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R 400.4111   Job description. 
  Rule 111. An institution shall provide a job description for each staff position that identifies rules, required 
qualifications, and lines of authority.  

          

R 400.4112   Staff qualifications. 
  Rule 112. (1) A person with ongoing duties shall have both of the following:  
  (a)  Ability to perform duties of the position assigned.  

          

(b)  Experience to perform the duties of the position assigned.           

(2) A person who has unsupervised contact with children shall not have been convicted of either of the following: 
  (a) Child abuse or neglect. 

          

  (b) A felony involving harm or threatened harm to an individual within the 10 years immediately preceding the date 
of hire. 

          

  (3) A person who has unsupervised contact with children shall not be a person who is listed on the central registry 
as a perpetrator of child abuse or child neglect. 

          

http://www.michigan.gov/dhs/0,4562,7-124-5455_7199---,00.html
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R 400.4113   Employee records.  RI.113 
  Rule 113. An institution shall maintain employee records for each employee and shall include documentation of all 
of the following information prior to employment or at the time specified in this rule: (a) Name. 

          

(b)A true copy of verification of education from an accredited college or university where minimum education 
requirements are specified by rule.                          RI.101a - Accredited 

          

(c) Verification of high school diploma or GED when specified by rule.             

(d) Work history.           

(e) Three dated references which are obtained prior to employment from persons unrelated to the employee and 
which are less than 12 months old. 

          

(f) A record of any convictions other than minor traffic violations from either of the following entities: 
  (i) Directly from the Michigan state police or the equivalent state law enforcement agency, Canadian province, or 
other country where the person usually resides or has resided in the previous 5 years,   
  (ii) From an entity accessing either Michigan state police records or equivalent state, Canadian provincial, or other 
country law enforcement agency where the person usually resides or has resided in the previous 5 years. 

          

(g) If the employee has criminal convictions, the institution shall complete a written evaluation of the convictions 
that addresses the nature of the conviction, the length of time since the conviction, and the relationship of the 
conviction to regulated activity for the purpose of determining suitability for employment in the institution. 

          

  (h) A statement from the employee regarding any convictions.           
 

  (i) Documentation from the Michigan department of human services, the equivalent state or Canadian provincial 
agency, or equivalent agency in the country where the person usually resides, that the person has not been 
determined to be a perpetrator of child abuse or child neglect.  The documentation shall be completed not more 
than 30 days prior to the start of employment and every 12 months thereafter. 

          

  (j) A written evaluation of the employee's performance within 30 days of the completion of the  probationary period 
or within 180 days, whichever is less, and a written evaluation of the employee’s performance annually thereafter. 

          

  (k) Verification of health where specified by institution policy.           

R 400.4114   Tuberculosis screening for employees and volunteers.   RI.114 
  Rule 114. The licensee shall document, prior to employment, that each employee and volunteer who has contact 
with residents 4 or more hours per week for more than 2 consecutive weeks is free from communicable 
tuberculosis. Freedom from communicable tuberculosis shall be verified within the 1 year period before 
employment and shall be verified every 1 year after the last verification or prior to the expiration of the current 
verification. 
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R 400.4115   First aid; CPR.   RI.115 
  Rule 115.  A person certified within the preceding 36 months in first aid and within the preceding 24 months in 
age-appropriate cardiopulmonary resuscitation by the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association, or an 
equivalent organization or institution approved by the department shall be on duty at all times when 1 or more 
children are present. 

          

R 400.4117   Chief administrator; qualifications.    RI.117 
  Rule 117. (1)  A chief administrator, at the time of appointment, shall possess either of the following: 
  (a) A master's degree in a human behavioral science, education, business administration, or public administration 
from an accredited college or university and 2 years of experience in a child caring institution or child placing 
agency or equivalent organization from another state or Canadian province. 
  (b) A bachelor's degree with a major in education, a human behavioral science, business administration, or public 
administration from an accredited college or university and 4 years of post-bachelor's degree experience in a child 
caring institution or child placing agency or equivalent organization from another state or Canadian province. 

