
1

Safe Delivery Safe Delivery 
Communications ToolkitCommunications Toolkit

Michigan’s Safe Delivery of Newborns Law

SAFE. LEGAL. CONFIDENTIAL.
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IntroductionIntroduction

Community Outreach and Advocacy

This toolkit is designed to help educate community advocates so they can better promote and raise
awareness of the Safe Delivery of Newborns law among Michigan’s residents.

Michigan’s Safe Delivery of Newborns law provides a parent(s) with a safe, legal, and confidential way to 
surrender a newborn no more than 72 hours old to an emergency service provider (ESP). The biological 
parent(s) must be the person(s) surrendering to an ESP. The surrendering parent(s) can choose 
to share identifying information or not provide any information. 

Many free resources have been developed to ensure that ESPs, adoption agencies, and educators have the 
professional tools needed to ensure they are prepared for a surrendered newborn or to assist in educating 
potential parents about the Safe Delivery law. Examples of these free resources are included in this 
Community Outreach and Advocacy Toolkit.

Thank you for your interest in becoming a Safe Delivery advocate in your community.
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Community Outreach and Advocacy Toolkit Community Outreach and Advocacy Toolkit 

This Toolkit Is for You if You…

•	 Are interested in educating people/community agencies about the option of Safe Delivery.
•	 Have contact with individuals of childbearing age.
•	 Have opportunities to promote Safe Delivery in the community.

Why Should You Care About Michigan’s Safe Delivery 
of Newborns Law?

•	 Since Michigan’s Safe Delivery of Newborns law took effect on January 1, 2001, more than 
240 babies have been surrendered safely. 

•	 Making people aware of their options empowers them to make the best decision possible 
for them and their babies.

Toolkit Goals:

•	 Increase public and professional knowledge about Michigan’s Safe Delivery 
	 of Newborns law.
•	 Reduce abandonment of infants.
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Law BriefLaw Brief

Safe Delivery of Newborns Law

In 2000, infant abandonment was identified as an increasing problem throughout Michigan. 
Stories of newborn babies abandoned in public places were being reported by the media. 
Responding to this increase in infant abandonment, Michigan lawmakers enacted the Safe 
Delivery of Newborns law (effective January 1, 2001 and amended the law in 2002, 2003, 
2006, and 2010) which:

•	 Creates a legal way for the parent(s) to surrender a newborn to an 
emergency service provider (ESP) within 72 hours of birth anonymously 

      or with assurances of confidentiality. 
•	 Defines an ESP as a uniformed or otherwise identified employee or 

contractor of a fire department, hospital, or police station when that 
individual is inside the premises and on duty. An ESP also includes a 
paramedic or an emergency medical technician (EMT) when either of those 
individuals is responding to a 9-1-1 emergency call.

•	 Focuses on achieving permanency for the newborn by an immediate 
placement with a prospective adoptive parent who has an approved 
preplacement assessment.

All 50 states now have some version of the Safe Delivery law. For more information, 
call 888-510-BABY (888-510-2229) or visit the National Safe Haven Alliance at 
www.nationalsafehavenalliance.org.

SAFE DELIVERY IS NOT INTENDED TO BE A SUBSTITUTE FOR RELEASING A CHILD 
FOR ADOPTION UNDER MICHIGAN’S ADOPTION CODE.

http://www.NationalSafeHavenAlliance.org
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Surrender ProcedureSurrender Procedure

Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery

Emergency Service Provider Safe Delivery Flowchart

ESP will accompany surrendered newborn 
and provide information for the transfer 
of custody to the hospital.

Baby born 
in the hospital

Baby born
outside of

 the hospital

Newborn Under 72 Hours Old

Newborn
surrendered to the

hospital staff

Surrendering parent(s) will be asked 
to share information with assurances 

of confidentiality

Newborn Under 72 Hours Old

Parent(s) called
9-1-1, newborn 

surrendered 
to EMS

Parent(s) 
surrendered 

newborn to ESP 
inside hospital, 
(fire or police)

ESP assumes temporary protective custody

Surrendering parent(s) will be asked 
to share information with assurances 

of confidentiality

Fire, EMS or
police will
transfer

surrendered
newborn to

hospital*

Hospital 
assumes temporary 
protective custody

Hospital will 
complete birth

registration

Physician examines 
newborn No abuse or neglect suspected

Contact adoption agency

Adoption agency assumes 
protective custody

Suspects abuse/neglect 
or older than 72 hours

STOP
Safe Delivery Law
Does Not Apply

IMMEDIATELY contact 
Children’s Protective Services

*

https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
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Communications GuidelinesCommunications Guidelines

Help Raise Awareness of Safe Delivery

Often, the message of Safe Delivery does not get shared. Please take advantage of any 
opportunities to educate the public about the safe, legal, and confidential alternative 
provided by the Safe Delivery law.

