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May 29, 2020 
 
 

Dear Service Supplier: 
 

This letter will serve as notice, as required under Michigan Law, MCL 484.1714 (1) (g), of the 911 
surcharges in Michigan that will go into effect on July 1, 2020. 

 
In summary, the 911 surcharges apply as follows: 

 
1. State 911 Surcharge (statewide): 

a) A monthly, statewide state 911 surcharge of 25 cents will be billed and collected 
from all service users (MCL 484.1401a [1]-[7] and MCL 484.1408 [1]-[3]). 

b) If a service user has multiple access points or access lines, the first 10 access points 
or lines are charged the 25 cent rate and each additional line is charged 1/10 of the 25 
cent rate. 

c) The 911 surcharge is to be listed separately on each bill and be listed as the “State 911 
Surcharge.” 

d) Service suppliers may retain 2% of the state 911surcharge for billing and collection 
costs (MCL 484.1408 [2]). 

e) The state 911 surcharges collected are to be remitted quarterly (along with Treasury 
Form 5013) to the Michigan Department of Treasury. If you have questions 
regarding remittance of state 911 surcharges, please contact the Michigan 
Department of Treasury at 517-636-0515. 

f) Treasury Form 5013 is located at: 
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/treasury/5013ChargeForm_408303
_7.pdf 

 
2. County 911 Surcharge (local): 

a) A monthly, local (county-based) county 911 surcharge will be billed and collected 
monthly from all service users located within that county (MCL 484-1401b [1]-[15]).  
This 911 surcharge is determined at the county level. 

b) The county 911 surcharge is to be listed separately on each bill and shall state by 
which means (resolution or approval of the voters) the surcharge was approved by 
the county board of commissioners. 

c) If the surcharge was approved by the voters, the service provider’s 
bill shall state (MCL 484.1401b (4): 
 

“This amount is for your 911 service, which has been approved by 
the voters on (DATE OF VOTER APPROVAL). This is not a charge 
assessed by your service supplier. If you have questions concerning 
your 911 service, you may call (INCLUDE APPROPRIATE 
TELEPHONE NUMBER).” 

 
Counties with surcharges approved by the voters are indicated in the link in the 
paragraph below item 2e. 

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/treasury/5013ChargeForm_408303_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/treasury/5013ChargeForm_408303_7.pdf
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d) Service suppliers may retain 2% of the approved county 911 surcharge for billing 
and collection costs (MCL 484.1401b [10]). 

e) The county 911 surcharges are to be remitted on a quarterly basis to each 
individual county collecting a local county 911 surcharge. 
 
The list of each county 911 surcharge can be found at the State 911 Committee’s 
website. The list is located at: 
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/msp/911_Surcharge_Rates_Effective_July_1_2020
_692073_7.xlsx 
 
The list also includes the remittance address, the contact person for remittance, and the 
contact person for geographical questions for each county. If you have questions as to 
the date of an individual county’s ballot proposal, please contact the county directly. 

 
The county 911 surcharges (#2 above) are due to the counties within 30 days of the 
close of each quarter and are to be remitted directly to the respective counties. Each 
county listed has indicated whether or not it is interested in receiving their funds via 
electronic transmittal. It is the responsibility of each service supplier who wishes to 
make its transmittal electronically to initiate contact with the county’s contact person. 

 
3. Retailer’s Prepaid Wireless 911 Surcharge (statewide): 

a) A statewide retailer’s prepaid wireless 911 surcharge for prepaid wireless services of 5% 
is collected at the point of retail sale under the provisions of MCL 484.1401c. 

b) The 911 surcharge must be either separately stated on an invoice, receipt, or other 
similar document that is provided to a consumer by the seller or otherwise disclosed 
to the consumer. 

c) A seller may retain 2% of the retailer’s prepaid wireless 911 surcharges that are collected 
by the seller for collecting and remitting the surcharges (MCL 484.1401c). 

d) The retailer’s prepaid wireless 911 surcharges collected are to be remitted monthly 
(along with Treasury Form 5012) to the Michigan Department of Treasury. If 
you have questions regarding remittance of retailer’s prepaid wireless 911 
surcharges, please contact the Michigan Department of Treasury at 517-636-
0515. 

e) Treasury Form 5012 is located at: 
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/treasury/5012SurchargeForm_408302_7.
pdf. 

 
Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at harveyj6@michigan.gov or        
517-284-3025. 

 
Sincerely, 

         
 
 
Joni Harvey  
State 911 Administrator 

 
cc: Ms. Evah Cole, Michigan Department of Treasury 

  Ms. Angela Littlejohn, Michigan Department of Treasury  
  Ms. Robin Ancona, Michigan Public Service Commission 
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