listed on the application.  
 
You are also responsible for reporting payments to the Internal 
Revenue Service (IRS) and issuing either a W-2 or 1099-MISC if 
appropriate.

Child Development + Care (Continued)



27MDHHS-1171-INFO (Rev. 10-20)

What are my program responsibilities?

Cooperate with Child Support to provide information

MDHHS will enroll you in the child support program if a child in your 
home receives CDC assistance and one or both of the child’s parents 
does not live in your home. Child support services will help you, if 
needed, establish a legal father and/or get a support order for your 
child. The Office of Child Support will send you a letter. Follow the 
directions in the letter. You must help child support workers with your 
child support case by 1) giving them information they ask for, and 2) 
going to appointments about your child support case. 
 
If you do not help, you may lose some or all of your CDC assistance. If 
you believe helping with your case will harm you or your child, tell your 
MDHHS specialist. Your MDHHS specialist will determine if you have a 
good cause reason to not help with your case. Some examples of good 
cause reasons are rape, incest, history of abuse, or threats of abuse. 
There are other good cause reasons. 
 
To claim good cause, tell your MDHHS specialist now.
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State Emergency Relief (SER)

Overview
SER provides limited help to households with low income that have 
an emergency that threatens their health or safety. Covered services 
include:

•	 Relocation payments to avoid or eliminate homelessness.

•	 Mortgage, insurance and/or property tax payment to stop 
forfeiture, foreclosure, or tax sale.

•	 Limited home repairs.

•	 Home heating, electric, and utility bills.

•	 Burial costs.
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State of Emergency Relief (Continued)

Who is eligible?
You may qualify for SER if:

•	 You have low income and limited assets.

•	 The emergency situation is not likely to happen again (example: for 
help with rent or house payments, you must show you have enough 
income to pay your housing costs in the future).

•	 You have made certain required payments on your shelter, heat, 
electric and/or utility bills.

How are benefits calculated?
The amount of help you may receive depends on the number of people 
in your household, income, assets, type of service requested, and 
other factors.
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Your Responsibilities

By signing your application, you are agreeing to fulfill these 
responsibilities.  
 
In order to get and keep benefits, it is your responsibility to... 
 
Release information for program needs

You consent to the gathering, use, and disclosure of your information 
by MDHHS and third parties. You understand the information is 
needed for the purpose of providing benefits or services, obtaining 
payment for your benefits or services, and for normal business 
operations of the department. You release the department from 
all liability for sharing this information with other agencies for this 
purpose. See “Privacy Details” on page 41 for examples of information 
that MDHHS will get from others and give to others. 
 
Tell the truth

You are responsible for providing information on this application that 
is true and accurate. You could be sanctioned if you have intentionally 
given false or misleading information, or hidden/withheld facts 
that may cause you to receive assistance you should not receive or 
more assistance than you should receive. Sanctions may include 
administrative, civil or criminal actions, including prosecution. See 
“Penalties” on page 43 for details. 
 
Use your benefits legally

It is illegal to give your FAP benefits or Bridge card away or to trade 
the benefits on your card for cash, lottery tickets, firearms, drugs, 
or other goods and services. Benefits that are sold or traded are 
treated as extra benefits and must be repaid. Penalties include 
fines, imprisonment, and disqualification from future benefits. If 
you receive cash assistance, it is prohibited to use FIP, RCA, or SDA 
to purchase lottery tickets, alcohol, tobacco, or for gambling, illegal 
activities, massage parlors, spas, tattoo shops, bail-bond activities, 
adult entertainment, cruise ships or other nonessential items. See 
“Penalties” on page 43 for details. 
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Your Responsibilities (Continued)

Repay any benefits you should not have received

If you or anyone in your household receives benefits they are not 
eligible for, the adults in the household must repay the extra benefits. 
The benefits must be repaid even if there was no fraud. If the 
department makes an error, the adults in the household must repay 
the extra benefits. For FAP, an authorized representative (who has 
access to your benefits and can shop for you) may also be responsible 
for repayment of any extra FAP benefits. MDHHS may keep part of 
your future benefits as repayment for extra benefits you received. 
If you disagree with the amount MDHHS keeps, see “Resources” on 
page 39 for details on how to request a hearing. 
 
