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This voluntary enforcement campaign is running during national School Bus Safety Week. 
School buses are the safest way for children to get to school. Their design is meant to be safer 
than any passenger vehicle in avoiding crashes and preventing injuries. Even with some schools 
utilizing remote and hybrid learning, many school buses are still on the road. 

According to the Michigan State Police Criminal Justice Information Center 

• In Michigan in 2019, there were 1,197 school bus-related crashes, the most in the last 

10 years. 

• Of the 1,197 school bus-related crashes in Michigan in 2019, 114 of them happened 

while the bus was stopped with flashing lights. 

• There were 42 people injured in those 114 crashes. 

• In Michigan in 2019, October was the month with the most school bus-related crashes 

(162).  

 

According to the National Association of State Directors of Pupil Transportation Services 

• A one-day survey conducted by 1,373 Michigan bus drivers in May 2019 found 508 

times a motorist passed a school bus illegally. (No survey was conducted in 2020.) 

• Over the last three years, this one-day survey has averaged 622 instances of motorists 

illegally passing a school bus. 

In Michigan 

• Drivers who pass stopped school buses may be charged with civil infractions carrying a 

fine up to $500, and up to $100 in costs.  

• Drivers who pass a stopped school bus and cause a death are subject to a felony with 

either a fine up to $7,500 or up to 15 years in jail.  

• Drivers who pass a stopped school bus and cause an injury face a misdemeanor charge 

and either a fine up to $1,000 or up to one year in jail. 

• Effective October 11, 2021, a school that uses a stop-arm camera system shall provide a 

video or photograph for use as evidence in a proceeding for a violation of illegal passing 

of a school bus, if requested by an investigating law enforcement agency. A photograph 

or video recorded by a stop-arm camera system is admissible as evidence in a 

proceeding for a violation to the extent permitted by the rules of evidence of this state. 

However, a photograph or video recorded by a stop-arm camera system is not required 

for the prosecution of a violation. 

Safety Tips for Driving 

• Prepare to stop when a slowing school bus has its overhead yellow lights flashing. 
• Stop at least 20 feet away from buses when red lights are flashing, unless driving in the 

opposite direction on a divided highway. 



 

 

• Slow down in or near school and residential areas. 
• Look for clues-such as safety patrols, crossing guards, bicycles, and playgrounds-that 

indicate children might be in the area. 
• Watch for children between parked cars and other objects. 

 

 

 