Snippets:

Spread the word via websites, newsletters, and social media.

•	 #SafeDelivery allows parents to surrender their newborn child, no more than 3 days 
old, to an employee inside and on duty at any hospital, fire department, or 

	 police station, or by calling 9-1-1. Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery
•	 Feeling scared or unsure about your pregnancy? Call the #SafeDelivery hotline 
	 to discuss your options: 866-733-7733. Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery
•	 #SafeDelivery for newborn babies is safe, legal, and confidential. 
	 Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery
•	 #SafeDelivery gives new parents options; learn more today at 
	 Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery
•	 Michigan’s #SafeDelivery law allows for the safe, legal, and confidential surrender 
	 of a newborn. Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery
•	 Michigan’s #SafeDelivery law allows parents to surrender a newborn within 72 hours 
	 of birth: Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery
•	 Not ready? Surrendering your baby is safe, legal, and confidential. 
	 Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery

https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
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Press ReleasePress Release

Safe Delivery of Newborns Press Release

Consider submitting a press release to your local media outlets that focuses on these facts:

•	 Where an infant can be safely surrendered
•	 Parent(s) can surrender confidentially
•	 Criminal charges will not be filed for surrendering through the Safe Delivery law
•	 Number of surrenders since January 1, 2001 (found at Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery)

Format of a Press Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Date

Contact person’s name, phone number (can also include: agency name, fax 
number, email address, and website address)

Headline

City, State – Opening paragraph (should contain: who, what, where, when, why)

Body of text: Should include relevant information, statistics, quotes, etc.

After last paragraph, summarize message one last time. For additional 
information direct readers/viewers to website, resources, etc.

### (Indicates press release is finished; should be no longer than one page.)

If sending to a newspaper or a TV station (by email or regular mail), send to the 
reporter or editor who covers the area you are targeting.

Refer to the next page for a sample press release.

https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
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Press ReleasePress Release

Sample Safe Delivery of Newborns Press Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Date
CONTACT: Name, phone number

Safe Delivery of Newborns Law Saves the Lives of Newborns in Danger of Infant 
Abandonment or Death

City, State – Parents who believe they are unable to raise their newborn child have options 
to safely, legally and, confidentially leave an infant no more than 72 hours old in safe 
places. Parents can surrender their infant to an emergency service provider. An emergency 
service provider is a uniformed or otherwise identified employee or contractor of a hospital, 
fire department, or police station that is inside the building and on duty, or a paramedic or 
emergency medical technician who responds to 
a 9-1-1 call.

The law allows a parent to surrender an infant without breaking any laws or giving any 
identifying information. The parent(s) is/are encouraged to provide family and medical 
background that could be useful to the child in the future. After the newborn is placed in 
the temporary protective custody of the emergency service provider, the infant is examined 
at a hospital, and if no signs of abuse or neglect are found, the infant is released to the 
temporary protective custody of an adoption agency for placement with an approved 
prospective adoptive family.

Since 2001, the Safe Delivery of Newborns law has helped more than 240 babies to be 
safely surrendered. (Updated statistics are on Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery.)

