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Natural gas choice is here

Michigan residential natural gas customers may have the option to purchase their natural gas
from an Alternative Gas Supplier (AGS) or remain a full-service customer with their current
gas utility.

Things you should know about Michigan’s gas Become an informed shopper: questions to ask

customer choice program » What rate will be charged? Will the rate

remain constant for the term of the contract
(a “fixed rate”) or can the rate change from
month to month (a “variable rate”)?

« You do not have to switch to an AGS.

o If you stay as a full-service customer of your
current utility, your natural gas rates will
continue to be regulated by the Michigan « Is there a penalty after the 30-day
Public Service Commission (MPSC). unconditional cancellation period? If so, how

much? (The cancellation penalty could be a set

If you choose to purchase your natural gas
*my P y g amount)

from an AGS, the gas rate you are charged for
natural gas will NOT be regulated by the MPSC. « What happens when the contract ends? Does
You will be responsible for choosing the AGS it continue unless steps are taken to cancel it?
and committing to a contract made between If it does continue, will | be contacted about
you and the AGS. price changes? If so, how?

o Whether you stay with your utility as a « All residential customers must be mailed a
full-service natural gas customer or contract confirmation letter from the AGS within
with an AGS for your natural gas supply, your seven days of signing the contract. ~*<P
current natural gas utility will continue to

deliver the natural gas, read your meter, bill « All residential and small commercial customers
’ ’

are entitled to a 30-day unconditional

your account, and handle emergencies as it
does now. Your natural gas utility will also
continue to charge you for delivery and
customer charges as it does now at rates
regulated by the MPSC. When you receive your
bill, you will pay your current natural gas utility
and it, in turn, will pay your AGS.
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cancellation period, starting from the day after
they initially sign. ABCD

If you decide to cancel your AGS contract and
return to full-service from your natural gas
utility, contact your AGS. Cancellations can be
done through verbal or written communication
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with the AGS. It may take two to six weeks
for the change to appear on your bill. *#*“°

« You may change AGSs one time in any
12-month period at no cost to you. A $10 fee
will be charged by your utility for each
additional change of AGS within the same
12-month period. The change will occur at
the beginning of the utility’s next billing
cycle. ABCD

Further assistance

If a problem cannot be resolved by speaking
with your AGS or utility company, contact the
MPSC at

800-292-9555 or online at
www.michigan.gov/mpsc

For more information about the Gas Customer
Choice Program, go to the MPSC's website:
www.michigan.gov/CompareMIGas

’;DTE Gas Co. Rate Book, Section F
Consumers Energy Co. Rate Book, Section F

DMichigan Gas Co. Rate Book, Section F
Semco Energy Co. Rate Book, Section F

Sample bills of a full service utility customer and an AGS gas choice customer are compared below.

Example Full-Service Customer Utility Bill

Example AGS Customer Utility Bill

Current Charges

Current Charges

Customer Charge’ $11.50 | |Customer Charge’ $11.50
Supplemental Charges® Supplemental Charges®

Gas Cost Recovery or a Alternative Natural Gas Suppliers Charge or

Cost of Gas Charge”? AGS Cost of Gas Charge™?

)

Distribution Charge1 100 Ccf @ 0.163440 = $16.34

Distribution Charge1 100 Ccf @ 0.163440 = $16.34

Charges assessed by your utility for meter reading, billing, and delivering (distributing) the gas to your
home. Supplemental charges may include reservation, balance and demand, and energy optimization utility
charges. These charges are regulated by the MPSC and are mostly the same whether you are a full-service or

choice customer.

®Gas Cost Recovery (GCR) or Cost of Gas Charge is the price per Ccf (hundred cubic feet) for gas used during
the billing period. The annual GCR price may fluctuate within a range set by the MPSC for full-service

customers.

3AGS Cost of Gas Charge is the price paid if you are a choice customer. This price is not regulated by the
MPSC. It is this price that you compare with the GCR price for full-service customers. Depending on your
contract, this price may be fixed for the term of your contract or may vary during the contract term.

The contents of this document are valid at the time of publication and may be subject to change.
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