
P.O. Box 30634
Lansing, MI 48909 

517-284-3332 Michigan.gov/ohsp

This material was developed through a project funded by 
the Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning and the 

U.S. Department of Transportation.

MEDICAL AMNESTY
To better ensure that minors at medical risk as 
a result of alcohol intoxication receive prompt 
medical attention, the state adopted a medical 
amnesty law to remove perceived barriers to 
seeking help.  Minors who voluntarily present 
themselves, accompany other minors, or initiate 
contact with law enforcement may be eligible for 
exemption from the MIP law.

UNDER 21? IT’S ILLEGAL FOR ANYONE 
UNDER 21:
>>	 To have alcohol in their possession at any time, 

regardless of whether they’ve consumed any 
of it.

>>	 To possess or transport an unopened alcohol 
container in a motor vehicle, regardless if it is in 
the driver or passenger area. Both the driver and 
the passenger can be charged whether or not 
they consumed the alcohol. 

>>	 To use a fake I.D. to obtain alcohol.
>>	 To allow anyone to use their motor vehicle after 

they have been drinking. 
If you are under 21, you can get an MIP if you are 
just holding an alcoholic beverage. 

Your future could be impacted by MIP citations or 
OWI arrests. Many employers, colleges, and military 
recruiters take alcohol-related offenses into 
consideration when hiring or accepting applicants.
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If you have alcohol in your 
possession, you can get in 

trouble with the law. 



Under 21? If you get caught driving with any alcohol in your body
THE FIRST TIME 
>>	 30-day restricted driver’s license
>>	 $125 license reinstatement fee
>>	 Four points on your driving record
>>	 Fines up to $250
>>	 Community service
>>	 $500 Driver Responsibility payment for two 

years

THE SECOND TIME WITHIN SEVEN YEARS 
>>	 90-day suspension of your driver’s license
>>	 $125 license reinstatement fee
>>	 Fines up to $500
>>	 Community service
>>	 $500 Driver Responsibility payment for two 

years

>>	 Substantial insurance rate increase or 
cancellation

>>	 Up to 93 days in jail

If you are caught driving with a .08 or above 
blood alcohol content you may be charged 
with the adult crime of Operating While 
Intoxicated (OWI). These convictions remain 
on a driving record for a lifetime.

If you are caught driving with a .17 or above 
blood alcohol content, you may be charged 
with an adult crime that carries stiffer 
penalties.  This conviction remains on a driving 
record for a lifetime.

 

Under 21? If you get caught with alcohol in your possession—
Minor in Possession (MIP)
THE FIRST TIME 
>>	 Civil infraction
>>	 Fines up to $100
>>	 Substance abuse screening/assessment at your 

expense
>>	 If you are under 18, your parents will be notified
>>	 Community service
>>	 No deferral possible

THE SECOND TIME 
>>	 Misdemeanor
>>	 Fines up to $200
>>	 Substance abuse screening/assessment at your 

expense
>>	 If you are under 18, your parents will be notified
>>	 Community service
>>	 Deferral possible
>>	 License shall be suspended 90 days; restriction 

after 30 days
>>	 30 days in jail possible upon violation of your 

probation or failure to pay fines

THE THIRD TIME
>>	 Misdemeanor
>>	 Fines up to $500
>>	 Substance abuse screening/assessment at your 

expense
>>	 If you are under 18, your parents will be notified
>>	 Community service
>>	 Deferral possible
>>	 License shall be suspended 1 year; restriction 

after 90 days
>>	 60 days in jail possible upon violation of your 

probation or failure to pay fines

Your future could be impacted by MIP 
citations or OWI arrests. Many employers, 
colleges, and military recruiters take alcohol-
related offenses into consideration when 
hiring or accepting applicants.

 

DID YOU KNOW ADULTS CAN BE 
HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR 
DRINKING? 
Adults are legally responsible for anything 
that might happen to a minor who has been 
served alcohol in their home and may be 
subject to criminal prosecution and fines. If 
adults furnish alcohol to a minor, they may 
also be liable for monetary damages caused 
by that individual in a civil lawsuit.
>>	 It is illegal to purchase alcohol for or to 

provide it to anyone under 21.
>>	 It is illegal to allow minors to drink alcohol 

in your home.
>>	 It is illegal to provide a fake I.D. to anyone 

under 21.