Parents, professionals and the general public can visit Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery for 
more information or call the toll-free 24-hour hotline at 866-733-7733. Free resources are 
available to promote public and professional awareness.

https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
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Safe Delivery Law – Talking PointsSafe Delivery Law – Talking Points

Safe Delivery of Newborns Law Talking Points

•	 Surrendering parents may choose to share or not share their name when surrendering 
	 an infant.
•	 Surrendering parents may also choose to share identifying information with assurances 

that this information will remain confidential.
•	 Only the biological parent(s) may legally surrender an infant.
•	 The infant must be surrendered to an on-duty employee who is inside a hospital, fire 

department or police station or by calling 9-1-1 and surrendering the infant to an EMT 
	 or paramedic.
•	 The surrendered infant must be less than 72 hours old. (A physician will determine the age 

of the infant.)
•	 A surrendered infant is not placed in a foster care home.
•	 A surrendered infant is placed with a pre-approved prospective adoptive family.
•	 The child-placing agency that assumes temporary protective custody of the infant is 

mandated to make a reasonable effort to identify and locate the non-surrendering parent.
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Web and Social ImagesWeb and Social Images

Safe Delivery of Newborns Law – Web and Social Images

Web Image

Social Images
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Promoting Community Outreach and AdvocacyPromoting Community Outreach and Advocacy

Issue:
Although there have been many newborns surrendered since the Safe Delivery of Newborns 
law went into effect in 2001, there are continued media reports of infants who are abandoned. 
Public and professional awareness remains a critical issue. Community agencies and individual 
volunteers can play a vitally important role in keeping the Safe Delivery message current in 
their agency, school, community, or region.

Individual Actions:
•	 Check local hospitals, fire departments and police stations for signs designating the 

building as a Safe Delivery site. Visit Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery for more information.
•	 Check with EMS agencies and/or 9-1-1 dispatch services to determine if they are prepared 
	 for a surrender. Visit Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery for more information.
•	 Distribute Safe Delivery resource materials. Posters, pamphlets, and brochures can be 

displayed/distributed at local businesses, health clinics, coffee shops, laundromats, 
runaway shelters, churches, malls, counseling centers, etc.

•	 Know how to order free resource materials at the MDHHS Health Promotions 
Clearinghouse www.HealthyMichigan.com. Visit Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery 

	 for more information.
•	 Review the Safe Delivery website for updated resource materials and current 
	 statistics on the number of surrenders at Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery.
•	 Identify potential opportunities for Safe Delivery workshop presentations 
	 and/or exhibits.
•	 Contact local television and radio stations and newspapers for opportunities 
	 to promote awareness of the Safe Delivery of Newborns law.
•	 Promote the Safe Delivery Hotline at 866-733-7733.

You can help promote and build awareness 
of Michigan’s Safe Delivery of Newborns law

https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
http://www.HealthyMichigan.com
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
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Promoting Community Outreach and AdvocacyPromoting Community Outreach and Advocacy

Group Actions:
Many of the individual activities can also be done as a group.

•	 Choose Safe Delivery as a community service project and do a variety of awareness 
events/activities.

•	 Set up a display table at a community event, such as a health fair.
•	 Survey local emergency service providers (hospitals, police, sheriff, and fire 

departments, or EMS and paramedics) on their awareness of and participation in 
professional and public promotion of Safe Delivery of Newborns.

How to Engage Community Partners:
•	 Build personal and/or group knowledge of the topic.
•	 Identify resources.
•	 Identify allies that may already be active or might have an interest. 

Identifying Community Partners:
•	 Adoption agencies
•	 Child Abuse and Neglect Councils
•	 Child Death Review Teams
•	 Community service agencies
•	 Department of Health and Human Services
•	 Domestic violence shelters and services
•	 Emergency service providers (ESP): hospitals, fire, police, and EMT or paramedic
•	 Faith-based organizations
•	 Middle and high schools, universities and colleges
•	 Planned Parenthood
•	 Pregnancy counseling programs
•	 Residential programs for teens
•	 Right to Life
•	 Sororities and fraternities
•	 Teen Health Clinics
•	 YMCA, Boys & Girls Clubs

Purpose:
•	 Promoting and raising community awareness of the Safe Delivery of Newborns law.
•	 Developing a strong community base for ongoing efforts to raise awareness.
•	 Distributing free resources to partners to circulate or display.
•	 Ensuring mandated ESPs are knowledgeable about their roles and responsibilities.
•	 Create an ongoing process to sustain public and professional awareness.
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Public Awareness ResourcesPublic Awareness Resources

All materials are available to order at MDHHS Health 
Promotions Clearinghouse (HealthyMichigan.com) and 
on our website Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery
Michigan’s Safe Delivery of Newborns law (effective January 1, 2001) provides legal 
protections for a parent(s) to surrender a newborn within 72 hours of birth in a safe and 
confidential manner to an emergency service provider (ESP): on-duty fire, police and 
hospital personnel, or a paramedic or emergency medical technician who responds 
to a 9-1-1 emergency call. To ensure public awareness of this law we are enlisting the 
assistance of community agencies and organizations to assist us in reaching all women/
parents who might wish to surrender a newborn using the Safe Delivery option.