Cooperate with Child Support to provide information 

If you are receiving Medicaid, FAP, FIP, and/or CDC assistance, you 
must help child support workers with your child support case by 1) 
giving them information they ask for, and 2) going to appointments 
about your child support case. If you do not help, you may lose some 
or all of your benefits. If you believe helping with your case will harm 
you or your child, tell your MDHHS specialist. Your MDHHS specialist 
will determine if you have a good cause reason to not help with your 
case. Some examples of good cause reasons are rape, incest, history 
of abuse, or threats of abuse. There are other good cause reasons. To 
claim good cause, tell your MDHHS specialist now. 
 
Report changes 

You are responsible for telling the department of any changes to the 
information you provided. These changes should be reported as soon 
as they happen, but no later than within 10 days of the change. For 
FIP only, you must report a child leaving your home within 5 days (if 
they will be absent for 30 days or more). If you do not report a change, 
you may be prosecuted for fraud or denied benefits. See “Resources” 
on page 38 for details on how to report changes.

Your MDHHS specialist will tell you if different reporting rules apply to 
you, such as simplified reporters.
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Lottery/Gambling winnings 

For all FAP groups, you must report all lottery or gambling winnings of 
$3,500 or more within 10 days of receipt of the winnings regardless if 
you have an asset test. 

Cooperate with state or federal reviewers 

You may be required to cooperate with state or federal reviewers who 
are making sure your benefits are correct. You may not be eligible to 
receive benefits if you do not cooperate. 
 
Pursue other benefits that you may qualify for 

For most programs, you must apply for other benefits you may 
qualify for, such as unemployment benefits, Social Security 
and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits, and Veterans 
Administration benefits. MDHHS will tell you if you need to apply for 
benefits. If you do not pursue benefits when required, your MDHHS 
benefits may be reduced, closed, or denied. 
 
Provide Social Security numbers (SSN) 

For most programs, under federal law 42 USC 1320b-7, you must 
provide Social Security numbers. You do not need to provide Social 
Security numbers for household members who are not applying (with 
the exception of SER), adults applying for child care, or FAP recipients 
who cannot provide or obtain a Social Security number based on 
religious grounds. MDHHS will use Social Security numbers to check 
whether you are eligible and receiving the correct benefits.  
If you are applying for a Social Security number, give MDHHS the 
Social Security number as soon as you receive it. If you do not, 
your benefits may be reduced or denied. For healthcare coverage, 
providing your SSN can be helpful even if you don’t want health 
coverage since it can speed up the application process. We use SSNs 
to check income and other information to see who’s eligible for help 
paying for health coverage. If you need help getting an SSN, visit 
socialsecurity.gov, or call Social Security at 800-772-1213. TTY users 
should call 800-325-0778. 
 

Your Responsibilities (Continued)
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Provide proof 

For most programs, you will have to provide papers that show what 
you’ve told the department is true. You must give the department all 
required papers and documents before your eligibility for benefits 
can be determined. If you do not provide proof, your application may 
be denied.  
 
Report any tribal benefits that you receive

You cannot receive food benefits from the tribal food distribution 
program and the food assistance program at the same time. You 
cannot receive tribal TANF (cash) from a tribe and FIP cash benefits 
from MDHHS at the same time. Tribal organizations may receive Low 
Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) funds from the 
federal government. Payments are limited to the highest amount 
available from either MDHHS or the tribal organization. MDHHS will 
ask you to prove any tribal LIHEAP payment you receive. 
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Your Rights

Your general application refers to this page when signing your 
application for submission. 
 
No matter who you are, you have the right to... 
 
Ask for a hearing 

You have the right to request a hearing if you do not agree with any 
action or decision the department makes (including failure to act with 
reasonable promptness). You can ask for a hearing for FAP by phone. 
Hearings for all other programs must be requested in writing. At the 
hearing you can explain why you disagree with the action or decision 
and present evidence. 
 
You may have your assistance continued if you file your request 
for hearing within 10 days of the denial/closure notice. You may be 
required to repay any assistance that you receive while your appeal 
is pending if 1) the department’s proposed action is upheld in the 
hearing decision, or 2) your request for appeal is withdrawn, or 3) you 
or your authorized representative do not attend this hearing. 
 
A hearing will be granted if we receive your request for an appeal 
within 90 days of the date an action was taken by MDHHS or loss of 
your benefits. MDHHS must receive your request for an appeal within 
10 days of the mailing date of the notice to continue receiving your 
benefits. 
 
