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Michigan Establishes Training Standards for 911 Operators 
 

 
For Immediate Release:       January 3, 2013 
 
LANSING.  On Dec. 13, 2012, the Emergency 911 Service Standards of Training for 911 operators were 

filed with the Secretary of State and took immediate effect.  The rules, the first of their kind for 911 

operators in Michigan, establish basic and advanced training, as well as continuing education 

requirements for 911 operators statewide.   

 

States vary in their levels of training for 911 operators; the new rules make Michigan one of 31 states with 

minimum standards for 911 telecommunicators (additional information on the 911 training standards of 

other states can be found at http://psc.apcointl.org/2010/09/01/state-training-certification-survey/). 

 

The new rules require telecommunicators hired on or after Dec. 13, 2011, who are currently employed by 

a primary Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP), to complete Module I, consisting of a 40-hour basic 

telecommunicator training course approved by the State 911 Committee (SNC), within 18 months of the 

effective date of the rules.  Module I contains the following subjects: an overview of public safety, police, 

fire and emergency medical services; telecommunicator roles and responsibilities; legal aspects of 

dispatcher services; interpersonal communications; public safety technologies; telephone techniques; call 

classification; radio communications and stress management.   

 

Within 24 months of the date of hire, a telecommunicator who was hired on or after Dec. 13, 2011, shall 

also complete Module II, a 40-hour basic telecommunicator training course approved by the SNC.  

Module II contains eight hours of training in domestic violence, suicide intervention, 911 liability, stress 

management and a homeland security elective.   

 

Once the training requirements are completed, a telecommunicator is considered a designated 

telecommunicator.   

MORE 

http://psc.apcointl.org/2010/09/01/state-training-certification-survey/
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The new rules also require all telecommunicators, including individuals hired prior to Dec. 13, 2011, to 

receive ongoing training consisting of at least 24 hours every 24 months.  If a designated 

telecommunicator fails to complete the training required under the rules, the SNC will issue a 

noncompliance notification to the employing agency and corrective measures will need to be completed 

within 180 days. 

 

“In supporting the new standards, the membership of the State 911 Committee believed the lack of 

minimum training standards for 911 operators in Michigan was in contrast to the training standards of 

other public safety partners including police, fire service and EMS,” stated Ms. Harriet Miller-Brown, 911 

State Administrator.  “The public expects a higher level of service from all components of the public safety 

field, including 911 telecommunicators. As the gateway to all other public safety services, 911 

telecommunicators are often ‘the first first responder’.” 

 

Miller-Brown added, “The State 911 Committee also believes the establishment of minimum training 

standards will help provide uniformity of basic 911 training across all areas of the state.” 

 

The SNC is a legislatively established committee tasked by the Michigan Legislature to develop statewide 

standards, model policies and make recommendations on 911 service. More information about the SNC 

can be found at www.michigan.gov/snc.  
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