DRIVE SAFELY IN MICHIGAN
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Seat Belts

« Michigan law requires

drivers, front seat
ﬁ passengers, and all rear
% Away from your neck (but

Seat passengers age not off your shoulder)

15 and younger to wear

Seat beltS. Place between your breasts

. and be sure to remove any

« Police may pu|| over a slack from your seat belt

vehicle if the driver or

front seat passengers that 1 T sniggly aerons

are not using seat belts. your hips and pelvic bone
» Seat belts secure you Pregnant women should always buckle up,

in the vehicle, which using the shoulder belt and lap belt under

reduces the risk of the belly and across the hips.

serious injury or death in
a crash.

» Air bags are designed to work with seat belts.

Children in Vehicles
« Michigan law requires

children to be restrained in a Attach top fether
’ car seat or booster seat until : :

at least age 8 or 4'9"

» Children do not fit in

(144.78 cm) tall.
seat belts and need car Fasten lower #\

attachments to

seats to protect them. SRt

» Babies should be in a
rear-facing car seat until
at least age 2 and then use a car seat with a
harness until approximately age 5, at which time a
booster seat is needed.

« Nursing a baby while the vehicle is moving
is prohibited.
« When obtaining a car seat, do not use it if:
» The seat has been involved in a crash previously.
» The seat is past the manufaturer’s expiration date.
» The history of the seat is unknown to you
(if purchased at a garage sale or resale store).



Heatstroke

- Never leave anyone, especially a child, elderly person, or
pet, alone in a vehicle.

» A hot vehicle can cause severe injury or death, and
could result in arrest or jail time for the driver.

« In 10 minutes, a vehicle’s temperature can rise more than
20°F (11°C).

« Even in 60°F (15.5°C) weather, the temperature inside the
vehicle can reach 110°F (43.3°C).

Bed of the Truck

« Even at low speeds, riding in the bed of a truck,
covered or uncovered, is dangerous.
» There’s nothing to keep you safe in the event of
a crash.
» A bump or curve can cause riders to be thrown
from the truck bed.

« Persons under age 18 may not ride in the open bed of
a truck at a speed greater than 15 miles per hour (24
kilometers per hour) on a public roadway.

» This does not apply to a vehicle controlled or
operated by an employer or employee of a farm
operation, construction business, or similar
enterprise during the course of work activities.
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Mobile Phone Use

« Michigan law prohibits reading, manually typing, or
sending a text message while driving.
» Drivers may make mobile phone calls and use
GPS units affixed to the vehicle, but this distracting
behavior should be avoided, if possible.

» Individual cities, townships, and counties may enact
mobile phone bans in their jurisdiction. These will be
posted when entering the area.

« The fine for a first offense of texting while driving is
at least $100.

Distracted Driving

« Drivers who become distracted and commit a traffic
violation can receive a ticket.

« Examples of distracted driving can include:
» Using a cell phone or texting.
» Eating and drinking.
» Grooming.
» Reading, including maps.
» Using a navigation system.
» Watching a video.
» Changing the radio station, CD, or MP3 player.

Minors Drinking

« It is illegal for persons under age 21 to have alcohol in
their possession.

» Persons under a?e 21 may not purchase or
consume alcohol.

« It is illegal to purchase or provide alcohol to persons
under age 21.

» Adults are legally responsible if a person under
age 21 consumes alcohol in their home.

- It is illegal for persons under age 21 to operate a vehicle
while impaired by alcohol at any level.

« When driving or riding in a vehicle, do not possess or
transport alcohol in an open or uncapped container.



Impaired Driving
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« Do not operate a vehicle under the influence of alcohol,
drugs, or any other intoxicating substance that impairs
your ability to drive.

» A driver is considered impaired with a blood alcohol
content of .08 or higher.

» A driver can be arrested at any blood alcohol
content level if police believe he/she is driving while
impaired.

» Refusal to take a chemical test will result in a
suspended license.

« Penalties are higher if convicted with a blood alcohol
content of .17 or higher.

« A conviction for operating while intoxicated can result in:
» A suspended license.
» Installation of an ignition interlock device.
» Immobilization of the vehicle.
» Confiscation of license plates.
» Denial of automobile registration.

« Violators can also face points on a driver’s license, heavy
fines, jail time, and mandatory alcohol use programs.
The penalties are more severe for drivers with previous
convictions, even if they are from another state or
country.

« When driving or riding in a vehicle, do not possess or
transport alcohol in an open or uncapped container.
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“Move Over” Law
« For stationary emergency

vehicles with their flashing
lights on:
» Move over one lane, or

» Slow down and pass with
caution if a lane Iis not
available.

« Failure to move over is four
points on a driver’s license and
at least a $150 fine.

- Types of emergency vehicles
include:
» Police vehicles.
» Fire trucks.

» Ambulances or rescue
vehicles.

» Tow trucks.

» Service or
courtesy vehicles.

School Buses
« Treat school buses like traffic signals.

» No lights (green) = proceed safely. = C
» Overhead flashing yellow = prepare s Ay ()
to stop. ;.Rc:)scuoomus@la:: =

» Overhead flashing red = stop. &
- Stop at least 20 feet away. ﬂ ©
» Vehicles in both lanes of travel . -
must stop.

» Vehicles on the opposite side of a
divided highway do not need to stop.

« Slow down in or near school and residential areas where
children might be playing.

» Be on the lookout for safety patrols, crossing
guards, bicycles, and playgrounds.

