
 

 

Make Sure Your Mover Has A License! 
 

If you are planning to 
hire a household goods 
moving company to 
move you within the 
state of Michigan, make 
sure the company you 
choose has a license 
from the Michigan 
Public Service 

Commission (MPSC).  Recent changes in 
state law now require all intrastate 
household goods movers to have a license 
or “operating authority” from the MPSC.  An 
intrastate mover is defined as one that 
operates only within the state.  You can tell 
if an operator is licensed by looking for the 
required MPSC numbers and current year 
decal on the side of the truck’s cab. 
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The new state law has a number of 
consumer protection provisions.  

 
 

Some of these provisions include: 
 You may now negotiate the cost 
you pay for local moves (under 
40 miles).  Getting the best price 
may require you to get more 
than one estimate. 

 Moves over 40 miles are subject 
to regulated rates – but total 
cost may vary based on the 
number of additional services 
required. 

 Carriers may be financially 
responsible for actual loss or 
damage to property caused during 
a move, subject to the provisions  
of the new law. 

Remember, a mover is breaking the 
law if they are moving you and are 
unlicensed.  And it may cost you more 
than you bargained for! 
 
For more information on rights and 
responsibilities when contracting to 
make a household goods move within 
Michigan, please contact the Michigan 
Public Service Commission, Motor 
Carrier, Energy Grants and Information 
Division at 517.241.6030.

 