You may choose anyone to represent you. If that person is not a 
lawyer or is not appointed by a court, you must give us your signed 
authorization. Attach a copy of the court’s order if the person is court-
appointed to help you. The Michigan Administrative Hearing System 
(MAHS) will deny the request for an administrative hearing made by 
the representative if you do not provide proof of authorization. The 
authorized hearing representative needs to be authorized before they 
can make the request. 
 
See “Resources” on page 39 for details on how to request for a 
hearing. 
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Your Rights (Continued)

Apply without discrimination 

This institution is prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, 
color, national origin, disability, age, sex, and in some cases religion 
or political beliefs.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture also prohibits discrimination 
based on race, color, national origin, sex, religious creed, disability, 
age, political beliefs, or reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights 
activity in any program or activity conducted or funded by USDA.

Persons with disabilities who require alternative means of 
communication for program information (e.g. Braille, large print, 
audiotape, American Sign Language, etc.), should contact the Agency 
(State or local) where they applied for benefits. Individuals who are 
deaf, hard of hearing, or have speech disabilities may contact USDA 
through the Federal Relay Service at 800-877-8339. Additionally, 
program information may be made available in languages other than 
English. 

To file a program complaint of discrimination, complete the USDA 
Program Discrimination Complaint Form, (AD-3027), found online at: 
http://www.ascr.usda.gov/complaint_filing_cust.html, and at any 
USDA office, or write a letter addressed to USDA and provide in the 
letter all of the information requested in the form. To request a copy 
of the complaint form, call 866-632-9992. Submit your completed 
form or letter to USDA by: (1) mail: U.S. Department of Agriculture 
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, 1400 Independence 
Avenue, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20250-9410, (2) fax: 202-690-7442, or 
(3) email: program.intake@usda.gov. 

For any other information dealing with Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program (SNAP) issues, persons should either contact the 
USDA SNAP Hotline Number at 800-221-5689, which is also in Spanish 
or call the State Information/Hotline Numbers (click the link for a 
listing of hotline numbers by State); found online at:  
http://www.fns.usda.gov/snap/contact_info/hotlines.htm. 

To file a complaint of discrimination regarding a program receiving 
Federal financial assistance through the U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services (HHS), write: HHS Director, Office for Civil Rights, 
Room 515-F, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20201 
or call 202-619-0403 (voice) or 800-537-7697 (TTY). 

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.
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Your Rights (Continued)

Providing ethnicity and race is voluntary

Answering questions about race and ethnicity is voluntary. The 
information is collected to ensure that program benefits are 
distributed without regard to race, color or national origin. If you 
do not answer these questions, your eligibility or benefit levels will 
not be affected. If you choose not to answer these questions, your 
MDHHS specialist may choose an answer for you. 
 
Apply as an immigrant 

You may be eligible to receive benefits if you are a qualified 
immigrant, including:

•	 Lawful permanent residents or LPRs (people with green cards).

•	 Asylees and refugees.

•	 Parolees for more than 1 year.

•	 Cuban and Haitian entrants.

•	 Certain abused immigrants, their children, and/or their parents.

•	 Victims of trafficking.

•	 Veterans and active military, and their spouses and children.

Receiving food or emergency assistance will not affect your 
immigration status. A referral to USCIS (U.S. Citizenship and 
Immigration Services) will only be made when an applicant/
recipient of food assistance or FIP either 1) presents a final order 
of deportation during the eligibility or redetermination process, or 
2) a determination of ineligibility based on immigration status is 
upheld in the administrative hearing process and is supported by a 
determination by USCIS or immigration court (EOIR), such as a formal 
order of deportation.  
 
Individuals who are not applying for assistance for themselves and 
adults applying for CDC are not required to provide a social security 
number or information about immigration status.  
 
Apply as a United States citizen or national

For some programs, people claiming United States citizenship 
must provide proof of citizenship and identity. Acceptable proof of 
citizenship includes, but is not limited to, a United States passport, 
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a certificate of naturalization, or a United States public birth record 
showing birth in the United States or United States territories.  
People receiving SSI, Social Security, Medicare, or adoption 
assistance, foster children and newborn “safe delivery” babies are 
not required to provide proof of United States citizenship.  
 