« Watch for children between parked vehicles and
other objects.
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Construction Zones

« Areas of roadway will be marked by signs and orange
@ reflective cones and barrels.

» Drive with extra caution until passing the sign
indicating the end of construction zone.
« Adjust driving speed to posted limit.
» Lower speed to 45 miles per hour when workers are
present.

« Penalties for speeding or crashing in a construction zone
include: !
» Double the fine. m A
AR (55
» Larger number of W ‘i"l" :
boints on a driver’s L
icense. | .

» Possible jail time.

« Be courteous; construction
zones are necessary to
improve roads and make
them safer.

Lanes of Travel

« Vehicles should travel in the right-hand lane if the road
has two or more lanes of travel in one direction.

» Exceptions are for passing another vehicle.
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Driving Violations

« Driver’s license holders are subject to all fees, fines,
restrictions, laws, and enforcement of Michigan laws.

« Failure to pay fines and fees or show up in court may
result in a suspended license as well as additional costs
and penalties.

« The reason for the violation will always be listed on
the ticket.

Traffic Violation Bond

« Drivers must still pay the ticket or attend court.

» If attending court within 10 days, the bond will be
applied toward the fines and court costs, and the
remaining bond money will be returned.

» If payment is remitted by mail, the bond will be
returned.

« Surrendered driver’s licenses will be returned upon
payment of the ticket or appearance in court.

» The ticket will be noted to indicate a surrendered
driver’s license.

» The ticket is not considered a driver’s license.
Tickets should be paid as soon as possible to avoid
driving without a valid license.
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Getting Pulled Over

« What to do when you see emergency lights behind you:
» Safely pull over to the right side of the road.
» Stay calm and wait for the officer.

« What to do when you pull over:
» Stay in your car.
» Keep both hands on the steering wheel.
» Ask passengers to keep their hands visible.

« How to interact with an officer:
» Speak calmly.

» Provide your driver’s license, vehicle registration,
and proof of insurance.

» Do NOT offer or give money to the officer.
» If asked, exit the vehicle.

« Know your rights:

» If you feel you don’t deserve a ticket, you can
dispute it in court. Do not argue the ticket during the
traffic stop.

» Contact a supervisor after the traffic stop if you feel
the officer’s actions were inappropriate.

« What to do after the stop:
» Buckle your seatbelt.
» Make sure it is safe to re-enter the roadway.
» Use your turn signal as you re-enter traffic.
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Vehicle Registration and Insurance

« Vehicles must be legally registered in Michigan, another
state, or country of residence.

CHK4PLS
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« Vehicles operated in Michigan for more than 90
consecutive days must be registered in Michigan.

« Proof of valid vehicle insurance may be provided to
police in paper or electronic form, such as on a mobile
phone.

» Police may request to have the electronic copy
forwarded to them for verification.

« VVehicle owners must purchase Michigan no-fault
insurance before registering their vehicle. Out-of-state
insurance policies are not accepted.

» Coverage for vehicle damage and vehicle theft are
not required, but are recommended additions.

Titling and Registering a Vehicle

When purchasing a vehicle from an
individual

Purchase vehicle

In Michigan, you may drive your new vehicle
directly home without a license plate, so
long as it’s within three days of purchase.

Get insurance for your
new vehicle

Bring title and proof of insurance
into a Secretary of State office to
get registration, plate, and tabs
for the new vehicle

It is best if you AND the seller go
to a Secretary of State office to
complete the title transfer.

When purchasing a vehicle from a
dealership

The dealer will:
Handle all the paperwork for

title, registration, and plate

Make sure you have purchased and
present proof of Michigan
no-fault insurance.

Collect the required fees
and taxes

Provide you with copies
of all documents
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Michigan Driver’s License

« Licensed drivers must be a Michigan resident and U.S.
citizen or have permanent or temporary legal presence.

» Residency means you live in Michigan and have
established you are legally present in the state.

« A valid driver’s license or state identification card from
another state or Canada can be used until residency is
established.

« Drivers age 17 and younger are licensed under
Michigan’s Graduated Driver Licensing program unless
licensed in another state for more than one year.

DRIVER LICENSE

s 76 615 067108 334 -2015
poB 05-01-1977 0 -2019 os0177
ANNE CARR DRIVER

123 NORTH STATE ST.
LANSING, MI 48918-0000

8 SexF Hgt 50 =
Lic Type 0 End NONE
Restrictions NonE

a/w(\w;biw : i DONOR Y.

DD 0130002456789, Rev01-212011
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Foreign Driver’s License

« Nonresidents from certain countries may operate a
vehicle in Michigan with a valid driver’s license. Select
countries are listed below. For a complete list visit
Michigan.gov/SOS.

« Nonresidents with a valid driver’s license from all other
countries may operate a vehicle in Michigan as long as
they:

» Are not paid or compensated for driving.
» Are legally present in the U.S.

» Carry a driver’s license with an English translation,
an International Driving Permit, or corresponding

document.
Operate a Operate a
Vehicle with Commercial Motor Vehicle with
Valid License Valid Commercial License

Brazil Yes Yes
Colombia Yes Yes
Costa Rica Yes Yes
El Salvador Yes Yes
Guatemala Yes No
Haiti Yes No
Honduras Yes Yes
Jamaica Yes No
Mexico Yes Yes
Nicaragua Yes Yes
Panama Yes Yes
Uruguay Yes Yes
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This guide was developed by the Michigan State Police,

Grants and Community Services Division, 2018.