          

R 400.4118   Social service supervisor; qualifications.   RI.118 
  Rule 118. A social service supervisor, at the time of appointment to the position, shall possess  either of the 
following:  
  (a) A master's degree in a human behavioral science from an accredited college or university and 2 years of 
experience as a social service worker. 
  (b) A bachelor's degree in a human behavioral science or another major with 25% of the credits in a human 
behavioral science from an accredited college or university and 4 years of experience as a social service worker 

          

R 400.4119   Social service worker; qualifications.    RI.119 
  Rule 119. A social service worker, at the time of appointment to the position, shall possess a bachelor's degree 
with a major in a human behavioral science from an accredited college or university or another major with 25% of 
credits in human behavioral sciences. 

          

 

R 400.4120   Supervisor of direct care workers; qualifications.   RI.120 
  Rule 120. A supervisor of direct care workers shall have 1 of the following: 
  (a) A bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university and 2 years of work experience in a child caring 
institution. 
  (b) Two years of college from an accredited college or university and 3 years of work experience in a child caring 
institution. 
  (c) A high school diploma and 4 years of work experience in a child caring institution. 

          

R 400.4121   Direct care worker; qualifications.   RI.121 
  Rule 121. A direct care worker shall have completed high school or obtained a general equivalency diploma 
(GED). 

          

R 400.4128   Initial staff orientation and ongoing staff training.    RI.128 
  Rule 128. (1) The licensee shall provide an orientation program for new employees. Job shadowing shall not be 
the only form of orientation. 
The orientation shall include the following: 
  (a) The institution's purpose, policies, and procedures, including discipline, crisis intervention techniques, and 
emergency and safety procedures. 

          

(b) The role of the staff members as related to service delivery and protection of the children.           

(2) The licensee shall provide a written plan of ongoing staff training related to individual job functions and the 
institution's program. 
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(3) The licensee shall document that each staff person whose function is covered by these rules has participated in 
a minimum of 50 clock hours of planned training within the first year of employment and a minimum of 25 clock 
hours of training annually thereafter related to the employee’s job function.  At least 16 of the 50 hours provided in 
the first year shall be orientation provided prior to the assumption of duties. 

          

(4) Training opportunities for direct care staff shall include, but are not limited to, all of the following: 
(a) Developmental needs of children.   

          

(b) Child management techniques           

(c) Basic group dynamics.           

(d) Appropriate discipline, crisis intervention, and child handling techniques.           

(e) The direct care worker's and the social service worker's roles in the institution.           

(f) Interpersonal communication.           

(g) Proper and safe methods and techniques of restraint and seclusion if the agency has an approved seclusion 
room.   

          

(h) First aid.           

(5) An employee shall not participate in restraining a resident or placing a resident in seclusion prior to receiving 
training on those topics.  The training model shall be approved, in writing, by the department. 

          

 

 
 
R 400.4101(a)   Definitions.  “Accredited college or university” 
 
Interpretation 
 
The Secretary of Education publishes a list of nationally recognized accrediting agencies that the Secretary determines to 
be reliable authorities on the quality of education or training provided by institutions of higher education and the higher 
education programs they accredit. The U.S. Secretary of Education also recognizes State agencies for the approval of 
public postsecondary vocational education and nurse education. 
 
http://ope.ed.gov/accreditation/ is a web site with a data base the lists accredited colleges and university.  
 
R 400.4113   Employee records. 
 
Interpretation 
 
Maintain employee records for each employee means all positions within the facility. Any person who has unsupervised 
contact with children is required to have an employee record. This includes student interns and volunteers. 

http://ope.ed.gov/accreditation/
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Electronic personnel records are acceptable as long as they are readily available for review by the consultant. 
 
(a) A true copy is defined as: 

A document received by the facility directly from the college or university. 
A notarized copy of a document from the college or university. 
A copy of the original that was viewed by a designated representative of the facility and noted as a true copy of the 
original. 

