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CY?
GET YOUR MOTORC YCLE ENDORSEMENT  

AND RIDE SAFELY
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P.O. Box 30634

Lansing, MI 48909
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Motorcycle riders are encouraged to take a certi-
fied motorcycle safety training course. Motor-
cyclists under 18 years of age with a Michigan 
driver’s license are required to take a motorcycle 
safety course as well as anyone who fails the rider 
skills test twice.

A valid driver’s license with a motorcycle 
endorsement (CY) is required to legally ride a 
motorcycle on Michigan roadways. There are two 
methods for obtaining an endorsement.

METHOD 1

1.	 Successfully complete an approved motorcycle 
safety course. Visit Michigan.gov/motorcycling 
to locate a training site.

2.	 Present a motorcycle safety course 
completion certificate at a Secretary of State 
office to apply for the CY endorsement, and 
pass a vision test.

METHOD 2

1.	 Pass vision and written knowledge tests 
at a Secretary of State office to receive a 
Temporary Instruction Permit that allows 
practice riding while under the supervision of 
an endorsed rider.

2.	 Pass a skills test through a third-party 
testing organization.

3.	 Present a skills test certificate at a 
Secretary of State office to apply for the CY 
endorsement.



SKILLS TESTING

Once riders are issued a Temporary Instruction Permit 
and are comfortable with their skills, they can contact 
a third-party testing organization to schedule a skills 
test. The test must be completed on a safe, properly 
registered, equipped, and maintained motorcycle.

Upon passing the test, a completion certificate 
will be issued, allowing the rider to apply for their 
endorsement. 

Visit Michigan.gov/motorcycletest for more 
information.

SAFETY COURSES

BASIC RIDERCOURSE (BRC), BASIC RIDERCOURSE 2 (BRC2), 
AND RETURNING RIDER BASIC RIDERCOURSE (RRBRC)

PENALTIES FOR THE UNENDORSED THE SKILLS

Operating a motorcycle safely requires a combination 
of skill, experience, judgment, and risk management. 
The BRC, BRC2, and RRBRC teach the basics of 
motorcycle riding, including:

•	 How to start and stop a motorcycle and operate 
motorcycle controls.

•	 What to wear to be safe on the road.

•	 Strategies to avoid trouble and stay safe.

•	 How to increase visibility and optimize lane position.

•	 Swerving and maximum braking technique.

•	 Negotiating curves and avoiding obstacles.

Beginning February 7, 2017, a person riding without an 
endorsement is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by:

•	 Up to 90 days in jail or a $500 fine, or both, for a first 
offense.

•	 Up to one year in jail or a $1,000 fine, or both, for a 
second offense.

There are basic but important skills that can help 
make riding a safer experience.

Negotiating Curves: Riders should slow down before 
a curve, look where they want to go, and press the 
handlebar in the same direction as the curve (this is 
called countersteering). 

Proper Braking: About seventy percent of a motor-
cycle’s stopping power is in the front brake. Squeez-
ing the front brake and pressing down on the rear 
brake simultaneously will allow a rider to make 
smooth, controlled stops.

Awareness and Judgement: Always be aware of 
your surroundings to minimize risk. 

Search: Constantly scan for hazards.

Evaluate: Plan ahead on how to respond to potential 
hazards.

Execute: Make smooth adjustments to avoid hazards 
and reduce risk.

PROTECTIVE GEAR

Successful completion of a Basic RiderCourse, Basic 
RiderCourse 2, or Returning Rider Basic RiderCourse 
allows a rider to waive the skills and knowledge test 
requirement. Courses are offered throughout the state 
for novice and experienced riders. 

Some insurers offer discounts on motorcycle 
insurance premiums for riders who complete  
these courses.

Visit Michigan.gov/motorcycling to locate a training 
site.

The Motorcycle Safety Foundation recommends 
riders dress for safety by wearing:

•	 A DOT compliant helmet and eye protection. A full-
face helmet gives the most protection.

•	 Brightly colored, highly visible clothing and a light-
colored helmet.

•	 Leather or other durable, protective clothing.

•	 Long sleeves, pants, over-the-ankle 
boots, and gloves.

Helmets are 37 percent effec-
tive in preventing fatal injuries 
to riders and 41 percent for 
passengers (National Highway 
Traffic Safety Administration).


