Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Freedom of Information Act Requests

Question: How do | obtain a copy of a traffic crash report (UD-010)?

Answer: You can obtain a copy of a traffic crash report (UD-010) instantly by utilizing the Traffic Crash Purchasing
System (TCPS). To order online, you must have the following information: driver’s license number of one of the drivers
involved in the crash, date of birth of a driver involved in the crash, and date of the crash OR the crash number, date of
birth of a driver involved in the crash, and date of the crash. If you choose not to use the TCPS, you can submit your
request via the Public Records Request Portal. If you choose not to use the online portal, you may alternatively submit
your request by email, fax, or mail.

Question: How do | obtain a copy of a Michigan criminal history?

Answer: You can obtain a copy of a Michigan criminal history instantly by utilizing the Internet Criminal History Access
Tool (ICHAT). To order online, you must have the following information: the subjects first and last name, gender, and
date of birth. If you choose not to use ICHAT, you can submit your request via the Public Records Request Portal. If
you choose not to use the online portal, you may alternatively submit your request by email, fax, or mail.

Question: How do | obtain copies of other Michigan State Police records?

Answer: To obtain a copy of other Michigan State Police records, including an incident report, you must submit a
written request; this can be done via the Public Records Request Portal. If you choose not to use the Records Request
Portal, you may alternatively submit your request by email, fax, or mail. Requests must meet the requirements of a
request as defined in the FOIA. Please do not send more than one copy of your request, regardless of request method
(e.g. do not email and fax the same request).

Question: Is a form required to submit a request?

Answer: No, a form is not required; however, you may use the DIR-101 Request for Public Records form to assist in
drafting your request.

Question: Is there a fee for obtaining records? If so, what is the fee?

Answer: The fee varies based on the type of record and the labor costs for retrieval and review of the documents. As
the fees vary, the Records Resource Section is not able to give an estimate of the fee until the request has been
received. Once the request is received, the MSP will notify you if your request will require a payment or good faith
deposit.

Question: I've been notified that a payment is required, how do | make payment?

Answer: If your request was submitted via the Records Request Portal, you can make payment directly in the portal. If
your request was submitted by email, fax, or mail, you can make payment online, in the online payment center. There
is a $2.00 processing fee for all online payments. Payments made online may take up to 2 business days to process.
Alternatively, you can make payment by check or money order, made payable to the State of Michigan. Payments can
be mailed to Michigan State Police, Cashier's Unit, P.O. Box 30266, Lansing, Michigan 48909. Payments made by
check or money order may take up to 5 business days to process. To ensure proper credit, please include your request
number (CR), which is found in the subject line of the letter, with your payment or include a copy of the letter.

Question: What if | am indigent and cannot afford to pay?

Answer: For requestors that meet the indigency criteria, you may submit an DIR-103 Affidavit of Indigency along with
your request. If you qualify, the first $20 of the fee will be waived. The indigent waiver is subject to the terms in the
FOIA.

Question: How long does it take to receive a response?

Answer: Once a request has been received, a response will be issued within 5 business days. The response may be a
notice of extension allowing the MSP additional time to gather and review the responsive records. Responses to
requests submitted via the Records Request Portal will be accessible for download in the portal. Responses to requests
received by email, fax, or mail will be produced via the United States Postal Service. Most MSP documents cannot be
emailed or faxed due to security policies and privacy concerns. If advance notice is provided to the Records Resource
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Section, documents may be picked up at the MSP Headquarters in Dimondale. If there is a fee for obtaining the
documents, payment must be received prior to the MSP producing the documents.

Question: Do you offer same-day service?

Answer: Due to the volume of Freedom of Information Act requests received and the need to obtain documents from off-
site locations, the Records Resource Section does not have the ability to process same-day requests.

Question: | received a notice of extension, what does this mean?

Answer: A notice of extension is sent to the requestor when additional time is needed to process the request. The
notice of extension will include the due date, by which the MSP must issue a response to the request.

Question: How can | contact the Records Resource Section?

Answer: The Records Resource Section can be contacted at MSPRecords@michigan.gov. Alternatively, you may call
517-241-1934.

Question: What is the address of the Records Resource Section?

Answer: Standard mail can be sent to Michigan State Police, Records Resource Section, P.O. Box 30634, Lansing,
Michigan 48909. Overnight mail can be sent to Michigan State Police, Records Resource Section, 7150 Harris Drive,
Dimondale, Michigan 48821.

Question: Where is the Records Resource Section?

Answer: The Records Resource Section is housed in the Michigan State Police Headquarters building. Our physical
address is 7150 Harris Drive, Dimondale, Michigan 48821. Requests may be submitted at the security desk in the lobby
or at any Michigan State Police Post. Please be advised, the MSP does not offer same day service and records cannot
be released by worksites other than the Records Resource Section.
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