How Can You Help?
Materials are available at HealthyMichigan.com to publicize and inform the public 
of this law. 

http://www.HealthyMichigan.com
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
http://www.HealthyMichigan.com
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Publications and Forms At A GlancePublications and Forms At A Glance

SAFE. LEGAL. CONFIDENTIAL.

Michigan’s Safe Delivery 
of Newborns Fact Sheet

Background:
Michigan’s Safe Delivery of Newborns law is a safe, legal, 
and confidential alternative for parents wishing to surrender 
their baby. More than 200 newborn babies have been 
surrendered through this program to date. 

Summary of Safe Delivery:
A baby, up to 3 days old, can be taken to a fire department, 
hospital or police station and surrendered to any staff person 
working inside the building. You can also give up your baby 
to a paramedic or Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) by 
calling 9-1-1. You may give up your baby without giving any 
information about yourself or the baby to the emergency 
service provider(“ESP”). 

What should you, as the 
surrendering parent, know? 
• When you surrender your newborn, they will be sent to 

a child-placing agency to be placed with a pre-approved 
adoptive family.  

• You may petition the court to regain custody of the 
newborn within 28 days of surrender.

• After the 28 days, there will be a hearing to terminate 
parental rights. 

• There will be a public notice of the hearing, but the notice 
will not show your name, even if it’s known. 

• You will not receive personal notice of this hearing, 
 even if you have provided a name and address to the ESP. 
• Any information you provide to the ESP will be 
         kept confidential.  
• You may file a consent to release identifying information 

with the Adoption Central Registry.

What happens to the baby? 
• The baby will be placed for adoption once parental 

rights have been legally terminated.

SAFE. LEGAL. CONFIDENTIAL.

Michigan’s Safe Delivery 
of Newborns Fact Sheet

Does the non-surrendering 
parent need to know?
• It is required that reasonable attempt to identify 
 the non-surrendering parent for the baby to be 

placed for adoption.
• Within 28 days of surrender, the child-placing 

agency will make reasonable efforts to identify, 
locate, and provide notice of the surrender of the 
newborn to the non-surrendering parent.  

Can the parent provide 
background information? 
Yes. You can:

• Identify yourself and the other parent 
• Provide information about prenatal care 
• Provide the family medical history
• Sign a release of parental rights
• Receive information about confidential medical care

For more information call the 24/7 
Safe Delivery Hotline: 
1-866-733-7733 

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 
does not discriminate against any individual or group because 
of race, religion, age, national origin, color, height, weight, 
martial status, genetic information, sex, sexual orientation, 
gender identity or expression, political beliefs, or disability. 

What is Safe Delivery 
of Newborns? 
Michigan’s Safe Delivery of 
Newborns law is a safe, legal and 
confidential way to surrender your 
newborn. A baby, up to 3 days old, 
may be given to anyone who is 
inside and on duty at any 

The newborn will be placed 
for adoption.

For more information, you can visit 
Michigan.gov/Safe Delivery or by 
calling the Safe Delivery Hotline 
at 1-866-733-7733.  

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 
(MDHHS) does not discriminate against any individual or 
group because of race, religion, age, national origin, color, 
height, weight, marital status, genetic information, sex, 
sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, political 
beliefs or disability.

Michigan’s Safe Delivery 
of Newborns Law

Safe Delivery Hotline: 
1-866-733-7733

Michigan’s Safe Delivery 
of Newborns Law

Surrendering your 
baby is safe, legal 
& confidential.

Safe Delivery Hotline: 
866-733-7733

•   Hospital
•   Fire department
•   Police station
•   By calling 9-1-1

Surrendering your baby 
is safe, legal & confidential.

1-866-733-7733
Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery 

Safe Delivery Site

Surrendering your baby 
is safe, legal & confidential.
Not ready? Call the Safe Delivery of Newborns Hotline 
at 1-866-733-7733 or visit Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery 
to learn more about giving your baby the best life.

