

STATE OF MICHIGAN GOVERNOR'S TRAFFIC SAFETY ADVISORY COMMISSION LANSING

MICHAEL L. PRINCE

GRETCHEN WHITMER GOVERNOR

March 9, 2020

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Kendall Wingrove 517-284-3147

Michigan State Police Post recognized for reducing traffic crashes on I-75 and US-10

The Michigan State Police (MSP) Tri-City Post, in Freeland, will be honored during the Governor's Traffic Safety Advisory Commission (GTSAC) annual awards celebration Wednesday at the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center in East Lansing for helping to reduce traffic crashes on I-75 and US-10 in the Tri-City Post area.

The commission honors organizations, programs and individuals for outstanding involvement in traffic safety. The awards ceremony is part of the 25th Annual Michigan Traffic Safety Summit. Three long-term awards, six Outstanding Traffic Safety Achievement awards and one student award are being presented.

The Tri-City Post's Traffic Crash Reduction Initiative set out to reduce the number of crashes in 2018 on two major highways in their area by 10 percent against their five-year-average.

On I-75 and US-10 in Bay, Saginaw, and Midland counties, there was an average of 1,233 traffic crashes from 2013-2017. Using dedicated patrols and high visibility enforcement tactics, the Tri-City Post saw that number drop to 1,042 in 2018, a reduction of 15 percent.

The initiative continues to be successful at helping prevent the loss of life, property damage, and traffic pattern interruption.

The GTSAC was formed in 2002 to serve as the state's forum for identifying key traffic safety challenges and developing and implementing plans to address those issues. The commission includes representatives from the Michigan Department of Transportation and MSP and departments of: Education, Health and Human Services and State, as well as the Office of the Governor, Aging and Adult Services Agency and Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning. There are also three representatives from local government appointed by the governor.

- 30 -

Michael L. Prince, Chair, Office of Highway Safety Planning • Steven Kiefer, Governor's Office • Carol Reagan, Department of State • • Gregg Brunner, Department of Transportation • Linda Scarpetta, Department of Health and Human Services• Kenneth Micklash, Department of Education• Inspector Scott Marier, Department of State Police • Rachel Telder, Aging and Adult Services Agency • Hank Kelley, Local Representative • Chief Ronald Wiles, Local Representative • Sheriff Michael Poulin, Local Representative