What is Safe Delivery

of Newborns?

Michigan’s Safe Delivery of
Newborns law is a safe, legal and
confidential way to surrender your
newborn. A baby, up to three days
old, may be given to anyone who is
inside and on duty at any

Hospital

Fire department
Police station
By calling 9-1-1

The newborn will be placed
for adoption.

For more information, you can visit
Michigan.gov/Safe Delivery or by
calling the Safe Delivery Hotline

at 1-866-733-7733.

Michigan’s Safe Delivery

of Newborns Law

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
(MDHHS) does not discriminate against any individual or
group because of race, religion, age, national origin, color,
height, weight, marital status, genetic information, sex,
sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, political
beliefs or disability.

Surrendering your
baby is safe, legal

& confidential.

Michigan’s Safe Delivery
of Newborns Law

Safe Delivery Hotline:
1-866-733-7733
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Not ready? Surrendering your baby is safe, legal, and confidential.

Questions You May Have

Do I have to give any
information about myself?

No, but you may be asked some
questions about your baby's health
to help give them the best care. Any
information you choose to share will
be kept confidential. You may leave
without answering any questions.

What happens to the baby?

Your baby will be taken to the hospital
right away to get any care they may
need. Your baby will be then be placed
for adoption.

What if I want my baby back?

A parent may petition the court

within 28 days of surrender to regain
custody of their baby. After 28 days
the court will legally terminate parental
rights and the baby will be placed for
adoption. Efforts will be made to reach
the non-surrendering parent prior to
the 28th day.

Will I receive information
about my baby’s adoption?

No, there will be no attempt to contact
the surrendering parent, but attempts
will be made to contact the non-
surrendering parent.

Where can I get more information?

For more information you can visit

the Michigan Safe Delivery website
at Michigan.gov/Safe Delivery or
call the 24/7 Safe Delivery Hotline

at 1-866-733-7733.

Safe Ways to Surrender
Your Newborn

Hospital

] 1+

Fire Department

Police Station

Call 9-1-1.

Surrendering parent(s) must give the
newborn to a uniformed employee, inside
and on duty at any of these locations, or a
paramedic or Emergency Medical Technician
(EMT) by calling 9-1-1.

Safe Delivery Hotline 1-866-733-7733




