
   
Annual Intrastate Limousine Certificate of Authority  

Renewal Notice   
   

Renewal period: Jan. 1 – Last day of February.   
   
To renew your Certificate of Authority:     

1. Update Limousine Registration and Safety Inspection Roster Sheet (see attached).   
a. Correct address   
b. Correct telephone number and e-mail    
c. Correct vehicles (with license plate numbers)   

2. Pay $50 renewal registration fee for each for-hire vehicle. Payments can be made by check, 
money order, or credit card (see below).   

   

Important Notes:  o Walk in appointments will not be available – no exceptions.  

o Renewal fees and late inspections fees must be paid by the last day of February.    

o If you have added, sold or removed any vehicles, changes must be made using the “Addition 

of Vehicle - Limo” or the “Deletion of Vehicle” forms.   

o Each for-hire vehicle must pass an annual safety inspection by the end of the month the 

inspection expires. Decals will not be issued to carriers with expired inspections and late 

inspection fees. Check the limousine roster for inspection expiration dates.    

o We are not responsible for any lost or stolen decals.     
   

What happens if your vehicles are not renewed before March 1?   
1. Your company does not comply with the conditions of the Certificate of Authority.    
2. Your certificate will be revoked March 1st, as described in Public Act 271 of 1990.   
3. Pay $300 to obtain a new Certificate of Authority.   
4. Pay $50 to register each for-hire vehicle (receive new decal).   

   
Payment Information:   
   

Check or Money Order    Credit Card    
Make check payable to: State of Michigan.   Call MDOT cashier's office 517-373-1506.   
Write “Limousine Registration” in the memo area 
of the check.   

Pay $50 per vehicle.   



Send any completed paperwork and payment of 
$50 per vehicle to:   

Send any completed paperwork to:   

Michigan Department of Transportation   
Cashier's Office   
P.O. Box 30648    

Lansing, MI 48909   

Michigan Department of Transportation   
Bus & Limousine Regulatory Unit B-425 

P.O. Box 30050   
Lansing, MI 48909   

Must be postmarked on or before the last day of 
February.   

Must be paid on or before the last day of 
February.   

   
For more information or questions:   
Robbie Smith (companies A - K): 517-241-0679, smithr@michigan.gov   
Michelle Weber-Currie (companies L - Z): 517-241-0680, weberM3@michigan.gov   
For forms, guidance documents, and other information, visit us at www.michigan.gov/busandlimo.   

http://www.michigan.gov/mdot