Fact Sheet – ESP gives to parent(s) Window Cling

Brochure – ESP gives to parent(s)

Poster



5

Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently Asked Questions

Law:
1. When did this law take effect? January 1, 2001.

2. In general, what does the law provide?

This law allows the confidential surrender of a newborn, from birth to 72 hours of age, 
to an emergency service provider.

3. Who is an emergency service provider?

“emergency service provider” (ESP) means a uniformed or otherwise identified employee or 
contractor of a hospital, fire department, or police station when that individual is inside the 
premises and on duty. Emergency service provider also includes a paramedic or an emergency 
medical technician (EMT) when either of those individuals is responding to a 9-1-1 emergency 
call. MCL 712.1(f)

A hospital means a hospital that is licensed under Article 17 of the public health code, 
1978 PA 368, MCL 333.20101 to 333.22260. 

Fire department means an organized fire department as that term is defined in Section 1 
of the fire prevention code 1941 PA 207, MCL 29.1 

Police station means a police station as that term is defined in Section 43 of the Michigan 
vehicle code, 1949 PA 300 MCL 257.43. 

4. What written information is the ESP to provide the surrendering parent? 

The ESP is to provide the parent with written materials approved by or produced by the 
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services. The ESP is required to make a 
reasonable effort to give the parent(s) the Safe Delivery of Newborns Fact Sheet, DHS Pub-867.

5. What other information should the ESP share? 

Reasonable effort should be made to inform the parent(s) that by surrendering the newborn, 
the newborn will be placed for adoption and that they will have 28 days to petition the court 
to regain custody of the surrendered child. A reasonable attempt should be made to:

•	 Reassure that shared information will be kept confidential. 
•	 Encourage the parent(s) to identify him/herself.
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Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently Asked Questions

6. Where does an ESP obtain a listing of counseling and medical service providers? 

This information is available from local offices of the Michigan Department of Health 
and Human Services, both mental health and public health departments, pregnancy 
counseling services, and family planning clinics.

7. How does the ESP know if the baby is a newborn? 

This law defines a newborn as “a child who a physician reasonably believes to be 
not more than 72 hours old.” Emergency service providers must comply with the 
requirements of this law under the assumption that the child is a newborn. The hospital 
must immediately accept the newborn without the necessity of a court order. Later in the 
process, if a physician determines that the baby is not a newborn, a report must be made 
to the local office of the Department of Health and Human Services’ (MDHHS) Children’s 
Protective Services (CPS). 

In brief, if the baby appears to be a newborn, follow the procedures outlined in this law.

8. What if the person(s) surrendering the newborn leaves without providing any 
additional information? 

Whether or not the parent(s) provides information has no legal impact on the parent(s).

Emergency service providers are obligated to ask, but the parent(s) is not obligated 
to provide the information.

•	 Encourage the parent(s) to share relevant family/medical history (Voluntary 
Medical Background Form for a Surrendered Newborn DHS-4819 has been 
developed to assist with this). 

•	 Inform the parent(s) that they can receive counseling or medical attention. 
•	 Inform the parent(s) that a reasonable effort must be made to identify the non-

surrendering parent. 
•	 Inform the parent(s) that the child-placing agency can provide confidential 

services. 
•	 Inform the parent(s) that they may voluntarily sign a release for the newborn 
	  to be used in the termination hearing (Voluntary Release for Adoption of 
	 a Surrendered Newborn by Parent DHS-4820).

https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
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Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently Asked Questions

9. What if someone other than a parent surrenders the newborn?

If the person surrendering the newborn is not the biological parent(s), the ESP 
must retain temporary protective custody of the child and immediately contact law 
enforcement who will investigate to determine if the newborn has been abducted, 
abandoned, or involved in other criminal activities. The local Michigan Department of 
Health and Human Services (MDHHS) Children’s Protective Services (CPS) office must be 
contacted if the newborn needs to be placed in foster care pending the completion of 
law enforcement’s investigation. 