Receive services for domestic violence

We may be able to waive some program requirements (such as 
working, looking for a job, pursuing child support, or going to school) 
if participating would 1) put you or your family member in danger 
of physical or emotional harm, 2) subject you to sexual abuse, or 3) 
otherwise be unfair to you. If any of these things apply to you or your 
family member, tell your MDHHS worker now. Also, see “Resources” 
on page 39 for details on how to access domestic violence services. 
 
Receive help if you have a disability 

You do not have to tell us about disabilities, but some help is only 
available to persons with disabilities. If you or someone in your 
household has a disability, we can make exceptions or give you 
special help. If you are denied special help or an exception you need 
because of a disability, and you think the denial was wrong, you 
may file a complaint of discrimination. If you do not tell us about a 
disability now, you can tell us about it later.

Contact your MDHHS specialist if you need help.  
 
Register to vote

If you select ‘Yes’ or do not respond on your application, a voter 
registration application will be sent to you. If you select ‘No’, an 
application will not be sent to you. Applying or declining to register 
to vote will not affect the amount of assistance you will be provided 
by this department. If you would like help filling out the voter 
registration application form, we will help you. The decision whether 
to seek or accept help is yours. You may fill out the voter registration 
application in private. If you believe someone has interfered with your 
right to 1) register to vote, 2) decline to register to vote, 3) privacy in 
deciding whether to register or in applying to register to vote, or 4) 
choose your own political party or other political preference, you may 
file a complaint with: Secretary of State, PO Box 20126, Lansing, MI 
48901-0726.
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Resources

Here are resources that can help you take action.

Find your local office

•	 Go online www.michigan.gov/contactmdhhs.

Get help with your application

Your local MDHHS office will provide help with reading, writing, 
hearing, etc. or finding an interpreter during the application process. 
To get help:

•	 Call your local office to notify them that you will require assistance.

You may also bring your own interpreter. 
 
Report a change 

You can report changes by 1) calling your MDHHS specialist (their 
name and number is listed on any correspondence you’ve received 
from MDHHS), 2) reporting online through MI Bridges, 3) submitting 
a written statement or DHS-2240, Change Report form to your local 
office.

Ways to request the DHS-2240 form:

In person: Visit your local office and request form DHS-2240 or;

Print from home: Download form DHS-2240 online

•	 Complete and sign form.

•	 Include your name and case number when sending any document.

•	 Mail completed form to your local office.

If you file for bankruptcy, send a copy of the official bankruptcy notice 
to: MDHHS, Overpayment Research and Verification Section, PO Box 
30820, Lansing, MI 48909. 
 
Report fraud

Go to www.michigan.gov/welfarefraud or call 800-222-8558 to report 
suspected welfare fraud.
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Resources (Continued)

Request a hearing

Ways to request a hearing include:

By phone (FAP only): Call your specialist (their name and number are listed 
on any correspondence you’ve received from MDHHS) and request a hearing; 
or

In person: Visit your local office and ask for a DHS-18, Request for Hearing 
form; or

By mail: Download form DHS-18 online

•	 Print, complete, and sign form.

•	 Include your name, address, and case number.

•	 Attach a copy of the notice you received from MDHHS, if possible.

•	 Mail the signed and dated form to your local office, addressed to the 
hearings coordinator.

•	 Keep a copy of the request and any other document you attach for 
yourself.

Once a hearing is requested, you will receive a hearing date notice by 
mail. 
 
File a general complaint 

•	 Contact your local office; or

•	 Write your complaint and mail it to:

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, 
Specialized Action Center, PO Box 30037 Lansing, MI 48909.

 
Information on domestic violence

You are authorized to receive domestic violence comprehensive 
services.

•	 Find information online: www.michigan.gov/domesticviolence.

•	 Call the Domestic Violence Helpline: 800-799-7233.

•	 Read DHS-Pub-859, Is Someone Hurting You or Your Children? – online 
at www.michigan.gov/domesticviolence.
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Receive help with debts owed to MDHHS

Call Overpayment Dispute Resolution Unit toll-free at  
800-419-3328 if you 1) have a debt with MDHHS pertaining to FAP, 
Cash Assistance or CDC recoupment, 2) need direction on where 
to send your repayment, 3) are inquiring on debt balance, 4) need 
reissuance of a receipt for prior repayment 5) are considering 
disputing any pending collection action underway for the programs 
above, or 6) are looking for clarification or guidance about a collection 
notice from MDHHS involving these programs.  
 
