Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
Program Policy Division PO Box 30809

Lansing Ml 48909

<Provider Name>

M&DHHS

Michigan Department or Health & Human Services

<Provider Address 1>
<Provider Address 2>
<City> <State> zipcode5-zipcode4

Dear Provider:

RE: Fiscal Year 2022 Direct Care Worker Wage Increase

November 16, 2021

Pursuant to Public Act 87 of 2021, the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
(MDHHS) will implement a wage increase for direct care workers. This applies to the MDHHS
programs and service codes listed below:

Program Services Related HCPCS Codes
Name

MI Choice Community Living Supports, Respite, | H2015, H2016, S5150, S5151,

Waiver Adult Day Health S5100, S5101, S5102

MI Health Link Expanded Community Living H2015, H2016, S5150, S5151,
Supports, Personal Care, Respite, T1019, S5100, S5101, S5102
Adult Day Program

Behavioral Community Living Supports 97153, 97154, 0373T, HO043,

Health Overnight Health and Safety H0019, HO010, HO012,

Supports

Personal Care

Prevocational Services

Respite

Skill Building

ABA Adaptive Behavior Treatment
ABA Group Adaptive Behavior
Treatment

ABA Exposure Adaptive Treatment
Crisis Residential Services
Residential Services -SUD
Residential Services — Co-occurring
SUD/MH

Withdrawal Management — SUD
Supported Employment

HO0014, HO018, H2014,
H2015, H2016, T2027, T1020,
T2015, S5151, T1005, H2023
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The wage increase for services provided October 1, 2021 through September 30, 2022 is
intended to cover a $2.35 per hour increase in direct care worker wages, along with an
additional $0.29 per hour for agencies to cover their additional costs associated with
implementing this increase. The $2.35 per hour should be paid in addition to the
worker’s regular wage, but cannot be less than the wage being received by, or the
starting wage offered to, a qualifying direct care worker on March 1, 2020. This wage
increase must be recorded separately from base pay on payroll documents and
labelled as “FY 2022 Provider Pay Increase”. The $2.35 per hour payment must be
applied entirely to direct care worker wages. The $2.35 and $0.29 per hour amounts may be
implemented by an equivalent as divided per billing unit. One example of “an equivalent as
divided per billing unit” is, for programs billing in 15-minute increments, the payment would
be $0.5875 per 15-minute unit for the direct care worker, and $0.0725 per 15-minute unit for
the additional agency cost.

For program participants receiving services through a self-determination arrangement under the
behavioral health, Ml Health Link and MI Choice Waiver programs, direct care workers must
receive this $2.35 wage increase for the hours or billing units worked between October 1, 2021,
and September 30, 2022. The Fiscal Intermediary, or agency (for Agency with Choice), must
receive $0.29 per hour for related taxes. The “equivalent as divided per billing unit” described
above applies.

All wage increase payments are subject to audit and potential recoupment. Providers
should retain documentation that supports the distribution to direct care workers and that
payments were made in accordance with the requirements in this letter. Section 231 of
Public Act 87 of 2021 requires additional wage reporting. MDHHS is currently working on
the legislatively mandated reporting requirements and will provide additional guidance
once they are finalized.

A direct care worker may choose to not receive the wage increase. This choice must be
indicated in writing or electronically. This individual’s employer must give back to the
entity paying for services, as described in the table above, any funds allocated for this
individual’s wage increase.

Direct care workers should still follow the guidance issued in March 2020 titled “Actions for
Caregivers of Older Adults During COVID-19” along with the document “Actions for Caregivers for
Older Adults Addendum Frequently Asked Questions”. These documents describe
recommendations for in-home direct care workers and methods to assure a face-to-face visit is
needed. These documents can be found at: https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-
71547 4860 78446 78448---,00.html.

Direct care workers who are providing behavioral health services should also follow
the additional guidance found at: https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-
71550 2941-146590--,00.html.
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Adult Foster Care homes and Homes For the Aged should follow guidance and
reporting instructions provided on the MDHHS Coronavirus webpage at:
https://www.michigan.gov/coronavirus/0,9753,7-406-98178 100722---,00.html under
the Staffing tab and the “Direct Care Worker Resources” heading.

If you have questions, you can call Provider Support at 1-800-979-4662 or e-mail them
at providersupport@michigan.gov.

An electronic version of this document is available at www.michigan.gov/medicaidproviders
>> Policy, Letters & Forms.

Sincerely,

CM——

Kate Massey, Director
Medical Services Administration
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