10. How will the non-surrendering parent know about the birth and the surrender 
of the baby? 

Statute requires that a reasonable attempt to identify the non-surrendering parent be 
made. If the name and address of that parent is unknown, the child-placing agency 
must provide notice by publication in a newspaper of general circulation in the county 
where the newborn was surrendered. While there is no specific language developed, the 
following is an example of a notification relating to a surrendered newborn: 

To: Birth Father and Birth Mother of Minor Child in the Matter of: Newborn Baby, born 
and surrendered on (list date, time, surrender location (e.g., hospital, police station, 
fire department), city and state). By surrendering your newborn, you are releasing your 
newborn to a child-placing agency to be placed for adoption. You have until (list date 
– 28 days from the surrender of the child) to petition the court to regain custody of 
your child. After the 28 days there will be a hearing to terminate your parental rights. 
There will be a public notice of this hearing; however, the notice will not contain your 
names. You will not receive personal notice of the hearing. You, as the parent(s), can 
call (list agency with phone number and, if required, the court’s information) for further 
information. 

State of Michigan,
(Name of court) Circuit Court, Family Division
Publication of Notice
Safe Delivery of Newborns (MCL 712.1) 
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Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently Asked Questions

11. What if the newborn is found abandoned on the hospital, fire department or 
police station premises?

Follow the policy on child abuse and/or neglect, reporting to the Children’s Protective 
Services central intake, and appropriate law enforcement.

12. What if a parent(s) returns to the hospital, fire department or police station 
following the surrender and requests return of the newborn?
 
The newborn should not be returned to the parent(s) under these circumstances. 
Personnel should advise the parent(s) of their right to file an action in Circuit Court, 
Family Division for custody of the newborn within 28 days of surrender.

13. To what Circuit Court, Family Division does the surrendering parent(s) file for 
custody if, after surrender, they wish to do so? 

The custody action is to be filed in one of the following: 

14. The law indicates that the newborn surrendered at a fire department or police 
station must be transferred to the hospital. How should this be done? 

The newborn must be transported to the hospital. Personnel are to transfer temporary 
protective custody of the newborn to the hospital staff. The transporting of a 
surrendered newborn to the hospital by fire and police personnel is not addressed in 
statute. Personnel are encouraged to contact their respective areas for protocol and/or 
procedures. 

•	 (a) If the parent has located the newborn, the county where the newborn 
	 is located.
•	 (b) If subdivision (a) does not apply and the parent knows the location 
	 of the emergency service provider to whom the newborn was surrendered, 
	 the county where the emergency service provider is located.
•	 (c) If neither subdivision (a) nor (b) applies, the county where the parent 
	 is located. 
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Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently Asked Questions

15. Should the initial clinical assessment of the newborn, at the hospital, include a 
complete physical examination? 

Probate code 1939 PA 288 of 1939, MCL 712.5.2 states, “A hospital that takes a 
newborn into temporary protective custody under this chapter shall have the newborn 
examined by a physician. If a physician who examines the newborn either determines 
that there is reason to suspect the newborn has experienced child abuse or child 
neglect, other than being surrendered to an emergency service provider under Section 
3 of this chapter, or comes to a reasonable belief that the child is not a newborn, the 
physician shall immediately report to the department as required by Section 3 of the 
child protection law, 1975 PA 238, MCL 722.623.” 

Results of the complete clinical examination should be documented, include the 
estimated age of the newborn, results of the physical examination, and recommended 
care plan. 

16. What should be done if, during the hospital’s clinical assessment, signs of abuse 
and/or neglect are present? 

If the physician examining the newborn has reason to suspect that the newborn has 
experienced abuse and/or neglect (for reason other than being surrendered to an ESP) 
the physician must immediately report to the local Michigan Department of Health and 
Human Services (MDHHS) Children’s Protective Services (CPS) office and file a Report of 
Suspected Child Abuse or Neglect. 

17. Does the hospital have to obtain written consent to treat and/or transfer the 
newborn? 

No. 

18. Do ESPs have legal protection against lawsuits relating to accepting 
surrendered newborns? 

Hospital and child-placing agency staff are immune from civil actions for accepting or 
transferring a newborn under the Safe Delivery law, unless they act with gross negligence 
or willful or wanton misconduct. ESPs are entitled to immunity described above and are 
also entitled to immunity per 1964 PA 170, MCL 691.1401 to 691.1415.
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Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently Asked Questions

19. Will the surrendered newborn be eligible for Medicaid?  

An application for Medicaid may be made for newborns surrendered under the 
Safe Delivery of Newborns law by the provider hospital, child-placing agency, court-
appointed lawyer guardian ad litem, or prospective adoptive parent. Assistance in 
applying for Medicaid can be obtained from a local Michigan Department of Health and 
Human Services (MDHHS) office.

