STATE OF MICHIGAN

BEFORE THE MICHIGAN PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

EE e I
In the matter on the Commission’s own motion )
to implement the provisions of 2013 PA 95. ) Case No. U-17377
)

At the July 22, 2014 meeting of the Michigan Public Service Commission in Lansing,
Michigan.
PRESENT: Hon. John D. Quackenbush, Chairman

Hon. Greg R. White, Commissioner
Hon. Sally A. Talberg, Commissioner

ORDER

2013 PA 95 (Act 95), MCL 460.9t, created the Low-Income Energy Assistance Fund (LIEAF)
within the State Treasury. Section 9t(5) of Act 95 provides that money from the LIEAF shall be
expended by the Department of Human Services as provided in the Michigan Energy Assistance
Act, 2012 PA 615.

Act 95 provides that the Commission, after an opportunity to comment, may annually approve
a low-income energy assistance funding factor no later than July 31 of each year for the
subsequent fiscal year. Section 9t(10)(B) of Act 95 provides that the funding factor is a
nonbypassable surcharge to be added to each retail billing meter (but no more than one residential
meter per residential site), payable monthly by every customer receiving retail distribution service
from an electric utility, municipally owned electric utility, or cooperative electric utility, regardless
of the identity of the customer’s electric generation supplier. The funding factor shall be the same

across all customer classes, shall appear as a separate line item on each customer’s bill, and shall



not exceed $1. Section 9t(7) provides that electric utilities, including the municipally owned and
cooperative electric utilities, may elect not to collect the funding factor by annually filing a notice
with the Commission by July 1; however, utilities that do not collect the funding factor shall not
shut off service to any residential customer from November 1 to April 15 for nonpayment of a
delinquent account. For utilities that do not opt out, Section 9t(8) provides that they shall
annually, by July 1, provide to the Commission the number of retail billing meters the utility
serves in Michigan that are subject to the funding factor. The Commission will thereafter
determine the funding factor by July 31.

Section 9t(6) provides that “The amount used by the public service commission to calculate a
low-income energy assistance funding factor during each fiscal year shall not exceed
$50,000,000.00 minus both the amount appropriated from the general fund in that fiscal year for
home energy assistance and the amount remaining in the fund from the prior fiscal year.” The
Commission is informed that the latter two amounts are currently zero.

Based on information filed as of July 1, 2014, the Commission issued an order on July 8,
2014, proposing a funding factor of $0.97 for September 2014 through August 2015, and
providing for the filing of comments through July 15, 2014. The Commission did not receive any
comments on the proposed funding factor.

Based upon the utilities’ elections and meter count information, and taking into account the
funding target of $50,000,000, the Commission finds that the LIEAF funding factor shall be $0.97

per meter per month for the September 2014 through August 2015 billing months.

THEREFORE IT IS ORDERED that:
A. The Low Income Energy Assistance Fund funding factor is $0.97 per meter per month for

the September 2014 through August 2015 billing months. Utilities that have elected to participate
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shall begin collecting the nonbypassable surcharge in conformance with 2013 PA 95 for the
September 2014 billing month. Utilities that have opted out of collection of the surcharge shall
not shut off service to any residential customer from November 1, 2014, to April 15, 2015, for
nonpayment of a delinquent account.

B. Utilities whose rates are regulated by the Commission and who opted to collect the
surcharge shall, within 30 days of the date of this order, file a tariff sheet with the Commission

reflecting the surcharge.

The Commission reserves jurisdiction and may issue further orders as necessary.

Any party desiring to appeal this order must do so in the appropriate court within 30 days after

issuance and notice of this order, under MCL 462.26.

MICHIGAN PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

John D. Quackenbush, Chairman

Greg R. White, Commissioner

Sally A. Talberg, Commissioner

By its action of July 22, 2014.

Sally L. Wallace, Acting Executive Secretary
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