

STATE OF MICHIGAN GOVERNOR'S TRAFFIC SAFETY ADVISORY COMMISSION LANSING

MICHAEL L. PRINCE

GRETCHEN WHITMER GOVERNOR

March 9, 2020

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Kendall Wingrove 517-284-3147

Ontonagon High School honored for distracted driving campaign

Ontonagon High School will be honored during the Governor's Traffic Safety Advisory Commission (GTSAC) annual awards celebration Wednesday at the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center in East Lansing for the distracted driving campaign "Don't be Distracted," which is part of their *Strive for a Safer Drive (S4SD)* program.

The commission honors organizations, programs and individuals for outstanding involvement in traffic safety. The awards ceremony is part of the 25th Annual Michigan Traffic Safety Summit. Three long-term awards, six Outstanding Traffic Safety Achievement awards and one student award are being presented.

S4SD is a student-led safe driving initiative. Ontonagon High School began participating in S4SD during the 2016-17 school year, focusing on the dangers of distracted driving. The high school campaign focused on students of all ages and partnered with Ewen-Trout Creek School, also in Ontonagon County.

Students used state grant funds to create public service announcements to run on the school radio station. They also handed out T-shirts and wristbands with the "Don't Drive Distracted" slogan on them. Michigan State Police (MSP) Tpr. Jerome Mazurek, a former Ontonagon student, brought a distracted driving simulator to the school for an event. All of the campaign elements helped raise awareness of the dangers of distracted driving.

The GTSAC was formed in 2002 to serve as the state's forum for identifying key traffic safety challenges and developing and implementing plans to address those issues. The commission includes representatives from the Michigan Department of Transportation and MSP and departments of: Education, Health and Human Services and State, as well as the Office of the Governor, Aging and Adult Services Agency and Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning. There are also three representatives from local government appointed by the governor.

Michael L. Prince, Chair, Office of Highway Safety Planning • Steven Kiefer, Governor's Office • Carol Reagan, Department of State • • Gregg Brunner, Department of Transportation • Linda Scarpetta, Department of Health and Human Services• Kenneth Micklash, Department of Education• Inspector Scott Marier, Department of State Police • Rachel Telder, Aging and Adult Services Agency • Hank Kelley, Local Representative • Chief Ronald Wiles, Local Representative • Sheriff Michael Poulin, Local Representative