Receive Bridge Card help

Cash and/or FAP benefits are accessed by using a debit card. This 
debit card is called the Bridge Card or Electronic Benefit Transfer 
(EBT) card.  
 
Call EBT Customer Service toll-free at 888-678-8914 to 1) report 
a lost, stolen or damaged card, 2) request a replacement card, 3) 
establish/change your personal ID number (PIN), or 4) find your 
balance. Customer service is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week 
(Spanish and Arabic service is available). If you are hearing or speech-
impaired, call the Michigan Relay Center at 800-649-3777. 
 
After your first replacement card, your benefits may be reduced to 
cover the cost of replacing any additional cards. 
 
The same replacement card policy applies if you have someone who 
has access to your cash benefits (protective payee), or (for FAP) 
someone whom you approved to purchase food for your household 
(authorized representative). 
 
Contact other programs

If you have questions about any of the following programs, call:

•	 MIChild MDHHS: 888-988-6300. 

•	 Medicare: 888-633-4227.

•	 Community Resources and Referrals: 2-1-1.

Resources (Continued)
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Privacy Details

Information MDHHS will get from others
•	 Social Security Administration information (all programs) - You 

agree the Social Security Administration may give MDHHS all 
information needed to determine your eligibility.

•	 Quality Control (QC), Overpayment Research and Verification 
Section (ORVS) and/or Office of Inspector General (OIG) 
investigations - MDHHS might choose your case for a quality 
control review or a complete investigation. If your case is chosen, 
MDHHS will contact you, other people, employers, and/or 
agencies for proof of the information provided on your assistance 
application.

•	 Law enforcement check (FAP, FIP, SER) - MDHHS may give 
or receive information from law enforcement officials for the 
purpose of arresting persons fleeing to avoid the law.

•	 Child care billing information (CDC) - Information submitted by 
your child care provider will be used in determining payment 
amounts.

•	 Computer cross-checking (all programs) - MDHHS will check 
income and eligibility verification systems along with federal, 
state and private agencies to make sure the information you 
provide on the assistance application is correct. If the information 
does not match, we may ask you to send us proof. Verification of 
the information you provide may affect your household’s eligibility 
and level of benefits. MDHHS may check wages, income, assets, 
unemployment benefits, income tax refunds, Social Security 
benefits and numbers, child support, immigration status, etc.

•	 Other states - MDHHS will check records from other states. You 
may be denied benefits in Michigan if you or other household 
members were disqualified in another state.

•	 Healthcare coverage - You can consent to the gathering and 
use of income data, including information from tax returns for 
determining eligibility for help paying for health coverage in future 
years (up to 5 years). You will receive notice when this occurs, be 
able to make changes, and may opt out at any time. If you give any 
information that does not match, MDHHS may ask you to send us 
proof to find out what is correct. You may be asked for permission 
to contact employers, banks or other people.
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Privacy Policy (Continued)

Information MDHHS will give to others

•	 Release information for program needs -  MDHHS may release 
information for purposes directly related to administration of 
certain assistance programs. Limited information may also be 
released in a response to government officials acting in their 
official duties or certain charitable organizations. MDHHS may 
release your name and benefit amount to the general public if you 
have provided a signed consent or if ordered by a court.

•	 Eligibility information (FAP) - MDHHS sends food assistance 
program (FAP) eligibility, information to schools. This information 
allows your child(ren) to receive free or reduced-cost meals.

•	 CDC - Notice will be sent to your child care provider when your 
CDC has been approved and authorized, changes occur that 
impact your CDC eligibility or your CDC eligibility has ended.

•	 Undocumented aliens - MDHHS may send information about 
certain undocumented aliens to the Department of Homeland 
Security.

•	 Survey information - You may be contacted for survey information 
to help evaluate MDHHS’ quality of programs and customer 
service. 
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Penalties

These penalty policies apply to FAP, FIP, SDA and CDC. 
 
Intentional Program Violation (IPV) is when you make a false or 
misleading statement, hide, misrepresent or withhold facts on 
purpose to receive or continue to receive extra benefits. If we think 
you committed fraud/IPV, we may hold an administrative hearing, 
bring criminal charges, or ask you to voluntarily sign a disqualification 
agreement. 
 