20. Who applies for the birth registration for the newborn?  

Hospital personnel will follow hospital procedures for completing the birth registration:

The birth registration information must be supplied on a current “Certificate of Live 
Birth” (Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, form number DCH-0481).
The procedures for birth registration can be found in the State Registrar’s Instruction 
Letter Number 2. If further assistance is needed, contact the Registration Unit, Office of 
Vital Records and Health Statistics, Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 
(MDHHS) at 517-335-6506.

21. Following an examination at a hospital and if the newborn is unharmed, what is 
the next step for the hospital?  

The hospital must notify a child-placing agency for placement.

22. Where does the hospital obtain a listing of child-placing agencies that handle 
adoptions?   

A listing of Michigan private adoption agencies that will provide a placement for a 
surrendered newborn in an approved adoptive home is available in the Safe Delivery of 
Newborns Adoption Agency Directory at Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery.

•	 The newborn’s name will be recorded as Baby Doe
•	 The mother’s name will be recorded as Unknown
•	 Child-Placing Agency/Adoption Agency will sign the birth certificate 
	 as the informant
•	 The birth registration needs to be completed within five days. 

https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
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23. What are the responsibilities of a child-placing agency that has taken a newborn 
under this law? 

Child-Placing Agency Responsibilities: 
Immediately assume the care, control and temporary protective custody of newborn. 

24. How do I contact the Michigan Missing Child Information Clearinghouse and the 
National Center for Missing and Exploited Children?  

 

The National Center for Missing and Exploited Children telephone number 
is 1-800-THE LOST (843-5678)

25. The child-placing agency that has temporary protective custody of a newborn 
under the Safe Delivery of Newborns Act will be required to complete court forms. 
What forms have been developed and how does the agency access them?   

The State Court Administrator’s Office has approved forms to be used related to the 
surrendered newborn. These forms are available from the Family Division of Circuit 

•	 If parent(s) is/are known and willing, immediately meet with the parent(s). 
•	 Unless otherwise provided in MCL 712.7, make a temporary placement 

of the newborn with a prospective adoptive parent who has an approved 
preplacement assessment. 

•	 Unless the birth was witnessed by an ESP, immediately request assistance from 
law enforcement officials to investigate and determine whether the newborn is 
a missing child through the Michigan Missing Child Information Clearinghouse 
as well as the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children. 

•	 Within 48 hours after transferring physical custody to a prospective adoptive 
parent(s), petition the court for authority to place and provide care for the 
newborn. 

•	 Within 28 days, make reasonable effort to identify and locate the non-
surrendering parent. If that parent’s identity and address are unknown, the 
child-placing agency must provide notice of the surrender by publication.

Michigan State Police
7150 Harris Drive 
Dimondale, MI 48821
Telephone Number 1-800-525-5555 or 1-517-332-2521
Michigan State Police Information on Missing Children  
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Court. They are also available on the Michigan Courts website, www.Courts.Michigan.gov. 
For easy reference, the form numbers and titles have been provided:

26. Where can I get more information about the Safe Delivery law? 

For more information about Safe Delivery of Newborns, please visit 
Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery or call the 24/7 toll-free Safe Delivery Hotline 
866-733-7733. 

•	 CCFD-01 Petition for Placement Order of Surrendered Newborn Child
•	 CCFD-02 Order Placing Surrendered Newborn with Prospective 

Adoptive Parents
•	 CCFD-03 Petition of Parent for Custody of Surrendered Newborn Child
•	 CCFD-04 Order for Blood or Tissue Typing or DNA Profile
•	 CCFD-05 Motion Objecting to DNA Identification Profile or Blood/

Tissue Typing Summary Report
•	 CCFD-06 Order Determining Custody of Surrendered Newborn Child
•	 CCFD-07 Petition to Accept Release and Terminate Rights to 

Surrendered Newborn Child

http://www.Courts.Michigan.gov
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
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Safe Delivery Communications Toolkit: 
Promoting Public and Professional Awareness 

866.733.7733
Michigan.gov/SafeDelivery

SAFE. LEGAL. CONFIDENTIAL.

https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71548_7200---,00.html
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