How many things distracted [E
you while driving last week?

yes on the Road
Hands on the Wheel

Mind on the Drive
\_

Visit these agencies and organizations to find more

information on distracted driving.

Texting or messaging

Michigan Office of Highway
Checking social media Safety Planning

Talking on the phone, Michigan.gov/DistractedDriving
even hands-free

Watching videos National Highway Traffic
Safety Administration

Eating, drinking, or smoking nhtsa.gov/risky-driving

Grooming distraction.gov

Looking after children or pets National Safety Council

Chatting with passengers nsc.org/road/safety-topics

Searching or reaching
for an item

Looking at crashes
or roadside sights

Checking a navigation system

Reading anything, MICHIGAN
including maps /
Adjusting climate \

or music controls Office of Highway Safety Planning

Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning

PO. Box 30634, Lansing, MI 48909 S f D Vi
O afe Driving
Michigan.gov/ohsp B o W.th Y
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Sending a quick text, taking a phone call,
or munching on a treat can seem simple
enough, but when those tasks—and
others like them—are done while you
are driving, they can become deadly
distractions. Distracted driving happens
when a driver does non-driving activities
while operating a motor vehicle.

Texting is the most alarming
distraction because it...
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takes your eyes off the road.
(visual distraction)

AND

-/ takes your hands
‘ -& off the wheel.
- (manual distraction)

——— AND

takes your mind
off the drive.
(cognitive distraction)
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Distracted driving
accounts for about

259% of all crash
fatalities.
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Put the phone down and just drive.

Michigan’s Texting While Driving Law

« Prohibits drivers from reading,
manually typing, or sending a text
message while driving.

« Defines driving as: operating a motor
vehicle on a street or highway.

« Is a primary enforcement law,
meaning officers can make traffic
stops if they observe texting drivers.

« Includes exceptions for reporting
crashes, crimes, or other emergencies.

$100 ticket forthe £: ="

first offense

$200 ticket for each
subsequent offense

HOW NOT TO BE DISTRACTED.

Use your phone’s Do Not Disturb feature
or an app to silence calls and texts.

Put your phone in the glove box or elsewhere

to curb the urge to look at it.

Avoid eating, drinking, and smoking while driving.

Never attempt to read while driving, including a map.

Do not do any personal grooming or
adjust your clothing while driving.

Avoid a lot of interaction with passengers.

Emotions can interfere with driving. Do not
drive when you are angry or upset.

Keep music at a reasonable level, and
avoid using headphones or earbuds.

Pull over to a safe location and park your
vehicle if you need to make or take a call.

Do not drive with a pet on your lap.

Ask a passenger to help navigate, change
the music, or monitor your texts.

Pull over to a safe place to address

situations involving children.

Do not daydream when you are behind the wheel.



