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This guide serves as a reference for migrant 
farmworkers about driving safely and Michigan traffic 
laws. The guide does not include every Michigan 
traffic law. It is meant as a resource to provide greater 
understanding by the migrant community and increase 
safety on the roads.
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Seat Belts
•	Drivers, front seat 

passengers, and all 
passengers age 15 and 
younger must wear seat 
belts.
•	Police may pull over 

a vehicle if the driver 
or passengers are not 
using seat belts.
•	Seat belts keep you 

in the vehicle which 
reduces the risk of 
serious injury or death 
in a crash.

»» Air bags are 
designed to work 
with seat belts.

Children in Vehicles
•	Children are required to  

use a car seat or booster 
seat until at least age 8 or 
4'9" (144.78 cm) tall.

»» Children do not fit in 
seat belts and need car 
seats to protect them.

•	A baby is not safe being 
held in someone’s arms, 
even when nursing. The force of a crash will throw the 
baby and can result in serious injury or death. 

»» Babies should be in a rear-facing car seat until  
at least age 2 and then use a car seat with a  
harness until about age 5 after which a booster seat 
is needed. 

•	Car seats should not be used if:
»» Involved in a crash.
»» Past the expiration date.
»» Purchased at garage sales or second-hand stores.
»» Second-hand unless history is known.

Pregnant women should always buckle up, 
using the shoulder belt and lap belt under 
the belly and across the hips.

✓
Across your chest
Place between your breasts 
and be sure to remove any 
slack from your seat belt

Shoulder belt
Away from your neck (but 
not off your shoulder)

Lap belt
Secure below your belly so 
that it fits snuggly across 
your hips and pelvic bone

1

2

3

✓
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Heatstroke
•	Never leave anyone, especially a child, elderly person, or 

pet, alone in a vehicle. 
»» A hot vehicle can cause severe injury or death and 
could result in arrest or jail time for the driver. 

•	In 10 minutes, a vehicle’s temperature can rise more than 
20°F (11°C).
•	Even in 60°F (15.5°C) weather, the temperature inside the 

vehicle can reach 110°F (43.3°C).

Bed of the Truck
•	Even at low speeds riding in the bed of a truck,  

covered or uncovered, is dangerous.
»» There’s nothing to keep you safe in the event of  
a crash.

»» A bump or curve can cause riders to be thrown 
from the truck bed.

•	Persons under age 18 may not ride in the open bed of 
a truck at a speed greater than 15 miles per hour (24 
kilometers per hour) on a public roadway.  

»» This does not apply to a vehicle controlled or 
operated by an employer or employee of a farm 
operation, construction business, or similar 
enterprise during the course of work activities.



Things that Impair 
Driving Ability 
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Mobile Phone Use
•	Do not read, manually type, or send a text message  

while driving.
»» Drivers may make mobile phone calls and use GPS 
units affixed to the vehicle.

»» Individual cities, townships, and counties may enact 
mobile phone bans in their jurisdiction. These will be 
posted when entering the area.

•	The fine for a first offense of texting while driving is $100.  

Distracted Driving
•	Drivers who become distracted and commit a traffic 

violation can receive a ticket.
•	Distracted driving can include:

»» Using a cell phone or texting.
»» Eating and drinking.
»» Talking to passengers.
»» Grooming.
»» Reading, including maps.
»» Using a navigation system.
»» Watching a video.
»» Changing the radio station, CD, or MP3 player.

Minors Drinking
•	It is illegal for persons under age 21 to have alcohol in  

their possession.
»» Persons under age 21 may not purchase or 
consume alcohol.  

•	It is illegal to purchase or provide alcohol to persons  
under age 21.

»» Adults are legally responsible if a person under  
age 21 consumes alcohol in their home.  

•	It is illegal for persons under age 21 to operate a vehicle 
while impaired by alcohol at any level.
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Impaired Driving
•	Do not operate a vehicle under the influence of alcohol, 

drugs, or any other intoxicating substance that impairs 
your ability to drive.

»» A driver is considered impaired with a blood alcohol 
content of .08 or higher.

»» A driver can be arrested at any blood alcohol 
content level if police believe he/she is driving while 
impaired.

»» Refusal to take a chemical test will result in a  
suspended license.

 

•	Penalties are higher if convicted with a blood alcohol 
content of .17 or higher.
•	A conviction for operating while intoxicated can result in:

»» A suspended license.
»» Installation of an ignition interlock device.
»» Immobilization of the vehicle.
»» Confiscation of license plates.
»» Denial of automobile registration.

•	Violators can also face points on a driver’s license, heavy 
fines, jail time, and mandatory alcohol use programs. 
The penalties are more severe for drivers with previous 
convictions, even if they are from another state or 
country.
•	When driving or riding in a vehicle, do not possess or 

transport alcohol in an open or uncapped container.



Rules of the 
Road 
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“Move Over” Law
•	For stationary emergency 

vehicles with their flashing  
lights on:

»» Move over one lane, or 
»» Slow down and pass with 
caution if a lane is not 
available. 

•	Failure to move over is four 
points on a driver’s license and 
at least a $150 fine.
•	Types of emergency vehicles 

include:
»» Police vehicles
»» Fire trucks
»» Ambulances or rescue 
vehicles

»» Tow trucks
»» Service or  
courtesy vehicles

School Buses 

•	Treat school buses like traffic signals.
»» No lights (green) = proceed safely
»» Overhead flashing yellow = 
prepare to stop
»» Overhead flashing red = stop

•	Stop at least 20 feet away.
»» Vehicles in both lanes of travel 
must stop. 

»» Vehicles on the opposite side of a 
divided highway do not need to stop. 