 
Items (a) – (k) must be present for all new employees or volunteers prior to assignment to regular tasks. 
 
The consultant is to confirm: 

(1) A record exists for each employee. 
(2) All required elements of an employee record exist. 

 
(c)See individual rules covering position education requirements. 
 
(e) References may be in the form of written documentation of conversations or letters of reference. Written 

documentation of conversations should be signed and dated by the person who completed the documentation. When 
a person is changing jobs within an agency, annual evaluations related to job function may be accepted as a 
reference. 

 
References must be written and dated within the 12 months preceding hire. The name of the person giving the 
reference and this person’s relationship to the employee must be documented. 

 
(f) A statement should appear on the employment application that asks the employee if he or she has been convicted of 

an offense other than a minor traffic violation. 
 
MCL 722.119 Section 9 (1) states, “A licensee or registrant, adult household member, licensee designee, chief 
administrator, or program director of a child care organization shall not be present in a child care organization if he or she 
has been convicted of either of the following: 

(a) Child abuse or child neglect. 
(b) A felony involving harm or threatened harm to an individual within 10 years immediately preceding the date of hire or 

appointment. 
(2) A staff member or unsupervised volunteer shall not have contact with children who are in the care of a child care 
organization if he or she has been convicted of either of the following: 

(a) Child abuse or child neglect. 
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(b) A felony involving harm or threatened harm to an individual within the 10 years immediately preceding the date of hire 
or appointment. 

 
The agency must post how the agency determines if an employee or volunteer has a criminal record. The agency must 
provide documentation of criminal history checks for all states or provinces where the person has lived in the preceding 5 
years in the employee’s record. 
 
(g) When a record of convictions exists, the institution is to take the following into consideration when documenting 

assessment of the conviction record: 
 
R 400.4114   Tuberculosis screening for employees and volunteers. 
 
Interpretation 

This documentation may be maintained apart from employee or volunteer records, but must be available for review. 

Documentation must include these factors: 

1. Tuberculosis testing must be completed and maintained for each employee and volunteer who has contact with 
residents 4 or more hours per week for more than 2 consecutive weeks. 

2. The tuberculosis testing must document that the employee or volunteer is free from communicable tuberculosis. 
3. Verification of freedom from communicable tuberculosis at the time of employment must be less than 1 year old.  

Verification must be received prior to employment and every 1 year after the last verification. 
4.  (CDC, Post-Treatment Follow-Up) If the employee/applicant has previously been diagnosed with and treated for 

Latent Tuberculosis Infection (LTBI), they must: 

 Provide documentation that includes TST [Tuberculosis skin test] or IGRA [Interferon-Gamma Release Assays 
(blood test for TB infection)] results, chest radiograph results, names and dosages of medication and duration of 
treatment. These documents are to be presented any time future TB testing is required. 

 Provide documentation of knowledge of the signs and symptoms of TB disease and the need to contact a medical 
provider if he/she develops any of these signs or symptoms. 

 Regardless of whether the patient completed treatment for LTBI, serial or repeat chest radiographs are not 
indicated unless the person develops signs or symptoms suggestive of TB disease. 

 
 
R 400.4115   First aid; CPR. 
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Interpretation 

Certification in first aid and CPR provided by organizations other than those identified in the rule must be pre-approved by 
the department. 
 
This rule is to be cited when a person with CPR and First Aid certification is not on duty. 

When first aid training is not provided to all staff, R400.4128(4)(h) is to be cited. 

 
PA 116 [ MCL 722.112(a)] says that there needs to be a staff person on duty that has been certified in CPR within the 
previous twelve months by The American Red Cross, The American Heart Association, or an equivalent organization. 
Neither The American Red Cross nor The American Heart Association will sign a CPR certification until the person 
demonstrates competency. DCWL will not recognize an on-line CPR certification as equivalent to The American Red 
Cross or The American Heart Association because there is no demonstration of competence.  
 
R 400.4117   Chief administrator; qualifications. 
 
