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Michigan’s Safe Delivery 
of Newborns Fact Sheet

Background:
Michigan’s Safe Delivery of Newborns law is a safe, legal, 
and confidential alternative for parents wishing to surrender 
their baby. More than 200 newborn babies have been 
surrendered through this program to date. 

Summary of Safe Delivery:
A baby, up to three days old, can be taken to a fire 
department, hospital or police station and surrendered to any 
staff person working inside the building. You can also give up 
your baby to a paramedic or Emergency Medical Technician 
(EMT) by calling 9-1-1. You may give up your baby without 
giving any information about yourself or the baby to the 
emergency service provider. 

What should you, as the 
surrendering parent, know? 
•	 When you surrender you baby, they will be sent to a 
	 child-placing agency to be placed with a pre-approved 

adoptive family.  
•	 You may petition the court to regain custody of the 

newborn within 28 days of surrender.
•	 After the 28 days, there will be a hearing to terminate 

parental rights. 
•	 There will be a public notice of the hearing, but the notice 

will not show your name, even if it’s known. 
•	 You will not receive personal notice of this hearing, 
	 even if you have provided a name and address to the 

emergency service provider. 
•	 Any information you provide to the emergency service 

provider will be kept confidential.  
•	 You may file a consent to release identifying information 

with the Adoption Central Registry.

What happens to the baby? 
•	 The baby will be placed for adoption once parental 

rights have been legally terminated.
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Does the non-surrendering 
parent need to know?
•	 It is required that reasonable attempt to identify 
	 the non-surrendering parent for the baby to be 

placed for adoption.
•	 Within 28 days of surrender, the child-placing 

agency will make reasonable efforts to identify, 
locate, and provide notice of the surrender of the 
newborn to the non-surrendering parent.  

Can the parent provide 
background information? 
Yes. You can:

•	 Identify yourself and the other parent 
•	 Provide information about prenatal care 
•	 Provide the family medical history
•	 Sign a release of parental rights
•	 Receive information about confidential medical care

For more information call the 24/7 
Safe Delivery Hotline: 
1-866-733-7733 

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 
does not discriminate against any individual or group because 
of race, religion, age, national origin, color, height, weight, 
martial status, genetic information, sex, sexual orientation, 
gender identity or expression, political beliefs, or disability. 