•	Slow down in or near school and residential areas where 
children might be playing.

»» Be on the lookout for safety patrols, crossing 
guards, bicycles, and playgrounds.

•	Watch for children between parked vehicles and other 
objects. 



13

Construction Zones
•	Areas of roadway will be marked by signs and orange 

reflective cones and barrels.
»» Drive with extra caution until passing the sign 
indicating end of construction zone.

•	Adjust driving speed for posted limit and keep up with 
the flow of traffic.

»» Lower speed to 45 miles per hour when workers are 
present.

•	Penalties for speeding or 
crashing in a construction 
zone include:

»» Double the fine.
»» Larger number of 
points on a driver’s 
license.

»» Possible jail time.
•	Be courteous; construction 

zones are necessary to 
improve roads and make 
them safe.

Lanes of Travel
•	Vehicles should travel in the right-hand lane if the road 

has two or more lanes of travel in one direction.
»» Exceptions are for passing another vehicle.
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Driving Violations
•	Driver’s license holders are subject to all fees, fines, 

restrictions, laws, and enforcement of Michigan laws.
•	Failure to pay fines and fees or show up in court may 

result in a suspended license as well as additional costs 
and penalties.
•	The reason for the violation will always be listed on the 

ticket.

Traffic Violation Bond
•	Nonresidents who receive a driving violation may be 

asked to pay the police a bond of up to $100 in cash or 
surrender their driver’s license.

»» The money is for the court, not the police.
»» Police will give you a receipt when you pay.

•	Drivers must still pay the ticket or attend court.
»» If attending court within 10 days, the bond will be 
applied toward the fines and court costs, and the 
remaining bond money will be returned.  

»» If payment is remitted by mail, the bond will be 
returned.  

•	Surrendered driver’s licenses will be returned upon 
payment of the ticket or appearance in court.

»» The ticket will be noted to indicate a surrendered 
driver’s license.

»» The ticket is not considered a driver’s license.  
Tickets should be paid as soon as possible to avoid 
driving without a valid license. 
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Interaction with Police 
•	Michigan police are service oriented with the goal of 

keeping you safe. Traffic patrols are meant to reduce 
crashes, injuries, and deaths.
•	When stopped, your safety and the safety of police are 

the primary concerns.
»» Be courteous and cooperative.  
»» Stay in your vehicle unless police ask you to get out.  
Both the driver and passengers may be asked to 
step out.

»» Keep your hands where the police can see them 
and avoid making any sudden moves.  

»» Ask before opening compartments or containers to 
get paperwork.

•	Police have the right to ask to see a driver’s license, 
proof of insurance, and proof of vehicle registration.  

»» Police will not generally ask for proof of legal status 
in the country.

•	If you feel you were not responsible for the violation, you 
have the right to a court hearing.
•	If you feel you were not treated fairly, you have the right 

to contact the police officer’s supervisor.
»» Contact legal services if you need information or 
assistance. 



 Administrative 
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Vehicle registration and insurance
•	Vehicles must be legally registered in Michigan, another 

state, or country of residence.
•	Vehicles operated in Michigan for more than 90 

consecutive days must be registered in Michigan.
•	Proof of valid vehicle insurance may be provided to 

police in paper or electronic form, such as a mobile 
phone.

»» Police may request to have the electronic copy 
forwarded to them for verification.

•	Vehicle owners must purchase Michigan no-fault 
insurance before registering their vehicle. Out-of-state 
insurance policies are not accepted.  

»» Coverage for vehicle damage and vehicle theft are 
not required but are recommended additions.

 Administrative Titling and Registering a Vehicle

When purchasing a vehicle from an  
individual

When purchasing a vehicle from a  
dealership

Purchase vehicle 

Bring title and proof of insurance 
into a Secretary of State office to 
get registration, plate, and tabs  

for the new vehicle

Provide you with copies  
of all documents

You do not need a license plate to drive your 
new vehicle directly home in Michigan  

within 3 days of purchase.

The dealer will:

Make sure you have purchased and 
present proof of Michigan  

no-fault insurance.

It is best if you AND the seller go  
to a Secretary of State office to  

complete the title transfer.

Collect the required fees  
and taxes

Get insurance for your  
new vehicle

Handle all the paperwork for  
title, registration, and plate
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Michigan driver’s license
•	Licensed drivers must be a Michigan resident and U.S. 

citizen or have permanent or temporary legal presence.
»» Residency means you live in Michigan and have 
established you are legally present in the state.

•	A valid driver’s license or state identification card from 
another state or Canada can be used until residency is 
established.
•	Drivers age 17 and younger are licensed under 

Michigan’s Graduated Driver Licensing program unless 
licensed in another state for more than one year.

Country

Operate a  
Vehicle with  
Valid License

Operate a  
Commercial Motor Vehicle with  

Valid Commercial License

Brazil Yes Yes

Colombia Yes Yes

Costa Rica Yes Yes

El Salvador Yes Yes

Guatemala Yes No

Haiti Yes No

Honduras Yes Yes

Jamaica Yes No

Mexico Yes Yes

Nicaragua Yes Yes

Panama Yes Yes

Uruguay Yes Yes
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Foreign driver’s license
•	Nonresidents from certain countries may operate a 

vehicle in Michigan with a valid driver’s license. Select 
countries are listed below. For a complete list visit 
Michigan.gov/SOS.
•	Nonresidents with a valid driver’s license from all other 

countries may operate a vehicle in Michigan as long as 
they:

»» Are not paid or compensated for driving.
»» Are legally present in the United States.
»» Carry a driver’s license with an English translation, 
an International Driving Permit, or corresponding 
document. 

http://Michigan.gov/SOS
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