## FACT SHEET Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over Campaign December 2020

#### General

*Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over* is Michigan's ongoing enforcement and education campaign to encourage safe and sober driving. Statewide campaigns typically occur during holidays when travel and traffic fatalities increase.

### **Impaired Driving Mobilization Quick Facts**

Length of campaign: December 11, 2020 to January 1, 2021

Number of grant-funded law enforcement agencies participating in the effort: 110

Number of counties where enforcement will take place: 35

Number of enforcement hours: approximately 3,700

#### Number of traffic fatalities during the holiday period:

 In 2019, there were four traffic fatalities in Michigan during the Christmas holiday period from December 24 at 6 p.m. to December 25 at midnight. There were four fatalities during the New Year's holiday from December 31 at 6 p.m. to January 1 at midnight.

**Federal funding:** The OHSP dedicated more than \$240,000 in stepped-up enforcement. During the December 2020 campaign, there will be a total of \$50,000 in paid advertising across the state.

#### **Enforcement**

- Law enforcement agencies across the state will focus on drunk and drugged driving during the campaign.
- Officers from 110 police departments, sheriff's offices, and Michigan State Police (MSP) posts will put extra officers on the road during the *Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over* effort to locate and arrest drunk and drugged drivers.
- The extra overtime enforcement is paid with federal funds administered by the OHSP.
- The mobilization is not about writing tickets it's about saving lives by convincing drivers to voluntarily comply with the law.
- To increase awareness and encourage safe and sober driving, there will be a paid media campaign.

#### **Drunk and Drugged Driving Statistics**

### **Nationally**

- According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 10,511 people lost their lives in alcohol-impaired driving crashes during 2018.
- Although it's illegal to drive with a BAC of .08 or higher, in 2018, one person was killed every 50 minutes by a drunk driver on our nation's roads. (NHTSA)
- Laboratory and on-road research shows most drivers are significantly impaired at a BAC of .08 with regards to critical driving tasks such as braking, steering, lane changing, judgment, and divided attention. (NHTSA)

# FACT SHEET Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over Campaign December 2020

- Men are more likely than women to be driving drunk in fatal crashes. In 2018, 21 percent of males were drunk in these crashes, compared to 14 percent of females. (NHTSA)
- Of the traffic fatalities in 2018 involving children 14 and younger, 22 percent occurred in alcoholimpaired-driving crashes. (NHTSA)
- It is illegal to drive impaired in all 50 states and the District of Columbia no exceptions. (NHTSA)
- Driving while high will also affect your ability to drive properly. It has been proven that
   Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) the chemical responsible for most of marijuana's psychoactive effects
   slows reaction times, impairs cognitive performance, and makes it more difficult for drivers to keep a steady position in their lane. This is a deadly combination. (NHTSA)
- In addition, something as simple as cold medication or an over-the-counter sleep aid could impair a person's ability to drive. If it does, a person can be arrested for a DUI. A person should not drive until they know what effect the medication will have on their judgment, coordination, and reaction time. (NHTSA)
- Several scientific studies indicate that marijuana impairs motor skills, lane tracking, and cognitive functions. (NHTSA)
- A 2015 study on driving after smoking cannabis stated that THC in marijuana also hurts a driver's ability to multitask, a critical skill needed behind the wheel. (NHTSA)

#### Michigan

- In 2019, there were 9,787 alcohol-involved crashes with 295 alcohol-involved fatalities statewide. (MSP Criminal Justice Information Center)
- Michigan law considers persons with a BAC of .08 or greater to be driving drunk, although motorists can be arrested at any BAC level if an officer believes they are impaired.
- Michigan drivers cannot operate, navigate or be in physical control of a motor vehicle under the influence of marijuana. Drivers and/or their passengers are also prohibited from smoking marijuana within the passenger area of a vehicle on a public roadway.
- Michigan's drunk driving law contains a zero-tolerance provision for drivers with certain illegal drugs in their system. Prosecutors do not have to prove the driver was impaired, just that they were driving with those drugs in their system. The same penalties for drunk driving will apply to those convicted under the zero-tolerance drug provisions.

#### **Financial Impacts**

- If a person is caught driving impaired, they can face jail time.
- S On average, a DUI may cost you \$10,000 in attorney's fees, fines, court costs, lost time at work, higher insurance rates, car towing and repairs, etc.
- \$ The financial impact from an impaired-driving crash is devastating. Based on 2010 figures (the most recent year for which cost data is available), impaired driving crashes cost the United States \$44 billion annually.