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General 
 
Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over is Michigan’s ongoing enforcement and education campaign to 
encourage safe and sober driving. Statewide enforcement periods typically occur during holidays when 
travel and traffic fatalities increase.    
 

 
Impaired Driving Enforcement Quick Facts 
 
Length of enforcement period:  Dec. 18, 2019 – Jan. 1, 2020.  
 
Number of grant-funded law enforcement agencies participating in the effort: 109 
 
Number of counties where enforcement will take place:  24 
 
Number of enforcement hours: approximately 6,976 
  
Number of traffic fatalities during the holiday period:   

o Michigan averages 13 traffic fatalities per year for the three-day Christmas and New Year’s 
holiday period. In 2018, there were 13 traffic fatalities over the Christmas holiday with nine 
crashes involving alcohol, and nine traffic fatalities over the New Year’s holiday with one crash 
involving alcohol. 

 
Federal funding: The OHSP dedicated approximately $455,000 in stepped up enforcement and $50,000 
for paid advertising across the state for this campaign.    
 

 

Enforcement 
 

 Law enforcement agencies across the state will make drunk and drugged driving enforcement a 
priority during the Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over campaign. 
 

 Officers from 109 police departments, sheriff’s offices, and Michigan State Police posts will put extra 
officers on the road to locate and arrest drunk and drugged drivers. 

 
 The extra overtime enforcement is paid for with federal funds administered by the OHSP.  

 
 The mobilization is about saving lives, not writing tickets, which is why it is widely publicized.  

 
 To increase awareness and encourage safe and sober driving, advertising has been placed on social 

media sites including Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube. A new :30 second video will also 
air on social media in December titled “Toe Tags,” with an emphasis on drugged driving as impaired 
driving.  

 

Drunk and Drugged Driving Statistics 
 
Nationally 
 

 According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 839 people lost their lives 

in traffic crashes involving a drunk driver during December 2018.  

 During the Christmas and New Year’s Day holiday in 2018 alone, there were more drunk-driving 

related fatalities (285) than during the other holiday periods that year. (NHTSA) 
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 Although it’s illegal to drive with a BAC of .08 or higher, in 2018, one person was killed every 50 

minutes by a drunk driver on our nation’s roads. (NHTSA) 

 Men are more likely than women to be driving drunk in fatal crashes. In 2018, 21 percent of males 

were drunk in these crashes, compared to 14 percent of females. (NHTSA) 

 Of the traffic fatalities in 2018 involving children 14 and younger, 22 percent occurred in alcohol-

impaired-driving crashes. (NHTSA) 

 It is illegal to drive impaired in all 50 states and the District of Columbia – no exceptions. (NHTSA) 

 Driving while high will also affect your ability to drive properly. It has been proven that 

Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) — the chemical responsible for most of marijuana’s psychoactive effects 

— slows reaction times, impairs cognitive performance, and makes it more difficult for drivers to keep 

a steady position in their lane. This is a deadly combination. (NHTSA) 

 In addition, something as simple as cold medication or an over-the-counter sleep aid could impair a 

person’s ability to drive. If it does, a person can be arrested for a DUI. A person should not drive until 

they know what effect the medication will have on their judgement, coordination, and reaction time. 

(NHTSA) 

Michigan  

 In 2018, there were 9,786 alcohol-involved crashes with 315 alcohol-involved fatalities statewide. 

Michigan State Police Criminal Justice Information Center (CJIC) 

 The percentage of alcohol-related fatalities was approximately 11 times higher than fatalities in all 

crashes and the serious injury level was about six times higher. (CJIC) 

 In 2018, there were 2,636 drug-involved crashes and 247 drug-involved fatalities statewide. (CJIC) 

 The number of fatal crashes involving drivers testing positive for cannabinoid drugs has nearly 

doubled since 2013. Michigan Traffic Crash Facts (MTCF) 

 

Impaired Driving 
 

 Michigan law considers persons with a BAC of .08 or greater to be driving drunk, although motorists 

can be arrested at any BAC level if an officer believes they are impaired. 

 According to the NHTSA, laboratory and on-road research shows most drivers are significantly 

impaired at a BAC of .08 with regards to critical driving tasks such as braking, steering, lane 

changing, judgment, and divided attention. 

 Michigan drivers cannot operate, navigate or be in physical control of a motor vehicle under the 

influence of marijuana. Drivers and/or their passengers are also prohibited from smoking marijuana 

within the passenger area of a vehicle on a public roadway.    

 Michigan’s drunk driving law contains a zero-tolerance provision for drivers with certain illegal drugs 

in their system. Prosecutors do not have to prove the driver was impaired, just that they were driving 

with those drugs in their system. The same penalties for drunk driving will apply to those convicted 

under the zero-tolerance drug provisions. 

 

Financial Impacts 
 

 If a person is caught driving impaired, they can face jail time.  

 On average, a DUI can set you back $10,000 in attorney’s fees, fines, court costs, lost time at 

work, higher insurance rates, car towing and repairs, etc.  

 The financial impact from an impaired-driving crash is devastating. Based on 2010 figures (the 

most recent year for which cost data is available), impaired driving crashes cost the United States 

$44 billion annually.  


