Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission

Hybrid Public Hearing held in-person and via Zoom Webinar due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic, pursuant to 2020 PA 254 (MCL 15.263 and 15.263a), and in compliance with Section 6(10) of Article 4 of Michigan's 1963 Constitution

Full agenda, presentations, transcripts, and video recordings are available at RedistrictingMichigan.org

Tuesday, May 11, 2021 6:02 PM – 9:18 PM at American 1 Credit Union Event Center

American I Credit Union Event Center 128 W. Ganson St., Jackson, MI 49001

MINUTES

PRESENT: Douglas James Clark

Juanita Curry Anthony Eid Brittni Kellom

Rhonda Lange (attending remotely from Reed City, MI)

Steven Terry Lett Cynthia Orton MC Rothhorn Rebecca Szetela Janice Vallette

Erin Wagner (attending remotely from Charlotte, MI)

Richard Weiss

Dustin Joseph Witjes

ABSENT: N/A

OTHERS PRESENT: Suann Hammersmith, Executive Director

Julianne V. Pastula, General Counsel

Edward Woods III. Communications and Outreach Director

Michigan Department of State ("MDOS") staff

CALL TO ORDER

Commissioner Kellom, Chair, called the hearing of the Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (MICRC) to order at 6:02 PM.

ROLL CALL

MDOS staff called roll. All Commissioners were present and a quorum was met.

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Commissioner Rothhorn provided a history of the MICRC including its strategic plan. Executive Director Hammersmith outlined the purpose of the MICRC and the hearings. General Counsel Pastula articulated the guidelines for providing public comment.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Commissioner Kellom, Chair, opened the floor to public comment. There were 70 individuals who provided in-person public comment: Chris Murphy, Roberta Stanley, Connor Wood, Monica Day, Ryan Husse, James Johnson, Jr., Roberta Joeng, Laurence Kloss, Juliana Moore, Amador Ybarra, Charles Lang, Jeff Reynhout, Marcy Jankovich, Ian Robinson, Caron Wootten, Terri McKinnon, Eric Cullum, Chris Smith, Edward Kriewell, Bill Richardson, Frederick Trexler, G. David Foster, Tony Bair, Warren Renando, Hank Choat, Marian Gray, Geoff Lowes, Daveda Quinn, Kathleen Thorrez, Bruce Barton, Nate Mulvihill, Elise Lang, John King, Quentin Turner, Alicia Williams, Seniaj Mahoney, Stephanie Finegan, Judith Hammerle, Heather McDougall, Myeshia Jones, Scott Leach, Alex McKay, Teresa Reynhout, Dairus Reynnet, Bruce Barloud, Vanessa Mulnix, John Calhoun, Barbara Dame, Jeff Feahr, Sue Macrellis, Marguerite Clevenger, Tim Golding, Matt Dame, Tod Wysor, Delia Johnson, Becky Cook, Elizabeth Ferszt, Mike Cox, Cynthia Richardson, Brian Greminger, Rob Zimmerman, Dave Stoll, Granville Hayworth, Granville Hayworth III, George Mohring, Kathy Johson, Russ Jennings, Jonathan Byrd, and Dim Mang. There were 2 individuals who provided remote public comment: Regen Sahl and Douglas Helzerman.

A full inventory of live and written public comment is available at RedistrictingMichigan.org.

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

Executive Director Hammersmith thanked the community volunteers and individuals, who gave public comment. Director Hammersmith announced the next public hearing would take place on Thursday, May 13, in Kalamazoo.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, Commissioner Kellom, Chair, called for a motion to adjourn.

MOTION: Adjourn the hearing. Motion by Commissioner Witjes. Supported by Commissioner Curry. Commissioner Kellom, Chair, held a vote by show of hands. MOTION UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.

The hearing was adjourned at 9:18 PM.