Interpretation 
 
Diplomas or transcripts documenting an acceptable degree must be available. The diploma must identify the specific 
degree granted. 
 
Work history must also be documented to show the required work experience. 
 
A licensee or licensee designee may elect to designate a person to operate the child caring institution. Such a person 
must meet the definition of “Chief Administrator”, R400.4101(e) and the requirements of this rule, even when the position 
is temporary while an agency searches for a new chief administrator. 
 
R 400.4118   Social service supervisor; qualifications. 
 
Interpretation 
 
Diplomas or transcripts that identify the specific degree granted must be available for review.   
 
The employee’s application or resume in the personnel file must document the required work experience. 
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CPS is not a regulated function and does not count as experience as a social services worker when determining if the 
person is qualified as a social services supervisor. 
 
Tie-Bar to Rule 101(a) & interpretation – the definition of accredited. 
 
R 400.4119   Social service worker; qualifications. 
 
Interpretation 

Diplomas or transcripts that identify the specific degree granted must be available for review.   
 
The employee’s application or resume in the personnel file must document the required work experience. 
 

A variance is not needed to comply with this rule when the major is not in human behavioral sciences and the agency has 
evaluated the transcript of an individual and has determined that 25% of the course work was in human behavioral 
sciences. The agency must be able to document how the determination was made when the consultant is doing the on-
site evaluation.  A local DHHS office or an agency under contract to DHHS must document that the employee possesses 
the required educational credentials. 
 
Tie-Bar to Rule 101(a) – the definition of accredited. 
 
R 400.4120   Supervisor of direct care workers; qualifications. 
 
Interpretation 
 
Diplomas or transcripts that identify the specific degree or diploma granted must be available for review.   
 
The employee’s application or resume in the personnel file must document the required work experience.  For the 
purposes of this rule, work experience must be in a child caring institution. 
 
A G.E.D. certificate is acceptable in place of a high school diploma. 
 
Diploma from Home Schooling – Unless the home schooled person passed a GED or has a diploma is from a nationally 
accredited Home School Association that does standardized testing to prove competence, the diploma may not be 



9 
 

recognized. It is the responsibility of the CCI to get appropriate documentation, including proof of accreditation, for the file. 
If documentation noted above is not there, there is a violation of this rule. 
 
R 400.4121   Direct care worker; qualifications. 
 
Interpretation 
 
Diplomas or transcripts that identify the specific degree or diploma granted must be available for review.   
 
Diploma from Home Schooling – Unless the home schooled person passed a GED or has a diploma is from a nationally 
accredited Home School Association that does standardized testing to prove competence, the diploma may not be 
recognized. It is the responsibility of the CCI to get appropriate documentation, including proof of accreditation, for the file. 
If documentation noted above is not there, there is a violation of this rule. 
 
R 400.4128   Initial staff orientation and ongoing staff training. 
 
Interpretation 
 
Orientation is required for all staff of an organization including students and volunteers. 
 
If the function of a volunteer or student is as a direct care worker, subparts (2), (3), and (4) also apply. 
 
The orientation must be formalized with written documentation regarding the information covered and the amount of time 
spent on orientation. 
 
All required elements of the orientation must be documented.  This includes emergency procedures.   
Training as identified in subpart (3) is required for all staff functioning in a regulated position, including administrators, 
direct care supervisors, direct care staff, social service workers and social service supervisors. 
 
Training topics identified in subpart (4) must be delivered to all direct care staff. 
 

MCL 722.112a Institution, center or home; person certified in first aid and CPR; applicability 
 
Sec. 2a(1) A child caring institution, child care center, or group daycare home shall have on duty at all times while the 
institution, center or home is providing care to 1 or more children at least one person who has been certified within the 
preceding 36 months in first aid and within the preceding 12 months in age – appropriate cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
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by the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association, or an equivalent organization or institution approved by the 
department. 
 
A violation of subpart (4)(h) is to be cited when first aid training is not provided to all direct care staff.  MCL 722.112a is to 
be cited when a person with CPR and First Aid certification is not on duty. 
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