FAP trafficking

You may also be guilty of fraud/IPV if you trade, attempt to trade, or 
sell your FAP benefits or Bridge Card online or in person. You may 
not use or attempt to use FAP benefits or Bridge Cards that belong 
to another household for your household. You may not use FAP 
benefits or Bridge Cards to purchase or attempt to purchase anything 
other than food, seeds and plants to grow your own food for your 
household.  
 
If it is proven in court that you are guilty of fraud:

•	 You are subject to criminal penalties (for example, fines up to $250,000, 
jail/prison time up to 20 years, or both). You may be charged under other 
federal laws and a court may prevent you from receiving benefits for an 
additional 18 months; and

•	 You must repay any extra benefits you received because of the fraud/
IPV; and

•	 You will be disqualified from receiving FIP/SDA and/or FAP benefits - 
see the table on next page.

If it is proven in an administrative hearing you are guilty of IPV or you 
voluntarily sign a disqualification:

•	 You will be disqualified from receiving FIP/SDA and/or FAP benefits - 
see the table on next page; and

•	 You will have to repay the extra benefits you received because of the 
fraud/IPV.

These policies apply to other household members and authorized 
representatives as well. See “Resources” on page 38 for details on 
how to report suspected welfare fraud.
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Penalties (Continued)

If you do any of the following:

•	 Make a false or misleading statement.

•	 Hide, misrepresent, or withhold facts to receive or 
continue to receive benefits.

•	 Trade, attempt to trade, or sell less than $500 in FAP 
benefits or Bridge Cards online or in person.

•	 Use or attempt to use FAP benefits to buy ineligible items 
such as alcoholic drinks or tobacco.

•	 Purchase beverages with FAP benefits then immediately 
empty the contents and return container for the cash.

•	 Use or attempt to use FAP benefits or Bridge Cards that 
belong to someone else for your household. 

You will lose FIP/SDA 
and/or FAP benefits for:

•	 1 year for the first 
violation

•	 2 years for the second 
violation

•	 Life for the third 
violation

If you are:

•	 Found by a court or an administrative hearing to have 
lied about your identity or where you live to receive 
benefits in two or more states at one time. 

You will lose FAP 
benefits for:

•	 10 years

If you are:

•	 Convicted in court of lying about your identity or where 
you live to receive benefits in two or more states at one 
time. Benefits include programs funded under Title 
IV-A of the Security Act, Medicaid and Supplemental 
Security Income. 

You will lose FIP benefits 
for:

•	 10 years

If any member of the household is found guilty in court 

of:

•	 Trading FAP benefits for drugs.

You will lose FAP 
benefits for:

•	 2 years for the first 
offense

•	 Life for the second 
offense 

If any member of the household is found guilty in court 

of:

•	 Trading or attempting to trade FAP benefits for 
firearms, ammunition, or explosives.

•	 Trading, buying, or selling or attempting to trade, buy, 
or sell FAP benefits of $500 or more for anything other 
than food online or in person.

•	 Paying or attempting to pay for food purchased on 
credit with FAP. 

You will lose FAP 
benefits for:

•	 Life
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CDC Penalties
Violation of program rules may result in a disqualification of 6 months,  
12 months, or a lifetime.
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Quick Look at Submitting Proof

After you submit your application, your MDHHS specialist will send 
you a list of any documents you need to provide based on your 
specific case. These are examples of the types of proof documents 
you may be asked to provide. 

Household 

•	 Identification: driver’s license, state ID, or passport.

•	 Your Social Security Card and numbers for everyone in the household 
who is applying.

•	 Proof of alien status (green card or resident alien card).

Assets 

•	 Account statements (checking, savings, 401ks, etc).

•	 Deeds for any property you own (houses, buildings, land/lot, other 
property).

Income 

•	 Pay stubs.

•	 Receipt for unemployment compensation benefits (UCB).

•	 Award letters (for SSI, RSDI, worker’s compensation, etc).

Expenses

•	 Receipts for child care or adult disabled care. 

•	 Medical receipts from recurring monthly expenses (like dialysis, 
monthly medication, etc.) or bills from one-time expenses.

•	 Proof of rent or mortgage.

When you submit documents provide copies – we are not able to 
return original documents. Copies can be made free of charge at your 
local MDHHS office. 

If you need help getting proof, ask your MDHHS specialist.
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